We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Outstanding customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The rooms could use some updating - especially the bathrooms - but the excellent hotel staff more than make up for that.

When I arrived, I discovered a small problem with my room. Staff were very accommodating, quickly finding another room and allowing me to preview it before changing the reservation. I should note the new room did not have any problems whatsoever - it would seem the issue was specific to the first room only. Throughout, the staff were courteous, professional, and eager to ensure I would get the most out of my stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who enjoy the charm of an older building and who appreciate the value of customer service. I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theynamedhimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,909
    327
    47
    18
See reviews for
576
2,647
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2013 and would have been happy to stay longer.

I described it to my friend as being a little like my nan's sitting room - but in a good way. Old furniture and character filled rooms with comfy beds are the order of the day. This is definitely not a stay anywhere chain hotel. Combined with a great personal feeling service I'd highly recommend this place.

It has free wifi, tea and coffee, newspapers and homemade cookies everyday which is a nice touch. There's a great little tour desk where helpful advice is dispensed and you can buy your Muni pass.

Location is perfect. Steps to Union Square as well as walking distance to Chinatown, market Street and the Theatre district. A tram stop outside and close to bus routes leading to all major attractions and a Bart station at the bottom of Powell which will take you to the airport in half an hour.

I loved it. Go visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeseman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I were recently in San Francisco for 4 nights. We had stayed at the Sir Francis Drake many years ago but after reading Trip Advisor, decided to book with The Chancellor this time. I have to laugh at the comments about it being an old hotel...San Francisco is old! I did see maintenance people working on various things so they seem to take pride in keeping the hotel in good condition. There were so many nice touches, coffee available 24 hrs. a day with real cream and different syrups available, apples at the front desk, cookies and some nights there was a popcorn machine by the bar. The bathrooms were small but adequate. There is a Walgreens just down the block that had fruit and Odwalla juices and all kinds of snacks. The location is perfect, two blocks from Union Square and close to everything else if you want to go on foot. Just bring good walking shoes, (tennis shoes) I only had one pair of flats and ended up buying another pair at the DSW shoe store two doors down. Didn't really interact with the staff at the desk much except for check in and check out but they seemed very friendly. (I observed them helping other hotel guests)

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience and I would recommend The Chancellor to anyone making the trip to San Francisco.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room that is not facing Powell St. The view may not be that gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Chancellor is a beautiful hotel in a great part of town, Union Square. We staged trips to see friends in Sonoma and around the city, and it was wonderful. Chancellor is a great choice. Knowledgeable, friendly, helpful staff, nice views, open windows. Wireless included, too. Restaurants too numerous to name within a lovely stroll. We couldn't recommend The Chancellor more highly. It was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green, green, green. Good stuff. The soaps and shampoos seemed to be organic and local. The complimentary wine was organic, too.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 5 night at The Chancellor and what a great choice i turned out to be. The hotel is in a great location on Union Square and close to lots of restaurants and shops. From its location you can walk everywhere and thats exactly what we did. Staff are friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was very tasty.

The room was loverly, clean and the beds were comfy. It was my partners birthday and before we arrived i emailed them in advance. On arrival in the room was a note wishing happy birthday and a bottle of wine and some chocolates which was a great surprise and something i wasn't expecting.

Great hotel and would recommend it. San Francisco is a beautiful city and when we return will stay at the Chancellor again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in superb location then I can thoroughly recommend this lovely compact hotel. I stayed here in April 2013 for six days with my daughter and can't fault the hotel or service for the price and location. In all honesty the hotel is what I as a European traveler would call a three star but why pay more for amenities at a hotel when just outside the front door everything that San Francisco has to offer is within easy reach.

From San Francisco Airport we took the Bart ($8.25) to Powell St Station and walked the three blocks up to the Chancellor Hotel, in my opinion a far quicker and cheaper option than a cab. As you walk up the slight incline of a hill you can see some of the shops and eating places that the area around Union Square has to offer.

On arrival you are greeted by a genuinely friendly smile from the front desk in the lobby where you can immediately refresh yourself with the complimentary tea, coffee, fruit, water and cookies if you wish. The rooms are small and a little bit dated in all honesty but kept exceptionally clean by the daily maid service. The free Wi-Fi is great and easy to access. There is a small bar whose prices are on a par other bars and restaurants in the vicinity and although I never ate at the hotel the food looked good and talking to other travelers tasted as good as anywhere else.

A walk down to the Ferry Terminal takes about 20mins and if you want to go to the waterfront the cable car stops outside the hotel. Before you return via cable car checkout the Bueno Vista bar at the cable car terminal where you can enjoy a great cocktail or one of the Irish Coffees.

Room Tip: If you want compleat peace and quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTheSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A lovely boutique hotel in a location central to everything we wanted. We walked EVERYWHERE from the hotel even though we had a car. We stayed for two nights before a drive down the PCH. The Chancellor offers a great rate with parking around the corner.

Stayed in room 500 and was surprised at how NICE it was laid out and how clean it was. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Free coffee (good too) and cookies all day was a nice treat. The bar was small but conducive to meeting guests from many countries. Bartender and bellman very knowledgeable about restaurants and directions.

We WILL stay here when we return for a NAPA to Vancouver BC driving trip.

What a find.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing