We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed her for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are really comfortable and clean with plenty of space. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is in an amazing location, right by Union Square which is perfect for shopping and getting around town. The tour buses stop at Union Sq too and you can buy tickets from the concierge in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kirst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,802
    318
    48
    18
See reviews for
543
2,527
308
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We selected this Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, and was very pleased.
The location was excellent just a short walk up from the San Francisco "Powell Street" BART train station and the Cable Car start point and right in the centre of San Francisco. The room was not large like many modern hotels, but very comfortable, well equipped and clean. The bathroom, again quite small, but did have a bath and there was plenty of towels and a duck! The reception and foyer staff as reviewed were very friendly and helpful. Available in the reception was complimentary coffee/Tea, water, apples and cookies. The hotel had a small bar, again the staff very friendly but didn't stay open very long, and the restaurant, quite small but served good food and was reasonably priced but was only open for Breakfast and lunch.
Travelling around SF, was very easy with the BART (Bay Area Rail Train) reaching out of the city (From the Airport to Powell Street cost $8.25 per person), but within the city you have the choice of Buses, Trams and Cable cars. A single trip on the Cable car costs $6, but you can get a MUNI pass, which gives you unlimited use of all the city transport types (not BART). You could purchase this in the hotel foyer at a cost of $14 per day or we purchased a 3 day pass for only $22 (I think the 7 day pass was $28). The Cable Cars were good fun, but sometimes very busy. Apparently you could get on/off at each cross roads, but often they would fill at the start points so it was worth taking the short walk to the Cable Car start points. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongPhooey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for our first time in San Francisco. Very welcoming place and quite helpful staff. It's handy for shopping and eating. I would certainly stay here again. We preferred this hotel to the one we stayed at in New York. It was much more homely and we didn't have a problem with noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. We are both used to staying in luxury hotels and decided to be more adventurous and go the budget route. We have no regrets. It was by far one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! And the fact that I am comparing this experience to a 5 star luxury hotel in Bora Bora must astound you.
This place was everything we asked for and more.
We stayed at the very top romantic suite that had two bathrooms, champagne and chocolates upon arrival and the BEST view of Union Square.
Despite many mix ups the hotel staff were very prompt in fixing these and offering us compensation in many forms, e.g. Free parking, food vouchers etc.
If you want great service, prime location, good food then this is the place for you!
This will definitely be the hotel we will always stay in San Fran for as long as it stands.

Room Tip: Get the very top romantic suite, it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anji D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Smooth check in, complimentary cookies, coffee, tea, apples were great, room was a little dated, bed uncomfortable. Perfect location for shopping, chilling on union square ( although a saxophonist did our head in most evenings til 10/11pm just after a bagpiper!!) Cable cars stop just outside, try Sears or the Golden Gate Grill for brekkie, overall good stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Chancellor for 3 nights as part of a road trip and found it to be a lovely welcoming hotel with lots of character.
We had a long journey from the UK and were tired, so the friendly staff on reception was a great start. Our travel agent had mentioned that we were celebrating birthdays during our stay and there was a card, wine and chocolates in the room which was a really lovely touch. The room was good, not overly small as mentioned in some reviews, modern touches but still fairly traditional and perfectly clean. There was no air-con in our room but we managed fine with the fan.
We didn't eat or have drinks in the hotel but found the staff to be friendly and the lady who sits at the tour desk is very helpful. The free cookies by reception are great!
Overall great hotel with some character, great location (just near Union Square which is lovely)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemstone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in August for five nights and it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Mike and his mother at the tour desk. Nothing was a problem and everything went smoothly. We would certainly stay there again next we are in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,477 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,423 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing