We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chancellor Hotel- A Home Away From Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Chancellor from March 15 to the 19th. I had initially booked the hotel based on the rave reviews that I read on Trip Advisor. The hotel (and restaurant!) lived up to the positive reviews in so many ways. From the moment I registered, I felt like I was staying somewhere special. My room was adorable, fresh, clean and had a fabulous view of Union Square. The location was just fantastic and the sound of the cable cars going by was such a treat. More than anything though, the people at the Chancellor made the experience so delightful. The bellhop who brought up my bags was an affable guy named Matt who made me laugh. I had stayed at a much more impersonal hotel the night before so I really needed to giggle! :) For two mornings, I ate in the hotel restaurant and was served by an extremely kind gentleman. I wish I could remember his name! He was off on the Wednesday and Thursday mornings and I really missed his big smile and friendliness. The food was scrumptious!!! The banana pancakes withe the praline syrup was the best meal I had during my entire trip! Lawrence the bellhop was a sweetheart as well. I told him that I would post a review on Trip Advisor and mention how cute he was. :) There was also a very kind electrician working at the hotel and we had a lovely conversation about the Ferry Building. I was travelling alone and it meant so much to be surrounded by so many wonderful people. The bottle of wine, 2 glasses and the picture frame were such lovely gifts. Thank you! I travel often and have stayed at many hotels. My time at the Chancellor was so delightful and has set a new bar for other hotels to try to beat. Believe me, I do not see that happening any time soon. My time in San Francisco was phenomenal and my stay at the Chancellor Hotel was perfect!!!



:) Dawn Hattie :)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,993 - 3,999 of 5,385 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2009

This hotel was very clean, nicely updated and the staff were friendly and very efficient. Generally, when I travel, the hotel needs to be a good place to sleep. As long as the window was closed, we heard very little noise from the street below. I tend to find I get warm at night without a window open, but we used the ceiling fan to cool us off, which worked fine. The rooms are small (this was not an issue for us), but the recent renovations make it feel clean, modern and fresh. My only complaint was a rare burger from room service, when I asked for well done and the internet on the TV was too slow to check on the status of our flights or email. This would not stop me from staying there again however.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaMcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Stayed here after reviews on TA. Worth it. Great location and the rooms were not bad. Decent size. was only here for 1 night but would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Let's see...

Great location
Friendly and helpful staff
Nice-sized room with comfortable bed and linens with a flat screen TV
Clean bathroom with huge tub
Reasonable rates
Restaurant for breakfast and lunch with the best club sandwich ever

What more can you say???

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

I think you said it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Thanks to Tripadvisor, We decided to stay in the hotel after many reviews. We choose this over Diva, and I am so glad we did. The LOCATION and the Price is FANTASTIC.

We went to San Fran for the first time, and want a handy place to stay. SO you have Chancellor Hotel!! You walk out, and there's the Cable car + shopping, bus stops, restaurants and entertainment. One of the best value for money hotel i have ever stayed in.

The hotel is beautiful and charming. Very clean and friendly staff. Love it. Highly recommended and will definately stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptnToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I have just returned from my honeymoon and we spent the first 8 nights at The Chancellor. We got a warm friendly greeting from the staff and they were very helpful during our stay. Our room was gorgeous. Lovely decor and a fantastic view over Union Square. The location just can not be beaten. We had a lovely bottle of champagne and a gift in the room which was such a lovely touch.
I really can not fault this hotel. We had a brilliant stay there. I loved the little touches like the sweets in the room, and tea and coffee always available along with the yummy cookies at reception. If you are looking for a great hotel in a convenient location in San Francisco that doesn't cost the earth, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Yes, this is an old hotel and rooms are small, heater sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. But hotel is well maintained and have a very attentive staff.
Rooms are cozy, very clean, furnished good and as a bonus you are getting a big walk-in closet which is very nice as you can hide all your luggage there.
We used the "parking package" and it was a big relief in SF. If you're coming in a car it's a no brainer. Valet service ($6 extra) was very convenient, they say that it takes 20-30 minutes to bring your car to the hotel but in reality it usually takes 10-15.
Hotel is pretty noisy due to being old and being on a Union square. We were on 11th floor and probably higher floors are more quiet.
Location is superb, especially for a shopper.
Alreay booked a next stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,789 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $163 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing