We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Met expectations”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a nicely renovated old hotel with no A/C. I stayed in room 504, which had no view, but otherwise was well-appointed. The temperature of the room was perfect this early week of June. Noise was not a problem, despite being on such a low floor. I stayed alone in this one king bed room. Some may consider it a little tight for two, but my wife and I would do fine. The room had a fridge, which was convenient. The closet was unusually large; if you had a baby, you could easily fit a crib in this space. There is a Walgreen's and BofA ATM directly beside the hotel. I believe that all of the rooms in this hotel are for 2 people only, and there are about 10 rooms per floor. Note the extra fees and taxes for room service, which make an apparent $9 breakfast not such a deal. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 504, which had no view, but otherwise was well-appointed. The closet was unusually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    1,983
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,741
349
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel has it all. Great location at Union Square, excellent service all around (desk, tour desk, restaurant staff, general staff) and "feels like home". Restaurant food is excellent (we had breakfast only) and restaurant staff is EXCELLENT. I cannot say enough good about this hotel. Definitely added to my first trip to San Francisco. Rooms are smallish, but more than adequate and very clean. The experience is lovely, friendly, helpful, but also very professional. STAY HERE!

Room Tip: We had a room with two twin (single) beds; rooms are smallish but more than adequate and very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location at union square but very small rooms and bathrooms. It's ok for a 2 nights stay but not more. Had a hard time to find space for our luggage in the room. Was able to open the fridge while in bed. If you are tall it will be hard for you to take a shower because of
Ask for a room on the upper floors because there's noise in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would say this is a good hotel if you are looking for an average room. The location was great, right in Union Square, and the service was also very friendly and efficient. The room is small and the bathroom is VERY tiny (2 people can't fit), but we had a room on the 14th floor so it was nice and quiet. The valet service is $40 per day, so it's not cheap, but it's better than having to self park in Union Square. It does take 20 minutes to get your car though so there are pros and cons. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were nice and soft. The room has a fridge but it would have been nice if they at least stocked it with a couple bottled waters. There is a computer and printer in the lobby for guest use so we are able to check in for our flight and print our boarding passes which was nice. Overall this room was fine for a one night stay but not something I would book if I was looking for a "special" experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Not really sure how they arrived at an average rating when they say the location was great, service was very friendly and efficient, the bed and pillows were nice and soft. Parking in San Francisco is expensive, but our parking is on low side of the average.

San Francisco has the best tap water in the country if not the world. We would not put bottles of water in the brand new mini-fridge we have in every room for two reasons:
1. The tap water is better than what you can get in bottles.
2. Single use water bottles are not something we believe in for environmental reasons.

I think these folks do not really understand that we are a 3 star hotel. That is a hotel in the middle between 1 and 2 stars & 4 and 5 stars. Thus, being a good hotel with average rooms is exactly what we should be. And, when one considers all the positives mentioned in the review, we are a pretty darn good 3 star hotel.

I think they missed the mark as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Being retired on the Monterey Peninsula, we spend most weekends in San Francisco at the Chancellor hotel - the great 3-star boutique hotel with a 5-star location! The staff reflects the warmth of a family owned hotel, focused on great value and return customers. We love the
breakfast room and menu - always under $30.

Comfortable rooms with requisite sitting chairs and table; great beds; and always immaculate.
The bar, with television, is cosy and congenial.

Out the door and you are in San Francisco 's living room: Union Square - shopping, theatre, dining. Recommend American Conservatory Theater and SF Playhouse.

Room Tip: High and back floors quieter - clanging Cable Car bells on Powell Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

the hotel is very confortable. We really enjoyed the location, close to public transport to go to/from the airport but also to all the major places in SF, we used it to go down in the Silicon Valley (Palo Alto) too and it's very easy.

We also really liked the complementary tea/coffee and snacks and didn't miss having an included breakfast.

The location is very good, close to all the shopping you might want to do and to chinatown, it's a short bus/trolley ride away from the touristic attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I came for two conferences in Stanford University plus 3 days visiting SF. The Chancellor Hotel was a perfect location for that part of the stay. Wonderful room (14th floor), very quiet and comfortable. Good experience at breakfast and lunch also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing