We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #13 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

From the minute we checked in to the minute we left we had fantastic service at the Chancellor Hotel. We booked the hotel mainly based on the reviews on trip advisor and they didn't disappoint. When we were there, the weather was quite warm for San Francisco (so I've been told) but with the fan on and the window open no need for Air Con so that is not an issue at all, dispite what other reviewers have said.

We were on our honeymoon when we visited the Chancellor and were greeted not only by the receptionist congratulating us but also some very kind gifts, you definately wouldn't get that in most hotels. As my husband is a big American sports fan we took advantage of the NFL package the hotel was offering the 49ers game on the first Sunday at the hotel, the seats were amazing and definately made up for the sunburn I got at the game!

Overall the hotel and our stay was great and couldn't have been better. If you like to be treated with respect and like a valued customer, even if its your first stay, then pick this hotel. But if you want to be treated like just any other person then stay in one of the 'corporate' hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeRobRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,736
    1,891
    326
    47
    18
See reviews for
571
2,624
332
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

I had not been to San Francisco in 10 years and the last time there, I stayed at a hotel on a hill that I found not to be convenient for a tourist who likes to walk and take public transportation (cable cars and trolleys).
This time when I visited SF, I stayed at the Chancellor, and besides liking the hotel and the staff, I found it extremely convenient to use mass transport to get to many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilsro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed in the Chancellor Hotel for 4 nights in mid September. I had read the reviews on this site so was well prepared for the pros and cons. The hotel is very well located, right in the heart of the city making getting round very easy. The staff are very pleasant, though I had no need to call to the desk other than check in/out. The hotel is not a large chain nor does it have a modern look and feel - but that's the charm. Great having free wifi in the rooms, which made it easy keeping in touch with things back home.

So a few small drawbacks.
- Yes the rooms are on the small side, but nothing that should be worried about if you are staying on vacation.
- There is no AC, which is a problem. Although I knew in advance and being from Ireland didn't think it to be a big problem. No matter how hot or cold it was outside the hot, the room was felt hotter.
- The pillows on the bed were not comfortable. They were always clean and pleasantly arranged, but didn't work for me - too many and too soft.
- Lastly the bathroom. It is very hard to have a wet shave without making a watery mess. The wash-hand basin is quite small and the position of the taps make it hard to wet your face.

Overall the stay was pleasant and I would recommend the hotel, maybe when weather is a little cool34 the AC wouldn't be as big an issue.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Another review where the comments don't match the score. We are labeled as a great hotel in the title, but get an average score. What am I missing?

They say to manage your expectations, which is correct no matter where you stay. If you are paying top dollar at the Four Seasons, you have certain expectations -- If you are staying at the 3 star, 95 year old Chancellor Hotel, you should have a different set of expectations. It is up to the traveler to apply the correct expectations to the correct situation in much of our travels.

We do have a pillow menu for people to accommodate people's different tastes in pillows, so I don't know why they didn't take advantage of that.

Sorry the sink basin is not well suited for a wet shave. That comment was a first, but that is how our sinks are, so others that need a wet shave should think twice before choosing us for their accommodations.

One thing I notice in many of our reviews is that people say that no a/c was a problem, but some say it was. We do get some warm days and backside rooms will get the afternoon sun. If you think you may be bothered by the lack of a/c on a warm day, please take a pass on the Chancellor. You will not be happy and other than offering an additional personal fan to put in the room, there is nothing we can do. We will always do what we can to help a guest have the best stay possible, but we can not create a/c for someone that is uncomfortable. We should not penalized for someone gambling on their comfort, when we have no control, and it doesn't work out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Arrived in San Fransico very tired after a long flight arrived at the Chancellor Hotel and the staff just took over taking our luggage out of the car to the room checking us in very quickly and welcoming us to the US it was a great check-in. The hotel has a lovely feel about it very friendly our room was perfect and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect you can just jump on a trolley outside the door and go where ever you want to go. Didn't bother getting the car out of the valet parking until we left for LA. Great hotel could thoroughly recomment it. Well done Chancellor

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TynesideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Booked this hotel on a personal recommendation. It is just OK for the price, better than most its size, but not all it could be. Location is perfect for everything! The rooms are petite, as many old hotels in SF are, but my wife and I were not stumbling over each other. We were on the back of the hotel which was quiet (although old walls are very thin), but has no view of anything unless you like vents and roof tops. It was nice to have two chairs, plus a desk in the room, however there is no refridgerator and no in room coffee maker. To be fair there would be no place to put them anyways. Queen bed was too hard for my taste and actually got sore sleeping on it, but they do have a pillow menu! Bathroom is very small and very dated, but also very clean. The whole place is actually very clean. The person who recommended the Chancellor to us gushed over the staff, however, I did not experience anything uncommon. In fact, the lady at the tour desk was unhelpful, bordering on rude (although I don't think she actually works for the hotel), and the desk staff was efficient, but amateurish and dull. It felt like I was checking into a motel, not a historic, Union Square SF, boutique hotel. I would stay here again, but if I could get a similar rate at the Westin or Drake, I might move down a block or two.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Even if a friend recommends a hotel, please do a little research on TripAdvisor as well. As in this case, you and your friends may have different attitudes and opinions on hotel types and experiences.

However, when we are described as better than most its size and they mention that the location is perfect for everything, an average score doesn't make sense.

Rooms on the back of the hotel are quiet, but the walls are not thin. They are solid brick. The exception is rooms with connecting doors. The rooms high up do have views of the City looking West. If you stay on a lower floor on the backside, you will be closer to adjoining roofs. Their comments are misleading. If you stay high on the backside, you are far away from the adjoining roof tops.

A little research would have told these folks that there is no refrigerator and no in room coffee maker, but we have free refrigerators available on request and coffee in the lobby 24/7.

They also commented about the bed. We usually get the highest compliments about how comfortable our beds are. However, again, one doesn't need to read to many of our postings to discover that we will do whatever we can to accommodate people's needs. We have foam padding to put on beds to make them softer and we have bedboards to make them more firm. People have different taste, all people have to do is ask.

I love the last line of their posting. They write that if they could get a similar rate at the Westin or Drake, they might move down a block or two. Do they realize that they were staying at a 3 star hotel? If I could get a 3 star hotel rate at a 4 star hotel like the Drake or Westin, I would move down the block as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at the Chancellor during the week of September 20th. The location is great, steps from Union Square and surrounded by public transportation options. The room was cozy and the large flat screen tv was a nice touch. The rooms here are not air conditioned but even during a few unseasonably hot days the ceiling fan and an open window created a very comfortable environment. The front desk personnel were very friendly and responsive to our inquiries. The restaurant was great for breakfast and a good value. The restaurant staff was friendly and professional in their service. The concierge/concession operator was knowledgable and arranged for a city tour (Grey Line) which picked us up in the lobby. The hotels location is within walking distance to China Town and many nice restaurants. The hotel was all in all a great value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joehel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We had a wonderful and clean room, it was not huge but enough room for 2 people and 3 suitcases and still room to sit. Very friendly staff and service and excellent location right in the middle of downtown. would come back anytime. got free parking right around the corner with online reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cochran16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing