We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there one night, and I regret moving to another hotel. I think the location is fabulous with great amenities.

Yes the hotel is small and the rooms as well, but it is very cozy, clean and comfortable. When I stayed there the weather was OK so I didnt need a heater nor an A/C.

The personnel is great and the free wifi is a great addition. Usually hotels charge for wifi and when a place offers free wifi you appreciated their hospitality.

24 free coffee and tea in the lobby.

I personally like hard beds, but theirs was ok as well.

I highly suggest staying there

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the street, but please understand this is the busiest place in SF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,759
    1,906
    327
    47
    18
See reviews for
575
2,644
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pierre Part, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent rooms, service, and location yet was priced the lowest compared to the hotels within union square. They offer a free upgrade (if available), which we accepted, that put us in a room that overlooked the park in union square. The trolley also stops by the hotel which we rode to Lombard street.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impaler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

First time in San Francisco, I wanted accommodation that was central yet affordable and I can recommend this as fitting both requirements.

We got twin beds on the 5th floor, with a view of Powell St and a bit of Union Square. The room was as expected with a TV, a desk and a mini fridge. I was once again surprised there was no coffee maker/tea in the room. They do however have complimentary coffee/tea downstairs at the bar.
The bathroom was a bit smaller than expected and had a shower/bathtub combination. It was clean though and came with the usual shampoo/conditioner and soap.
There is a walk-in closet with plenty of space, so that was really great cos we stored our extra luggage in there.
Like the website states, they do not have air conditioning. They do however have fans, but as we were there mid-November and we had the windows slightly open, the fan was hardly used.

The decor is a bit old-fashioned, but the hotel has been around since 1914, so it does look good for its age.
The staff are friendly especially the Asian lady housekeeper who makes an effort to greet guests every morning.

I really liked the fact that it was centrally located, but away from the crowds. From this hotel, it is an easy 10 minute stroll to the Chinatown gates and an even shorter stroll to the main shopping district of Union Square, its surroundings and Westfield.
Mind you, I also walked to Alamo Square to see the Painted Ladies. It was about an half hour walk. Did I mention Designer Shoe Warehouse was next door?

As one of the cable car stops were located on Powell St, each time it dinged, we could hear it. It didn't affect our sleep, however the rubbish truck (or so I was told) did affect my mother's sleep.

Overall, our stay here made our trip to San Fran a memorable one and it has become one of my cities! Would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WLH_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great, very central location. Good rates. Queen bed room was a bit smaller than what my husband and I were used to, but bearable as we didn't spend a lot of time in room. Also, our room was on 2nd floor, so we heard minor to moderate levels of traffic noise. Free coffee/tea/cookies 24/7 was a plus!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Athena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Chancellor (usually a week beginning January 1st) and I would definitely return a next time. The hotel is very old but they do an amazing job of keeping it clean. They will vacuum even under the bed, lifting them up if needed. I was impressed by the thoroughness.

As mentioned in the room tip, the corner room I was first assigned to proved to be very loud with the sound of clanging pipes in the early hours of the day. Staff was very accommodating in changing rooms even though I am sure they were quite packed for the holidays.

One of the biggest reasons I stay at the Chancellor is because of their arrangement with a local fitness club. The latter have a wonderful lap pool where you can reserve a lane for a time period and the gym is well equipped with the latest machines. Towels and lockers are provided free of charge to hotel guests.

During this visit I attended a magic show that was held inside the hotel restaurant. It was half price admission for guests. The show runs three nights a week, Thursday thru Saturday and I can't recommend it enough. Very entertaining, the host takes you to a time long past, telling interesting stories while incorporating a magic trick with each tale. And don't be surprised if you get volunteered to assist. This show has lots of audience participation, which makes it more fun, and was not uncomfortable in any way. Great experience!

As others have mentioned, the location is excellent. Just being half a block from the actual Union Square, you're close to all amenities, including the 24/7 Walgreens, bus stops, cable cars, and shopping Mecca. Couldn't really do much better than the Chancellor!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at time of booking. Make sure it's not the back corner, otherwise, the pipe...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are two receptacles in the lobby for recycling. However I would have liked to see one in the room as well.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked this hotel after reading some excellent reviews about it and we were not disappointed in the slightest. By booking direct with the hotel, we got a much better room rate than the lowest online line rate and as a bonus we received a bunch of free restaurant vouchers for their restaurant which by the way serves delicious breakfasts that taste as good as they look. Our room on the 13th floor was not huge but it was very quiet and clean with quality furnishings(we took the option of the quiet back room with not much of a view instead of one of the front street rooms ). the bed was super comfy with quality linen and fluffy towels and whilst the shower water pressure is not great, bath salts and a cute yellow duck are thoughtfully provided for a wonderful bedtime soak. The restaurant is really nice with professional friendly staff who seem to take pride in their work. The lobby has a constant supply of free hot beverages , homemade large biscuits (I think you call them cookies) apples, and sometimes muffins and popcorn. they also supply a range of specialty pillows at no cost and they were happy to service our room at any time of the day. Our thanks to all the staff who made our stay in SF a special one and a special Hi to Kent the doorman for being so friendly and cute. There were 4 of us in 2 bedrooms for 5 nights and none of us has a bad word to say about this hotel, it oozed old world charm with thoughtful attention to detail without being old fashioned . We can certainly recommend this hotel without any hesitation or reservation, best value hotel for this fantastic location in the heart of the city centre.

Room Tip: the back rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide separate bins for recycling and encourage patrons to consider the need for new towels every day.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmelH795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with lots of character. Lovely warm welcome and an excellent location for getting around with a cable car stop right outside. Only stayed two nights but would like to have stayed longer. Good quality furnishings. Rooms are a little small but have great character as it is an old hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scriv1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing