We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
849 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would stay here again, though not go out of my way to do so. They have some nice touches. Definitely a nice tub for a bath, including bath salts and rubber duck. Deep and long tub. Shower was weak, so that's good. Good shampoo, but I buy the 99 cent kind at home. Room was small, but comfortable. Queen beds. You can pick a special pillow if you want (down, foam, buckwheat, etc...). They have a candy jar that they stock up. Cookies and coffee in the lobby, as well as apples. Parking is about a block away and $30 a night, so factor that in if you have a car. Home of the San Francisco Magic Parlor, which supposedly has daily shows if you are into that.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,909
    327
    47
    18
See reviews for
576
2,647
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel from which to stay for a short city break. Check was quick and friendly and the rooms are compact but the beds give you a good night's sleep. With cable car stops just outside its great for reaching all the main attractions (buy a muni 1,3, or 7 day pass to save money) although $6 one way is a rip off. Union square a 5 minute walk with loads of shops offers a great retail option. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the complimentary coffe,tea and cookies are a great when returning after a hectic day sight seeing. Overall a great hotel, we would definatley recommend a stay here and would definatley return if we go S.F again

Room Tip: Higher floors on the front are great for being quieter with a good view of the street and square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thevillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am so glad I read the Trip Advisor reviews and then booked the Chancellor Hotel. What a find! The location is excellent, right in the heart of Union Square!
The rooms are a little small and are on the older side (don't expect modern rooms like the bigger chains) but I loved the charm of the Hotel. I almost felt like I was staying in my own little apartment in the city. The Bed was SO comfortable!! The staff were all super friendly. The hotel also has free coffee all day long and yummy cookies at night

If you are considering this hotel just book it! You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pchhabra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel exceeded our expectations. The restaurant Lucques actually has many breakfast items that are better than Sears Fine foods next door. The coffee and tea is out 24/7 and is moved around in the lobby during the day. If you make a right out of the door and walk down the hill that will take you to the Bart pick-up (about 4 blocks). If you make a left out of the hotel going up the hill you will head toward Fisherman's wharf/ferry bldg etc). The cable car stop to head toward the wharf is across the street in front of Starbucks next to the Francis Drake hotel. This hotel will be 100 years old next year and it is obvious they take great care of the property and reputation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RtravelNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

we've stayed at the Chancellor several times over many years. We love it. You can't beat the location, the staff is friendly & helpful, the rooms are clean & comfortable, & they have a Pillow Menu!!! Alicia at the bar is great for restaurant recommendations, the concierge desk was very helpful too.

Room Tip: top floor with a great view of Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robib_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was coming to SF for both business (a conference at nearby Moscone Center West) and pleasure (several days of shooting photos alone before the conference, and being joined by my family afterwards). I wanted to stay at Union Square, and did not want to pay $300/nt at my conf. hotel. The Chancellor was the perfect solution. As many have stated, this hotel is very old and the rooms are on the small side, and no A/C. They do a great job of making you aware of this up front, and as long as you are fine with that the hotel is a great choice (I found it to have a lot of character). The front desk was very helpful, the elevators were fast and never left me waiting (often a problem in old buildings), and the rooms were clean (we had two rooms after my family arrived). The location was perfect (half a block from the square and easily walkable to Moscone) and the offside self-parking was easy. The rate for our rooms was around $225, but I booked 10 nights and called the reservation number on their website and got a rate of $180. The umbrella in the closet saved me on two rainy days, and the sourdough pancakes in the lobby restaurant were awesome (ate them every day w/strawberries, ask to be in Mau's section... an amazingly kind & helpful man). It was a great overall experience staying at the Chancellor... I will definitely stay here again next time. I can see why it is rated in the top 10 of SF hotels.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view of Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very relaxing and well worth the money. This place has a great location and if you are a baseball fan ask about there SF Giants packages. These baseball packages had everything your looking for in a trip

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatlenutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing