We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Don't be put off by the appearance of this hotel's downstairs reception area or staircase, the rooms have been refurbished to a good standard and are very comfortable and spacious for a city center hotel. Walking distance to everywhere, good enough area, helpful staff. Well recommended for a short, budget city break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ellcee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,245 - 3,251 of 5,358 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon in California and spent 4 nights in the Chancellor Hotel. We thought it was great, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. You are greeted by a friendly porter man at the entrance who will take you bags up to your room. The hotel offers complimentary cookies, popcorn, tea and coffee and access to a computer and internet, although there is free WIFI in all rooms.

Yes the rooms aren't big, but ours was certainly more than adequate, we had an ensuite with a walkin wardrobe. There was a safe, an iron and ironing board, extra pillows and duvets. The bathroom was fine, perhaps a little dated looking but clean. We had a good sized flat screen TV and some complimentary water and sweets. The bed was also comfortable which made a welcome change from the overly soft beds we experienced on our trip up from LA.

The location is definately the best thing about the Chancellor. Your a stone throw away from Union Square, and there is always some event on in the Square. Opposite the hotel is the stop for the Tram line also. Right next door to the hotel is one of SF oldest restaurants called Sears which is a must visit especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank immortal_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Yes, the rooms are 'cosy' but in a city like San Francisco there's so much to see and do that you'll not spend long in your room anyway.
Stayed in one of the infamous low level, front facing rooms and I have to say the double-glazing works a treat and the room wasn't at all noisy.
The free tea and coffee in the lobby is a nice touch.
I only used the restaurant for breakfast but found the food quality to be good and reasonably priced. The staff in the restaurant were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_and_Daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was perfectly nice, big room.

Great location close to all the shops and the cable car station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I chose the Chancellor Hotel after reading all the positive reviews on TA and was not disappointed. Everything was just as described. I booked directly with the hotel and the communications were very prompt and helpful with our requests.
I stayed with my grandson in a twin room on the 7th floor. We could see Macys and Union Square from our window and hear the cable cars go past. It was perfect for us and the sounds from the street were not a problem, even with the window open. It added to the charm of the hotel and this great city.
I can't praise the staff enough, from the ladies when we checked in to the the lovely May who looked after our room for the two weeks. Special thanks to Mike who was so helpful when I needed to send a fax at 2.30AM, due to the time difference in England. All the staff on the front desk were so polite and helpful no matter how often we asked for advice,
We bought tickets for a 49ers game from them and the seats were great.
We booked a trip to Monterey from the tour desk. That was very handy. We didn't make use of the gym option as we were so busy with other things but it's a great free extra if it's your thing.
The free wi fi was a bonus, especially the free use of a PC and printer for when we had to book extra baggage to take home our purchases from the shoppers paradise that is SF. This is the first holiday ever that I only used one cab !! That was when we arrived from SFO to the hotel. Between the fab hotel location as so much was walking distance, and our 7 day Muni passes we must have covered most of the city .
Apologies for this review being long ! It bugs me when I've read the negative comments as they mostly mention things that people should be aware of when they book this hotel'
or are not about the hotel directly.
Keep up the good work Chancellor, You will def be my hotel of choice if I get the opportunity to return to SF.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sevillafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for the kind words. We really appreciate it. You never need to apologize for a long review when you are being so nice!

You made our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We just completed a 4 night stay in the Chancellor. We chose the hotel based on reviews on trip advisor.
With the hotel ranked in the top 10, it's fair to say that we had high expectations.
By far the best aspect of our stay was the location. It's right on Union Square so perfect for shopping and getting the cable car to Fishermans Wharf. We were even close enough to walk to the Wharf on a couple of occasions.
We found the hotel itself to be quite average. The service was fine and staff perfectly friendly.
The room itself was okay if a little small (although we were prepared for this from doing some research). We were quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom. It looked like the tub could have done with a good clean.
Overall we were satisfied with our stay. The location definitely made it worthwhile but still can't understand why it's ranked in the top 10.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

I am sorry you were disappointed. The reason we are in the Top 10 is because a vast majority of the people that stay with us are very pleased with their choice. 4% of you out there will not be happy after you stay with us. However, for an historic, 3 star hotel, based on my experience and knowledge, we are pretty darn good compared to the other 3 star hotels in San Francisco and around the world.

The tubs are clean. They are the original, claw foot tubs that are cast iron so they don't look like typical tubs in other hotels. They look different, but they are clean and people love them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights. We took the BART from SFO and alighted at the Powell St. station and walked about 10 mins to the Chancellor. There is also a cable car dropoff/pickup point opposite the hotel which provides easy access to move around the SF area such as getting down to Fisherman's wharf.

The hotel staff is friendly and the room is very comfortable, despite its small size. There is no air conditioning but the ceiling fans were surprisingly good at keeping the room temperature comfortable.

The location is also ideal for nearby shopping and there's also 2 walgreens nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triniflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,101 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $136 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing