We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #17 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Near Union Square and easy to miss. The rooms are small but comfortable and well appointed. Most seem to have one queen bed. The bed and pillows are excellent. I asked for a very quiet room and the room is pretty quiet although I hear the band playing in Union Square. The staff seem friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soccer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,454 - 2,460 of 5,338 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for honeymoon from 30 Jan 2013 - 1 Feb 2013.

Fantastic place which is interconnected to all the nice places in SFO. Right outside the door you can see the cable cars and short walk to all the bus services on Market Street. Location totally wing it! Easy reach to Lombard, Piers and 2 shuttles to reach Golden Gate.

Restaurant on lobby level is a GEM! Good Price and quality.

Heart felt thanks to Chancellor Hotel team for the honeymoon welcome! Nice Sparkling White wine with chocolates and candy jar.

Though room is not too big (so I would not give full points for room), our luggage found a good neat home in the store area (together with hangers and ironing board)

Reception staff was friendly, beds/pillows super comfortable ! Wifi password easily available on the table.

Hotel has a nice aged charm to it.

We will definitely come back again!

Anthony and Janice =)

Room Tip: Rooms without views facing away from powell street are quiet. You do not need to drive, just go buy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnyloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for three days recently while on vacation. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are nice, though small (as we remembered from 20+ years ago when we last stayed here). We bought a package that included parking and $25 voucher/day for food, which we used for breakfasts (which were very good). The staff was friendly and helpful. A very good buy for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in April 2012. A fantastic boutique hotel. Reception staff were very friendly. I like the huge glass thing in the foyer full of iced water with lemon and limes. It became our first stop after a day of sightseeing.
Our room was a touch small, but neat, tidy and clean. I loved the deep tub, complete with rubber duck! A nice touch was a bath salts for free use. I also liked the walk-in wardrobe.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant a couple of times, and it was very nice.
The location can't be beat. Right next to Union Square, and the cable cars run right outside. Heaps of good restaurants around. If we were to comeback to San Francisco, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I arrived early and check in was no problem. The staff are friendly and the foyer is a nice welcoming place to wait for friends. The bar is fun at night and fills quickly sometimes. I had breakfast each morning and it was always nice. The waitstaff were friendly and efficient and remembered us for the whole week and were very kind when we were leaving. We stored our bags because our flight wasn't till the evening and had some drinks at the bar. They have a tour desk so you can book your airport shuttle from the hotel. Everything ran smoothly at this hotel. The room was bigger than I expected- after reading some reviews, but is just average size. The bathroom was clean and the shower pressure is good. Even though it was winter we did sleep with the window open, and in retrospect I should have asked for a room on the back of the hotel because of the noise, but you get used to it. (That is my only gripe- and I had been warned by other trip advisor reviews) But I wanted a view, and really wasn't in the room enough to see the view anyway! I would stay here again in a heartbeat, it is right on the cable line and during the week it isn't that busy. Union square is great for lunch and dinner, and the cable car will take you straight to Fisherman's wharf. So the location is ideal.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bentley101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I go to San Francisco quite often, and have always stayed in the Union Square area. I base my hotel choice on the best available price. This was my second visit to this hotel. Once again, I was very pleased with the hotel. The price was very good, the hotel was clean, friendly, VERY convenient, and quiet! I've been having problems with hotels recently, being too noisy. Especially smaller hotels like this one. But I was pleasantly surprised with just how quiet it was considering it's proximity to Powell Street and the cable cars. I didn't hear a peep. My room had a partial view of Macys, which is better than I can say for most of the hotels I've stayed at in the area. And for the price of the room, that partial view came as quite a surprise.
Since my last review, I feel like the the tourist desk/shop in the lobby has had a make over. I may be wrong, but If I remember correctly, that part of the lobby left a bad impression on me last time, and this time, I didn't seem to consider it such an eyesore.
As before, free cookies and coffee were offered in the lobby. In fact, the cookies were more accessible this time around. There is also a selection of complimentary tea.
The rooms are smallish, but not too bad. The room had a huge walk in closet, a mini fridge, the usual amenities, free wifi, a space heater, which we didn't need, even though it was January, a large bath tub with lovely bath salts, and a rubber ducky, and the hotel also offered a pillow menu! We didn't need to partake, even though I usually have complaints about the pillows in hotels.
We enjoyed breakfast in bed both days of our stay. Considering the prices of the local breakfast establishments, breakfast in bed was a good deal. And you definitely got your money's worth. No complaints there! I'd definitely recommend this hotel for service, comfort, location, price and convenience. It's close to shopping, transportation of all kinds, good food, entertainment, you name it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intrepid_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed there during december 2011, the staff is pretty friendly, we ordered a few stuff online and they received the packages and take them to our room with no charge for receiving them. You are just a block away from union square and all the wonderful places around it. You can go to the mall two blocks away. all day long they have snacks on the lobby, ie. cookies, apples, tea, coffee, etc., so sometimes when we arrived from a long walk to take a break on the hotel, you can just grab an apple and continue your day. There is a really nice place to eat next door, cheap and with really nice food...the best thing is that the cable car is just outside the door of the hotel, so you can just walk a few steps and you are there!! I would stay here again with no doubt!

Room Tip: Buy the san francisco city pass! You can use that to get on the cable car for nine days!!! It is che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,742 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $137 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing