We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #14 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our recent stay at the Chancellor matches all of our previous stays. We are welcomed at the door by the bellman and front desk personnel who are very helpful. The rooms are small as you would expect in an older, classic San Francisco hotel. They have the deepest tubs and rubber duckies to splash in the bubbles. Free wi-fi is great and faster than most hotels. The restaurant in the lobby is good for breakfast and not outrageously priced for a restaurant in San Francisco. I love that they have coffee, cookies and apples available 24/7 for the guests. Beds are comfortable but only queens, but they are upfront about this and since the rooms are smaller you would find it difficult to have a bigger bed. Great closets, with umbrellas to use if it rains. Just a friendly, comfortable, well located hotel in a fabulous city. We have been coming for over 20 years and still love it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel will pick up the noise from the trolley car that runs out front of t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,278)
There are newer reviews for Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,966 - 2,972 of 5,279 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Chancellor is an amazing, lovely botique hotel with smallish(who cares..part of the charm,Perfect for couples) rooms that are clean and the bed and pillows are so comfy..just what you need after a big day sightseeing in SF. Many thanks to Wes Tyler and his staff. Special mention to Matt on front desk for his help with the internet station. Great location with so much to see and do right on your doorstep. We will be back and YES we would choose the Chancellor again.

Room Tip: high floor facing macys for excellent city views
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmyseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were here last year and I kept meaning to do a review and never got round to it. Watching a film about San Francisco reminded me that I must do this.

Firstly before I even arrived The Chancellor had given me a great first impression as we ha booked our holiday for Fleet week without even knowing what it was and were surprised at how expensive the hotels were. Somebody suggested contacting The Chancellor to see if they had any offers or could do a special rate and they obliged.

The room was very charming with nice touches like a rubber duck. It is also a fantastic location. However it was the warmth and friendliness of the staff that we most appreciated. We were there when the Giants were in the playoff's for the world series. My husband has always said he didn't like baseball but is a sports nut and so was interested in why the whole of SF seemed to be buzzing. We sat in the hotel bar 1 night to watch one of the games and the bellboy spent the night explaining all the rules to him. We left SF with a Giants baseball cap and my husband is now a baseball fan for life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruwise77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Overall a great place to stay, location, service, accommodation. Everything you need! I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostinasia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Chancellor Hotel has a perfect location, as other reviewers have pointed out. They are right! A few steps from Union Square and the tram stop and just a couple of blocks from the Metro Station . The Hotel staff is nice and helpful, the rooms are small, but comfortable. I found the bed and pillows to be wonderful too.
It would be amazing if it had a continental breakfast included in the rate, but even with no breakfast, I believe the value/price relation is very good, just because of the location. They do have cookies in the front desk everyday and a complimentary hot drinks station. There are also coffee shops and restaurants very close by . Will definitely stay again at the Chancellor when I return to SF.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Powell street may be a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had a suite on the top floor and were amazed at the old architecture that surrounded the room. With the windows closed you could not hear the street noises but it was nice to hear the sound of the cable car going up and down Powell. The location was perfect to shop and to use the transportation system to do lots of sightseeing. The staff at the hotel, from the front clerks to the housekeeping, were very helpful, accommodating and friendly! We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: If offered an upgrade room 1502.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Absolutely perfect location....near to Union Square and also right next to a Tram stop. Cute, characterful room....little on the small side but I was fully expecting this and the room had all the key amenities. Lady on reception the day we checked out was charmless and blunt with me and lacked the friendliness of the lady who checked us in, but I'm from the UK so I'm more than used to this kind of customer services and I was amused rather than annoyed by her (not so sure that someone of a more sensitive disposition would have been as generous as me tho!!). Would definitely recommend the hotel despite this one-off tiny complaint!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzigane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,017 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $163 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing