We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
prague
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Perfect location to start any city tour. It was close to BART, bus transportation and the cable cars.The rooms were a bit noisy as the street is very busy but it was actually kind of nice because you could hear wonderful street musicians in the rooms facing the front. One night there was trumpet music and another night we heard bagpipes. The shopping was nice in this area but big retailers and not many smaller shops. The restaurants in the area were not that nice but other restaurants could be reached by cab. The service was very good and the front desk did a wonderful job helping and accommodating our needs. The pillow selections were a good idea too. If you want a drink at the "bar" get there by 10! The breakfast menu was really good too!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front of the building but could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,784
    1,932
    331
    47
    18
See reviews for
585
2,673
341
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were looking for a great boutique style motel in San Francisco, looking on trip advisor we found the Chancellor. What a find, the 100 year privately own little gem is fantastic, great location with fantastic rates. The staff are fantastic & nothing is a trouble. The free cookies, apples, muffins, chilled water & sometimes popcorn is a real bonus. The rooms are well maintained with separate bathroom & walking wardrobe. There are many motels in San Francisco but it would be hard to go past this one. We are here for a week & will definitely be back,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They truly encourage environmentally friendly practices, but do not throw it down your throught.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Ideal location to stay in when visiting San Fran. The BART stop at Powell Station is just a 8-10minute walk. Also you are on the cable car line (6 dollars) & also the electric bus stop is just around the corner which we found to be an excellent service for just 2 dollars wherever you wanted to go. We usually used this service to go to Fishermans Wharf area (pier 39)
We loved the way the hotel offered free water, coffee, tea & cookies all day every day. They also offer a popcorn machine in the evening which is a lovely treat. The hotel also offers free wifi !
The hotel provided us with free use of their computer when we needed to print off our boarding pass for our flight which we thought was fantastic.
Our bedroom was cleaned every day & we had a walk in wardrobe which we found very handy for storing our suitcases. !
We also found the bar very handy as our meeting place as we traveled with another couple & the bar man was very friendly and helpful . I could not recommend this hotel enough!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Exactly the kind of hotel you want to stay in. When we entered the room we thought it was going to be very small and cramped, but there was a seperate walk in wardrobe which was bit enough to hold our 2 suitcases which made all the difference to the comfort of the bedroom room. The facilities were old, but the bathroom was spacious and the shower was very good. Its very centrally located just off Union Square with a tram stop right outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great service and nice location. The rooms were clean and people there very helpful my only "complain" was that rooms and beds were very small which is the reason why I wouldn't give them 5 stars. If you don't care about size of your room and your bed this is a great place at a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Pros:
-Friendly & helpful staff
-you see free water, cookies, and a popcorn machine at night HOW CUTE!!!
-Spacious room
-free candies in your bedroom
-free wi-fi
-very cozy and warm
-cute and vintage

Cons
-bathroom might have that old dusty smell sometimes
-water wasnt warm enough
-bathroom had this annoying automatic filter or something that would go off suddenly and it was loud and annoying

PS: We suspect the cleaner might have tried the totos we bought hehe.. but its ok. they kept our room clean and safe anyway

DEFINITELY going to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamdasushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a fantastic sleep...every night. My sister and I spent three nights at the Chancellor Hotel and loved every second we spent there. From the yummy complimentary cookies, tea and coffee in reception 24/7 to the rubber ducky in the bathroom, I could not fault the place. The location was perfect and the staff were all friendly. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Govan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing