We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Excellent location for downtown SF for a leisure traveler. Hotel is clean, rooms are small and an informative tour desk. Staff excellent. As a separate charge, parking more reasonable than most but a block away. Be fully aware that Powell can be a very noisy street; avoid rooms facing Powell. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. Liked Sears, next door, for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words about the staff. It is also nice to receive the recognition for our parking rates being on the lower side of the average. Parking is expensive in San Francisco which cannot be disputed, but we work with our providers to keep them as low as possible.

Finally...if you like Sears next door, you'll really like Luques for breakfast right inside the hotel. No liquid eggs, fresh and creative ingredients and San Francisco Sour Dough Pancakes that are the best!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 5,313 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Agree very much with previous comments. Found staff all to be friendly and helpful.Breakfast staff most welcoming.It's the little extras that the hotel does which makes me recommend this hotel and why I would stay there again: help yourself to the apples (1 of your 5 a day!! :) ) the homemade peanut butter and choc chip cookies, ready to eat popcorn! & not forgetting the jar of sweets in your room which are topped up daily! There are no coffee making facilities in your room but the hotel acknowledges this with coffee/tea making facilities in their foyer which is available 24/7. You've just got to toss a coin as who's turn it is to go and get It etc!! There's free wi-fi which is much appreciated and free newspapers. A couple of vouchers were given to us on arrival for use in their restaurant and bar.
Please note there IS NO swimming pool Here but site will not let me change the rating for some reason!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desino18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for noticing the little things we do. We are a 3 star hotel by choice, but try to offer additional amenities and touches that our guests will enjoy and hopefully make us an excellent 3 star hotel. Turning 100 years old this year, we have our challenges and when people rip us apart online it hurts - because we do try hard. However, when people acknowledge our efforts and the positives, we appreciate it and it keeps us going. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in The Chancellor for 4 nights. Arrived late after our flight not really sure where the hotel was, but headed towards union Sq from the BART. Only a 5 minute walk, up hill but very easier to spot hotel with sign lit on the side. Check in staff were very pleasent and welcoming, very quick check in.

Stayed on the 5th floor with decent views of Union Sq and Macys. Big room with a big closet to hang clothes etc, was nice to find. "Old fashioned decor" to some but well decorated and very charming, suited the hotel and it's history. Nice little pot of sweets to enjoy, plus the famous chancellor duck which I was very excited to find. Very Clean Hotel.

The cable car tracks run right outside and are VERY noisey all day and throughout the night. But a good pair of ear plugs sorts that out. We had a great sleep despite jet lag, very comfortable bed.

Complimentary cookies were availible in the reception as well as lemonade and cucumber water which was a nice touch.The hotel provided us with a few meal coupons for the restaurant in the lobby, we only ate breakfast here and it was delicious. Great selection and the staff were very friendly. Couldn't Fault it. Free Wifi with very easy access and fast connection.

The lobby bar wasn't as enjoyable. Poor choice of draft beers, one was undrinkable. One bar tender was a tad grumpy, but it was good to have a drink before bed.

The location is second to none. The cable cars run right outside with a stop just at the end of the block, they bring you direct to fishermans wharf and back for a decent enough price and a must do experience while in SF. If you're up to it, you are in walking distance to a lot of locations, we were able to walk from the hotel to the piers at Bay Bridge, down to AT&T Park and back and enjoyed every minute of it. You will need a rest after but it is do-able. There are also plenty of tour buses just outside union sq for you to hop on also. Lots of great shopping locations at your doorstep.

Everything you need in a hotel, fantastic trip, will definetly return to The Chancellor!

Room Tip: Front facing room and bring ear plugs just incase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambiwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Hawaii. The hotel was clean and friendly, they sent a bottle of fizz up to the room when they found out we were on honeymoon. The room and bathroom were quite small but we came to sight see so didn't spend that much time in it. It was an excellent location, everything we needed close by. We didn't eat there and found plenty of places nearby for a good breakfast to start our day, would highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Chancellor is a lovely older hotel right in the center of Union Square. It is only a few blocks from the closest BART station, which is very convenient when coming in from the airport. The staff are wonderfully friendly and quick to respond to any requests or questions that a guest might have. The rooms are small, but served our purpose as we weren't in the hotel much during the day. We had a high, rear-facing room, and brought a sound machine with us, so noise wasn't a problem overnight (apparently they actually have white sound machines available to borrow as on the "pillow menu" as well). Bathrooms could certainly use an update--there were a couple of cracks in the tile and the toilets are certainly not low-flow. We also had some trouble with getting our keycard to work reliably and had to go to the front desk a couple of times to have that sorted (we were told that the magnetic strip may have been affected by being in close proximity with credit cards). In all, we'd stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dandywilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you. The only thing I would like to correct is the assertion that our toilets are not low flow. They actually are. The high pressure toilet uses 1.7 gal per flush compared to a regular old toilet that uses 3.5 gal per flush. We have had our low flow pressure toilets for decades, saving millions of gallons of water long before it was common practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a couple of times now, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. The hotel is in a great location, right on Union Square and just a short walk from BART. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean, and check-in and check-out were very quick and smooth. Another advantage is that it's not a chain; the hotel rooms are a bit quirky and has old-fashioned charm.

Overall, there's lots to like here and little to complain about.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent. We like hotels with character and this one has some fine details in the lobby. The rooms are comfortable, but our bathroom was small and could use a upgrade. The windows open in the bathroom and main room so we could get a cross breeze and hear the trollies on the street below. Closing the windows made for a quiet room when needed. We enjoyed the location near Union Square and it was close to everywhere we needed to go. Used the valet service for our car and that was easy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,042 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,852 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $156 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing