We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chancellor Hotel Union SQ San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chancellor Hotel Union SQ San Francisco”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Would like to say what a lovely stay at a lovely hotel staff couldn't of been more helpful & would like to say a big thank you to Olga on reception for all her help with phone no's & booking Alcatraz. Joyce

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    1,983
    338
    47
    18
See reviews for
611
2,741
349
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were here for our anniversary and we treated with a few extras when I mentioned that when booking. The staff were excellent and referred us to a few great places to eat while our room was getting ready the day we checked in. (We went to Scala's across the street.) The decor was great and the bathroom amenities were unexpected, like the bath salts and rubber duckie! Everyone was very helpful and friendly, from checking in to the waitstaff. We have absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: There is a bit of street noise, so choose a room on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Chancellor from 3rd - 8th September 2012. This is a great hotel right on Union Square.It has free wifi and It was close to everything. It is an older property and the room we had on the 14th floor was smaller than the more modern hotels but very charming. Everything was spotlessly clean and there was a walk in wardrobe which had a safe and we could store our cases. The people we met at reception and the door staff were very helpful. We could have as much complimentary coffee, cookies and ice water, (which was served from a lovely glass urn which had lemons and or limes in) any time of the day or night. We were given complimentary one way, cable car passes too. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to beautiful San Francisco. We brought the duck home with us too. A brilliant start to our California adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1400 which is a twin room on the 14th floor which overlooked Powell Street. You co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Chancellor and had a wonderful time. The staff were freindly and helpful especially Olga and Faizan. The hotel rooms are small but very charmy, with complementary water, coffee and cookies in the lobby, we would certinaly return.

Ask about the free gift when you book (cable car tickets, free drink, etc..)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as with most San Fran hotels it is noisy on the street with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week as part of a birthday celebration and couldn't have stayed in a better place for location. All public transport, including train, easy walking distance from the hotel without going up and down huge hills! Major shopping areas also close by. As other people have commented, yes the room is small but we found the walk in wardrobe excellent for storing our suitcases and shopping and the room was perfectly sized for somewhere to lay your head. And speaking of laying your head the bed was very comfortable which makes a huge impact on your enjoyment of a hotel. We loved the extra touches like free wi-fi throughout the hotel, jar of lollies in the room and the delicious free cookies (available in the foyer), great for fuelling up at the end of a day out touring. All staff were very helpful and the activities desk in the foyer assisted us greatly with information on transport, tours, postage etc. If we had one criticism it would be the lack of a small fridge in the room (there is ice available on every floor and an ice bucket in the room) to be able to keep cold drinks etc but this is only a minor thing. Overall we enjoyed this hotel greatly and would definitely stay here again on our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a great 2-night stay at the Chancellor! The staff were super friendly, the room was perfect, and the location couldn't be beat! We had a large room on the 13th floor, and a view of Union Square. There's nowhere else we'd stay while in San Francisco!

Room Tip: Union Square is noisy, so the higher room I think the better, though their windows were pretty sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Chancellor for 4 nights in Sept 12 & it was a simply lovely hotel. The room was plenty big enough, very comfortable & had a walk in wardrobe which made the room feel tidier as we could store suitcases etc in there. The bed was huge & comfortable. The hotel is quite traditional rather than modern but it felt clean & well cared for. Complimentary coffee & cookies in the lobby 24 hours a day were very welcome.
The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff were friendly and all the guests seemed happy - didn't hear anyone complaining at all.
Fantastic location, right on Union Square. The trams stop right outside the hotel too.
Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you! I am very glad you enjoyed the hotel.

Luckily, we don't get too many complaints, so that is why you didn't hear anyone complaining. However, too many people don't complain to us when they have an issue. Instead, they go on here and express it. I wish they would tell us even if other guests hear will hear it.

Thanks again! I really appreciate your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing