We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #12 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Superior room, service and view. Lovely pool to swim in. Warm welcome every time I returned to the hotel. Complementary driver to within-city destinations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    408
    103
    43
    24
See reviews for
186
720
70
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh n. Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had a wonderful experience in this hotel although a bit pricey. The California street cable car stops outside and is only a block from the Powell / Mason cable car which runs between Fisherman's wharf and Market St below Union Square. The spa facilities are excellent it is nice to start the day with a Steam / Sauna / Whirlpool bath or a swim. The rooms are large and well appointed with a good view of the city, the beds are large and comfortable. We spent five days there and it provided a great end to our holiday. My advice would be to try and book early to get a good deal

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed there in May for 10 nights and really liked almost everything about it.
First very pleasant surprise was the booking rate (via an Internet hotel-booking site), which was stunningly low....so low that I don't have the guts to write it down here, beacuse it already made all my colleagues very jealous. I was also upgraded very easily to a very big room with an extra bed. The room itself contained a mixture of nice (real!)antique furniture, which was a big plus, compared to the somewhat old carpet and bathroom.
The service of staff and spa are excellent. I received a warm welcome upon arrival with a complimentary coffee and cookies tray, daily newspaper and shoeshine service.
This hotel is very worthwhile!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick123nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel has wonderful ambiance, service and large tastfully appointed rooms. The larger deluxe hotels cant compare in privacy and service with this small gem. Best spa in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyanneLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, CA, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed on our 2 year anniversary. We were automatically upgraded. We stayed in a suite which was huge. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable beyond belief. The view to the city was also breathtaking. The location is central enough but know that the climb up and down to Union Square is a tough one. The spa was amazing and clean. This hotel is graceful and well appointed. Nob Hill Cafe is great as well for inexpensive Italian food with the locals.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uneedtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed two nights this weekend with my mother for her birthday, and booked the Huntington based on TA reviews. We were not disappointed!!! I've stayed in a full range of hotels but this was the nicest one I've been in yet. When we arrived, we were greeted by the nicest doormen, and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. We were advised that we'd been upgraded (sssscore!) from a deluxe to a luxury suite, without even asking (I'm too shy to ask for these things usually anyway...) and our bags were brought up with us to the suite.

The suite looked as though it had been renovated the day before, it was gorgeous! (room 606). Very spacious and luxurious, the carpets felt like chenille under our feet, and the room had all the requirements, from fluffy bathrobes to L'Occitane toiletries. Our suite was facing the side street; we didn't have a sweeping view of the city, but we had a very nice view of the cathedral kitty-corner to the hotel.

I had my laptop with me at the hotel; the wireless fee was $9.94 per 24 hours and the connection was very quick. Also, we received a newspaper every morning, and our room service was served right on time both mornings by very friendly staff.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but we had drinks twice in the Big 4 Restaurant/Lounge. Don't be fooled, even though it looks like more of an 'old school' place (dark with lots of wood and old charm) the place was packed on both Friday and Saturday nights with 30-somethings and up. My gin and tonics packed a real punch (I'm not complaining) so I would think ordering doubles isn't necessary.

When we checked out we left our luggage with the reception for the day, and when we came back, we were free to use the spa change room to change, freshen up, and repack our things before heading to the airport.

We were very impressed with the staff; everyone looked as though they really enjoyed working there. All and all this hotel was so impressive I know I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmelieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leitrim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights while on Honeymoon in California. This is a beautful hotel. It is located at the very top of San Fran so be prepared for a good walk! It is about 5 blocks from union square and the hills are hard!!! The concierge and porters were extremly friendly and helpful. They were so knowledgable about the area and were always recommending to us good restaurants and bars. Nob hill cafe is one block away and is a really cute italian cafe. The one drawback about the hotel was that food was expensive-particularly room service. We only had breakfast one morning. The pool and spa area were lovely and very clean. As we were a honeymoon couple the management treated us to a bottle of champers and a lovely letter of congratulations. All in all we would recommend this hotel. Great rooom..great staff...great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,084 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
958 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing