We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,553)
Filter reviews
5,553 results
Traveler rating
3,013
2,111
362
49
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,013
2,111
362
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menutour deskcable carunion squarerubber duckgreat locationfree cookiesceiling fanbath saltsrooms are smallwalk in closetpowell stthere is no air conditioningour honeymoonmuni passcharming hotelan older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 5,553 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

This was our second stay in San Francisco at the Chancellor. It's a small and very comfortable boutique hotel. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The on site restaurant was very good for breakfast and lunch.

And the location on Union Square can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miked85248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

Chancellor Hotel is in the centre of San Francisco at Union Square. All the great shopping in a minute walk. The hotel is old and sharming but maybe in need of some renovation. The breakfast was great but would have liked a better hotel bar.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

The Chancellor Hotel is charming, clean, and friendly. The 3 things I look for in a hotel. The desk staff is great, the bell hops always greet you with a smile and don't mind offering advice or info about the city, Rooms are very clean. We had a suite on the 14th floor. Very cozy. No A/C which wasn't a prob--we went in October. Restaurant has great breakfasts--may I suggest the spinach, feta, and pine nuts omelet, Yummy.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank bobcaygeon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

have stayed here every trip to san francisco, many many years, great staff, walk to everything, very european, most guests are regulars, then lots of folks from europe.small reasonably priced and again walk to all shops, chanel, gucci, neiman marcus, luis vuitton can't beat it...we used to stay at nearby pinski hotel then found this spot, scalls is across the street doesn't get better than this...fun tiny bar in the entry

Room Tip: facing the street does have sounds and lights flickering but we loved that
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaya588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for exploring San Francisco. Beside shopping areas, eateries etc. Room was small but very comfortable. No air conditioning but we stayed in oct so not necessary. Room fan was fine. Staff were lovely. We are a husband and wife. Enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again...which I think says it all. Not large common areas but we weren’t there to hang around hotel...we spent our time exploring the city. Hotel reminds me of older city hotels in nyc. Has character.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ms Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews