We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Helpful Staff, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Central, Helpful Staff, Good Value”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Because of its location, adjacent to Union Square, it's close to all bus tours, trams and restaurants. All staff were courteous and helpful during our 3 night stay. Surprisingly the breakfast area tended to be quiet in the morning, yet the freshly cooked food was delicious and well priced. Our clean, well laid out room in this old building, overlooked the back of the hotel and having tea/coffee & cookies available 24 hours in the reception was a big bonus. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,810
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,699
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in San Fran to start a fly drive and booked into this great hotel. It was clean, reasonable and staff were very friendly.

Great location too. Took the tram down to Pier 39 public transport was easily accessible from hotel.

Had a great breakfast in the hotel and had a 10% off voucher from front desk. Would def stay again and highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited San Francisco across Halloween for three days (2013). Very good people at the front desk, check-in in less than 5 minutes I had the card for the access to the room.
Room old style, but well furnished with cable TV, wi-fi, mini-fridge, small but efficient bathroom (with their typical small yellow duck!). I was at the last floor (15th), 2 elevators very efficient.
At the hall they ever have water, fruit and cookies for free. I asked different times indications for san francisco nieghborhoods, and they were always so friendly. i also printed my fly boarding pass in their business area, all for free and very friendly.
Room was always clean and carpet well maintained.
No particular noises (even if up to Powell the cable car run till late night) and all is very close and walkable (Union square is just out of the door), Market is two blocks away and below the hotel there are two Walgreens.
Suggest to call the hotel for a furthere sale on the price, I saved 30 bucks on the last night.

Room Tip: I suggest to go on the upper floors to have less noises possible, and a cool position is the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonAnge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at beginning of trip and 1 at end. Very efficient and friendly check in. Rooms are small and bathrooms are smaller. The bathrooms need updating. Our first room was okay but our second was cramped. This is an old building but it is so central. Saks Fifth Ave is opposite and you can see Macys from the front door. It is quite old fashioned but with that you get service. There are free cookies and coffee in the lobby which are great if you are up at funny times with jetlag. The cable car stops outside the hotel and two blocks away are buses to other parts of the city. There is a good choice of restaurants in the area. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and served quickly. The price reflects the size of the rooms. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visi2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great spot from which to explore San Fran. Union Square on the doorstep. In serious need of updating but if you are aware of that from the outset, then there's no problem! Quite friendly. Nice little touches such as free tea coffee and cookies. Tram passes door Everywhere is walking distance. Don't choose this hotel if you have claustrophobia - stairs are tiny as are corridors.

Room Tip: Rooms with external walls are damp. Choose inner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahspititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I think they are confusing 3 star, traditional décor in a 100 year old hotel as needing an update.

Definitely do not choose the Chancellor Hotel if you have claustrophobia or any other issues that will prevent you from enjoying the charm and character of a historical, boutique hotel. Also, if you have traveled through out Europe staying in 3 star hotels, and didn't like it, you will not like the Chancellor either. However, if you like the intimate, cozy feel of a European hotel, you will like the Chancellor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I thought this hotel needed a good clean, we stayed on the second floor so took the stairs rather than the lift, the walls were dirty and the skirting boards need a good paint, Housekeeping totally ignore the do not disturb sign,having knocked the first time we explained we were checking out that day and had the room until 14.00,They knocked our door 4 times before noon.... very irritating when we had organised with reception the night before who said they would take note and pass it on...The cookies offered at reception for guests were delicious,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
While I think this person is a little too uptight on the judgments and has slightly exaggerated the story, I have discussed the comments with the housekeeping manager, maintenance and front desk. We will be going through the walls and skirting boards. Needing paint should be confused with unclean.

I am sorry about the housekeeping staff allegedly ignoring the sign. We try to respect "do not disturb" signs and I am looking into what happened in this case. We were happy to extend the check out 2 hours at no charge on a sold out day, but it seems there was some communication breakdown and I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had to book last minute for one night as let down by another booking. The location couldn't be better, just steps from Union Square on one of the famous Trolley routes. Staff were wonderful. Bed was fabulously relaxing in this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you. It is nice when someone appreciates you for what you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing