We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a lucky choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #13 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“what a lucky choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Needing a place to stay in SF for 2 nights, I knew from previous stays that location was a major consideration but so was cost. based on other reviews we took a chance and booked the Chancellor and now cannot say enough wonderful things about it. this is a small property where it seemed everyone from front desk to bar to restaurant knew us by name. the service was excellent and everyone sincerely helpful. the rooms were clean and adequately sized for a city stay. cookies in the lobby, popcorn at the bar. just perfect.

Room Tip: we were on a high floor with a view of the square- very nice, but open windows also let in the const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,736
    1,891
    326
    47
    18
See reviews for
571
2,624
332
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed there for 5 days. What a GREAT hotel. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. The desk staff was excellent. The tour desk was also excellent and very helpful. The restaurant inside the hotel was also excellent. Having free tea, coffee, and cookies was also a nice plus. EXCELLENT location also near cable car, shopping, and mass transit. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone who stays in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the higher floors away from the street. Powell street is VERY busy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, our first more than a decade previous. The things that attracted us then still apply now - it's great location for Union Square, the cable car an Chinatown. The individual touches in the room such as the rubber duck in the bathroom and the jar of sweets in the bedroom were also special. We had booked the romance package as it was my wife's birthday but we were pleasantly surprised when we found an additional gift specially for her in our room too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The Chancellor on our recent first time visit to San Francisco! Everyone at the hotel from the front desk, to the restaurant, the bar, the tour desk, housekeeping, etc, were so friendly and accomodating! The location of the hotel is perfect! We could walk to many of the fabulous shops, restaurants, and bars!! Or, if we wanted to venture out further from Union Square, we could catch the trolley 1/2 block from the hotel or it was just a short walk to catch the bus or BART!! Mike, at the tour desk was extremely helpful in directing us where we wanted to go and answer all our many questions!! We would definitely stay at The Chancellor again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Union Square! Loved being able to see out to the hustle and bustle down below an...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that we could choose to re-use our towel each day and even choose if we wanted to have our bed sheets changed each day or not.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Chancellor. Both times were excellent experiences. This is one of the older hotels in SF. As such, the rooms are small, and in some places the age shows. Overall the hotel is in excellent condition and sports very large bathtubs. The international staff is genuinely friendly. The restaurant staff is very attentive and remembered little details of personal preference.
The parking garage is very convenient, and also, public transportation, which is a better way to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Yes, the rooms are tiny and older, but you have all you need and more. The location is great! This is a perfect hotel for the single traveler or a couple that can share a tiny tiny bathroom. My room was quirky, but I liked the charm of the older building. The walk-in closet gave me a place to keep my luggage which helped make the room seem larger. The complimentary WiFi, in room refrigerator, and all day offering of coffee, tea and cookies in the lobby make the Chancellor a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19topquark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May and we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is so central and the staff are friendly and so accommodating. Because it's a family run hotel it feels more cosy and not stiff like some of the bigger chains. The rooms are a little on the small side but this didn't bother me. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing