We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and accommodations for weekend stay in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #16 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and accommodations for weekend stay in San Francisco”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent weekend in SF attending conference. Recommended by friend about quality of rooms exceeded expectations. Location in proximity to Moscone Convention Center, public transportation, great restaurants, and shopping made this an excellent choice at a reasonable cost.

Green Features: Information to help save water and minimize environmental impact of stay was provided in a professional and helpful way.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,809
    1,950
    332
    47
    18
See reviews for
595
2,698
345
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent June 6th and 7th at this hotel as was very pleased with it. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was perfect, the location was next to union square and transportation right outside the door. Restaurants including sears diner, lori's and the Cheesecake Factory steps away. We did take a front facing room and noise was never a problem for us. Upon arrival our room had a card wishing us a happy anniversary along with chocolates and a bottle of wine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone not looking for a 5 star.

Room Tip: The windows in this hotel open to let air in, if you find it at all noisy you can just close them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsabouttime7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Return trip to the Chancellor was just as great as my first stay there last July. You really can't beat the location, and the value is unparalleled. This time around, we had room 1406, which is a corner room on the next-to-highest floor. Really loved the room, which was quiet and had everything we needed. Complimentary WiFi, a nice mini-fridge, super comfortable beds, and the quirky charm I loved on my first visit. We also enjoyed the free coffee, tea, and cookies available all day long. A special note of thanks to Rory, who was tending bar the evening we stopped in at Luques for a cocktail. He was lovely and gave us heaping bowls of yummy spicy bar snacks, because the popcorn machine (also a fab amenity) wasn't working. Check out my review of Luques breakfast, and also my restaurant reviews from this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the street if you like to sleep with open windows and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girl_from_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Welcome back and thank you!
When someone appreciates our quirky charm, they will usually have a great stay.

Thanks again and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were quirky (not dated just not ultra modern)and always clean, had all the necessities. Bathroom wasnt luxurious but absolutely fine for the money paid. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Fan worked well and in our opinion air con not needed as not hot enough!! Didn't get chance to eat there but daily cookies were lovely touch! The best thing was location, perfect to get to everything. We were more than happy with our stay here and loved San Francisco!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmag24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are exploring San Francisco this is an ideal hotel to stay at. Union Square is where all the large stores are (Macys etc.) and also a stop on the city sightseeing open top bus route.The hotel is also on a cable car route. We bought a 3-day muni pass for $22 as well as a reasonably priced shuttle to the airport from the hotel lobby, which gave us unlimited cable car trips and the use of buses - for example from the Golden Gate Bridge.
There was unlimited tea and coffee available free in the lobby as well as iced water, doughnuts and popcorn and a daily newspaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights early May as part of our honeymoon. A small, family run hotel in a fantastic location, couldn't wish for a more central position in the heart of the shopping district. There is also a tram stop across the road (but be warned, pretty expensive at 6 dollars per person for a short journey! More of a novelty than anything else but worth doing once). There are a large number of cafes and coffee shops for casual dining situated nearby but we found we had to go a bit further afield (towards bay area) to find the nicer restaurants (only a short cab ride away). Back to hotel, pleasant reception area with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. Theres also a small bar next to reception serving a selection of beverages. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was ok, clean but a little small and dated, particularly the bathroom. Also no air con, only ceiling fan and I can imagine it would be quite hot and stuffy in warmer weather. Overall, pleasant enough but could do with a bit of a revamp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateDon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I would like to offer a few counter-points to their comments.
Not great, but not too bad is what a 3 star hotel is. If great is a 5 star hotel and bad is the other end of the spectrum, then we are right in the middle at 3 stars. If you want a great hotel, pay more and go 4 or 5 stars. If you want a great 3 star hotel, at a 3 star price, we are it.

So how do we rate as a 3 star hotel? They write we are in a FANTASTIC location. We have a pleasant reception area with coffee, tea and biscuits (we call cookies). Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Using words like "fantastic" and "very" in describing two important factors of an above average hotel experience are not consistent with the overall rating in my opinion.

I don't think the rooms are dated. People should look at the pictures posted on this site-by real travelers and decide. There are some blemishes and that is what partially separates a 3 star hotel from 4 or 5 stars. Yes, the bathrooms are plain and very small. We even have that noted on our website so people will know what they are in for if they book us. Unfortunately, people don't research us before they book, or they are booking us with that knowledge, and then knocking us for it.

The fact that we do not have air conditioning should be well known as well. It is funny how most often when people complain about it they are not saying it was a problem for them at the time, but if it were warmer they imagine it could be an issue. Well, the climate of San Francisco RARELY makes air conditioning a necessity. Thus, the reason we don't have it. If San Francisco had a warmer climate, we would have air conditioning. Not everyone agrees with us, but we do not feel air conditioning is necessary at the Chancellor Hotel. Much of San Francisco agrees with us because they don't have it either. As long as those visitors that disagree avoid the Chancellor Hotel, everyone should be happy - that is my dream world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A very well positioned hotel with warm & helpful staff. Room coffee maker was superb. Many places to purchase meals nearby and a great coffee in Union Square. Walk to Market Square at the bottom of Powell to find excellent transport and stores of all kinds. Use the Lori's Share Shuttle from airport to keep costs down to $17 per head. The Chancellor sells tickets to California Academy of Science at a reduced price, so grab ticket from front desk before walking to trolley bus NO 5 at end of Powell/Market. This will cost you $2 - pay in correct change onboard - and get off at 8th opposite gate to Golden Gate Park.

Room Tip: I was in 1408, double room near the lifts but I did not hear them at all.
See more room tips
Green Features: water and fresh biscuits in foyer reduced the need for plastic bottles
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,070 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,597 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,862 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing