We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I did my research and stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Glad I did my research and stayed here”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to SF previously, however I had always stayed with friends, never stayed at a hotel until my most recent visit. I stayed at the Chancellor Hotel from Feb 28 to March 4. I found the location of the hotel to be very central - it's by the Union Sqaure, in front of the cable car, and blocks away from the BART Stn, also close to the Westfield Mall plus all of the well-known brand names like Tiffany, Macy's etc.. There's Walgreen and Starbucks around the corner. I felt safe in the area in general, though I did have various homeless people approaching me for money.

I requested a room on a higher level after I read the review about the live band. I got a room on the 9th floor, honestly I could still hear the music, I didn't mind it too much, however I could imagine someone staying at a lower floor may not always appreciate that.

In the room, it's pretty well-stocked - I made a note of the things that were conveniently placed in the room - you have in the closet: safe, umbrella, heater, extra bath tissues, extra toilet papers, blanket, comforter, luggage stands, hangers, iron & iron board. The bottle opener was mounted near the bathroom door; the blow dryer was in a sack hung behind the bathroom door; tissue paper box was also mounted on the bathroom wall. There was a desk and several lamps - it's got USB plugs for your iPhone etc.. LCD TV, 3 chairs, fridge, ceiling fan (no air conditioning at this hotel). Pretty much all you need is readily available. The only complaint I had would be the water pressure for the shower was a bit lacking, but it's useable.

I also enjoyed the free cookies, water, tea/coffee at the lobby, and I really liked the mobile app on my iPhone - I was curious to see if it actually worked and if anyone actually manages that, so I sent a request for more toilet papers, and within minutes I got them - very impressed!

I also had brunch at the Luques downstairs - the front desk gave me a discount voucher for the restaurant and I tried it. I would have to say the service was attentive and the food was delicious, so I would recommend it to anyone.

Overall I enjoyed my stay there very much and I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floor if you don't like noise
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very environmentally-friendly, and I appreciate that.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you! I honestly believe that is someone does their research and selects the Chancellor Hotel because they want a historical, 3 star, boutique hotel experience in a great location, they will be happy. AND...if they did their research, they will know that if they are not happy for any reason, let us know and we will make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,848
    1,983
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,740
349
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced (for SF) hotel on US. After doing research, mostly on TA, we decided on the Chancellor. We were so happy with our choice. Yes, the room is small..(very clean!) but we were there for 5 nites and found it to be just fine (bathroom could be a bit bigger) The staff was wonderful, the location can't be beat, and the whole ambiance was charming. We had requested a quiet room away from the street. We got it and slept with windows open and the ceiling fan on. I thought we would be able to hear noise from the other rooms...not a bit. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for room away from Powell St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lululemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our first time in SF and the Chancellor was recommend to us from a friend and I'm so glad we listend. When we arrived to the hotel we chose the BART system which cost about $7.05 a person from the Oakland airport you get off on Powell street and walk up four block to the hotel. We had arrived early to the hotel and didn't think we would be able to check in but we were greeted by friendly staff who informed us our room was ready and that we could go up and get settled. The room was very clean and comfortable once we were settled we went back down to the lobby and talked with the tour information inside the hotel, who was also very helpful and friendly. The cable car stop right front of the hotel or a few steps down to go the other way. Lots of shopping in the area, Cheesecake Factory in Macy's and another restaurant next door if you don't want to eat in the hotel. At night we could hear a trumpet player or bag pipes being played but we didn't mind. We would stay at the Chancellor Hotel again it is in a great location, clean hotel and great staff!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is all about location. This is a nice hotel, rooms are a little on the small side, queen size bed, and room enough for 2 chairs, and cocktail table. View fro our room was a rusty fire escape, and Dept. Store. We are just about across the street from Central Park. The trolly runs up and down the block outside of your window, so you DO get the sounds of the city with the window open. The bar in the Hotel is nothing, so many other Happy Hours all over town. So many restaurants and Bars in walking distance.

Room Tip: We had room 702, I believe all the rooms have basically the same view. Maybe a back room might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNICKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Always my choice for a stay in SF - if you drive, get the package w/ parking and $25 food credit...it's a screamin' deal. Luques serves up fine breakfasts in an inviting atmosphere, right in the hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the back side, away from the street. Fun rooms are up front w/ cable cars passin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel encourages guests to re-use linens and includes a separate recycle bag to dispose of aluminum, plastic, etc.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Perfect location to start any city tour. It was close to BART, bus transportation and the cable cars.The rooms were a bit noisy as the street is very busy but it was actually kind of nice because you could hear wonderful street musicians in the rooms facing the front. One night there was trumpet music and another night we heard bagpipes. The shopping was nice in this area but big retailers and not many smaller shops. The restaurants in the area were not that nice but other restaurants could be reached by cab. The service was very good and the front desk did a wonderful job helping and accommodating our needs. The pillow selections were a good idea too. If you want a drink at the "bar" get there by 10! The breakfast menu was really good too!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front of the building but could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were looking for a great boutique style motel in San Francisco, looking on trip advisor we found the Chancellor. What a find, the 100 year privately own little gem is fantastic, great location with fantastic rates. The staff are fantastic & nothing is a trouble. The free cookies, apples, muffins, chilled water & sometimes popcorn is a real bonus. The rooms are well maintained with separate bathroom & walking wardrobe. There are many motels in San Francisco but it would be hard to go past this one. We are here for a week & will definitely be back,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They truly encourage environmentally friendly practices, but do not throw it down your throught.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,964 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing