We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, and we were very pleased with the hotel. The location cannot be beat - it was central and a good (hilly mile) walk to everything we had planned to do in the city. It is an older building, but has been very well maintained. Our room was smaller than most hotel rooms but very clean and beautifully decorated. There is no air conditioning, but we found that the ceiling fan was enough. We would have kept the windows open all night, but the noise from the square and the street was a bit much at times. (We were on the front side, 10th floor). The bathroom is also a bit small and lacking counter space, but the tub is nice and deep so I was able to take a relaxing bath with the complimentary bath salts! The next time we visit San Francisco, this will definitely be our first choice hotel.

Green Features: A++ for being an environmentally friendly hotel! All the little things definitely add up to help keep our earth clean!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,788
    1,933
    331
    47
    18
See reviews for
586
2,677
341
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A pleasant hotel, small rooms, clean and comfortable. The rooms have original features including antique plumbing that works well!
A nice reception area and very good service. The location is the main plus point of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms don't actually have much of a view, so a room at the back might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurugilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our Californian road trip to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and boy what a hotel to finish at. It was central being in Union Square and being an older hotel had lots of character about it which we loved. All the front desk staff especially Annie and Rory (who also served at the bar along with the lovely Alicia) made our stay that extra special by their friendliness and helpfulness with ALL our queries, we felt like we were part of a family. Andrei, the porter on concierge was really helpful when we arrived because we had no idea where we could leave the car whilst we emptied our luggage before returning it back to the car hire company. He advised us which way the car should be parked on the hill and helped us with our luggage, thanks so much, before that we would have incurred a big fine or have been towed away! The room may have been small but we knew that before we arrived, it was however spotlessly clean with everything that we needed, fresh towels ( we did re-use ours more than once and never requested a change of bedding in order to help save water), toiletries (not body wash/shower gel) and a jar of sweets. There was also a complimentary bottle of wine which was very nice. Although there was no coffee machine in the room there was complimentary tea, coffee and iced water available 24/7 in the foyer along with freshly made cookies and big red apples, popcorn was also available in the evenings. We didn't try the restaurant during our stay but from what we saw it looked very nice and was reasonably priced. The cable car ran directly outside the hotel and cost $6 for a single journey, we didn't manage to ride the car as there was always a massive queue, we did walk a bit further down and caught the F bus into Fisherman's Wharf for $2, the ticket then enabled us to hop on any other bus for between 2 and 3 hours after we had paid our fare. The Alcatraz tour is a must but to ensure you get a ticket book BEFORE you arrive in San Francisco, we booked ours through our travel agent, it had sold out when we were there so we were very glad that we had booked well in advance. If you like draught beers and ciders go outside the hotel and a couple of doors to the left is the Golden Gate Tap Room, we stumbled across it but what a hidden gem, there are a few stairs to walk up to get to it but it's well worth it when you get there, they do a good pint of Guinness and the Blue Moon is good.
There is also a facility to check in on line and to print off your boarding passes if needed, we were so grateful of that.

We would definitely stay at the Chancellor again should we ever return to San Francisco in the future. Well done to all the staff at the Chancellor for making it such a good place to stay and to the manager for maintaining such traditional standards and hiring good staff.

Room Tip: A high floor looking over Union Square was good for us and it wasn't as noisy as some people had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malibushaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's hard to find a reasonable hotel in San Francisco, but I did based on other reviews...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square. I stayed there two nights and loved it. The hotel is not new and it does not have air conditioning but that was not a problem. We were comfortable. The room was on the small side compared to newer hotels, but we weren't in the room much. I stayed in room 1500. The bedding was excellent. You can take advantage of the pillow menu and choose one to suit you. The soaking tub was excellent. I loved it. I made this reservation on my own and was afraid it might not suit my husband (he's picky} but he loved it also. Great value for the money. Convenient to China Town, Union Square, Cable Car and everything you would want to see and do! I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Definitely higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can be as green as you want to be. They recycle, etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazerlilly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is at a prime location. People complain about loudness at night, but come on! It's Union Square and is alive all day! I would highly recommend this place. Yes, it's smaller than most hotels that I'm used to, but it's historic. I had absolutely no problems and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The front desk was amazing and gave great recommendations when asked. The bathrooms were a bit on the small side, but because of the location, this was very minor. They provided everything I needed. It is wonderful and I will come back. I was so happy with my stay here. And the elevator? I've read complaints about it being slow because it's older. I did not find this to be a problem and I was on the top floor. I highly recommend this place. I stayed with my sister for a girls weekend, and I would love to come back with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginavalenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Oh how I wish everyone was like this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

An older property than we would normally stay in but we wanted a central location in the city and this more than filled the bill. After arriving and giving our rental car over to valet parking we didn't need it again until we left 3 days later.

Rooms were quite small but clean and comfortable if a little noisy at times, but eh we were in the centre of a busy city. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good and the complimentary 24 hour coffee very welcome.

Quite a walk to Fisherman's Wharf but mostly downhill and of course the tram runs passed the hotel for the return journey. Great for catching the city hop on/hop off bus which we used frequently and easy walking to the Chinese and Italian areas for evening food.

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madorabaybums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We are turning 100 years old this year! Unfortunately, that means we will probably be an older hotel than most people stay in when visiting the United States - but not so much in Europe. However, we are glad the location was worth it and we filled the bill. Definitely, no matter what the star rating, a one hundred year old hotel will have some quirks compared to a more modern one.

Thanks for taking the chance on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at the Chancellor Hotel over Memorial Weekend and really enjoyed our stay. As others have said, the hotel staff are great and were really helpful when we asked about directions/restaurant recommendations etc. The breakfast at Luques was also brilliant, the staff are so friendly and the service very efficient.

I know a lot of reviews comment about the room size but it's really not that small by European standards! We had plenty of space, especially as there's a HUGE walk in closet so that you can keep your luggage out of the way.

We also didn't find outside noise to be a problem at all, even though we were front facing and only 6 floors up so I wouldn't worry too much about that when booking.

All in all, a lovely stay and a great start to our US roadtrip!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulesO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Only 60% of our rooms have the larger closets, but the bedroom areas of our rooms are all the same size - within a few square feet. It is funny how some people say they are so small they can't move and others say they are just fine. Some say there is too much furniture and others say it is just right. All we can do is hope people do their research and choose the Chancellor with the right expectation as these folks did. If they do, I am confident they will enjoy their visit. Glad we could get their U.S. road trip off to a great start. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing