We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A centrally located classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A centrally located classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Chancellor is an old San Francisco hotel with all the good and bad things that it entails. The rooms are a fair bit smaller than in more modern American hotels, but personally, I've never understood people complaining about that. A hotel room is for sleeping, not for spending time in.

While the rooms are quite neat and cozy, they are also a bit on the stuffy side. The ventilation is rather minimal, and the hotel relies on people just opening their windows a lot, which is not ideal when you have one of the busiest tourist areas right below, not to mention the streetcars with their constantly ringing bells. Be prepared to open all the windows first thing in the morning, because the air quality really dips while you sleep.

Otherwise, I can't really say a bad thing about the hotel. Sure it is a little worn around the edges, but that is only appropriate, since the Chancellor is from another time. It is clean though, the housekeeping does a good job, and you really get that San Fran feel while staying there.

Also, as said, those streetcars pass right next to the hotel, so buy a MUNI-pass from the tour office and go to town! Even a 5-day pass will practically pay for itself with just a couple of trips down to the Wharf and back.

Room Tip: Go high. The further up you are from the street the less noise you have to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,909
    327
    47
    18
See reviews for
576
2,647
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wow... What a great find, we stayed here for two nights as part of a girls trip to San Fransisco. So pleased we did. Great spot right on the cable line opposite union square. Coming from England we loved the traditional room. Everything we needed plus a rubber duck....
Friendly staff, the little touches were fab, cookies & beverages in the lobby. We valeted our car & it was worth it to us in such a big city. Thanks everyone and when we come back we will be sure to stay with you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonomousdurhamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

A very helpful and friendly staff team looked after us well within a relaxed atmosphere. The room was good and the breakfast set us up for the day. We had a breakfast included package that was good value.

Green Features: A warm friendly and helpful team looked after us very well
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent stay... Ask for Mao in the restaurant. What a true gem.
He made us feel welcome and special.
Have a mixed drink in the bar...topnotch.
Love my complimentary rubber duck. Makes us smile and remember a great time in SF.

Room Tip: Face Union square and get serenaded every night.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellence! We always make our own bed and clean up after ourselves. Not asking for clean towels and linens during a short stay should be a given. This makes better sense all around. Knowing Chancellor Hotel is a green hotel made our stay even better.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joglo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Chancellor Hotel in San Francisco!!! I took my daughter for a Lana Del Rey concert and we decided to stay at The Chancellor Hotel in the absolute heart of Union Square!! The location could not have been better. If you like to shop, this is your location!! just blocks from the huge Westfield shopping mall on Market St.as well as 2 Forever 21 stores and 2 H&M stores within blocks of each other! There was a huge and very nice Ross store on Market St. too where there are lots of good finds if you dont mind crowds! The stores down Powell St.were fantastic as well and many restaurants to choose from. We felt very safe and we were happy to be so close to everything . ChinaTown is also very close with lots of cute souvenirs to be had.
The bus is close and the trolley cars run right down Powell St in front of the hotel which was very convenient and they were a blast and every tourist should try it at least once!!
I have to send an extra special thank you to Annie who worked at the front desk at The Chancellor who was such a help to us and always recognised us when we arrived back from a trip out . Her customer service was appreciated as well as the other front desk staff who were helpful with directions and information as well as the excellent service and staff at Luques restaurant in the hotel!! There was 24hr coffee available with fresh cookies and fruit which was a nice touch.
The room was cozy with 2 twin beds. the room was a bit small but it was clean and all we needed as we were gone all day, everyday we were there. The beds were super comfy and the pillows were great. we requested a room at the back of the hotel as its hard for me to sleep with noise(from tourists, cars and trolleys) and they had no problem accommodating us which was appreciated.
I would certainly stay at this cute hotel again and hope to return soon to this amazing, beautiful city and The Chancellor!! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
352 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a really old charming hotel. Not much room but very clean and with the price. The location is great. Next to all the action of Union Sqr. They pay attention to little details here and even provide you discount for the food and bar.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at The Chancellor this past Easter Weekend. I booked a package through Expedia and emailed ahead to ask for a "quiet" room and to mention it was my girlfriend's birthday weekend. Joanna from reservations replied almost immediately and let me know she would do her best. Excellent & respectful communication!

We took the BART from SFO airport and it took about 30 mins to get to Union Square ($9 each person), walked 2-3 blocks and made it to the Chancellor safe & sound. Check-in was seamless and smooth. The lobby, elevators and hallways all have a nice, old-school feel that I appreciate. Sincere old-school charm too, instead of design that "tries too hard" to be charming. And yes, as everybody else writes, have some coffee, cookies, apples and flavored water while you're in the lobby!

Our room was on the 7th floor and wasn't facing any busy & loud streets. Excellent! Also, we arrived to our room and there was a card and a bottle of sparkling wine for my girlfriend's birthday. Awesome!! Thanks Joanna and Chancellor staff for that! The room is small yes, but cmon...Union Square is right outside. Get out & enjoy the city! The beds and pillows are comfortable. We had restful sleeps and the rooms were cleaned promptly daily. I came across the cleaners in the hallway a couple of occasions and they were very friendly. The showers, sinks & toilets have strong water pressure and the towels were clean & soft.

Cable cars are right outside, as well as San Fran bike share but we walked everywhere instead because we thought it would be a fun way to explore. Chinatown is a 15-20 min walk, Fisherman's Wharf about 30 minute walk, Pier 39 maybe 40 min walk... it's all within walking range if you like to do that. If not, it's super easy to find other ways to commute. We visited multiple restaurants, brew pubs, shopping, etc and loved it!

Check-out was even more simple than check-in. We booked a shuttle bus to the airport since we had to arrive at the airport at an early time. The tour desk in the lobby set it up and the shuttle arrived at the hotel exactly on time and got us to the airport early for only $16 per person.

We'll be back to San Francisco to visit more neighbourhoods, pubs & restaurants that we missed this trip. We'll most definitely stay at Chancellor again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanCityChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing