We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, highly-personalized luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
204 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Small, highly-personalized luxury hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The Huntington is member of the "Small Luxury Hotels" - and it deserves it well. No name-tag bearing business guests, but style, classic charme and a highly-personalized service. And a breathtaking pool and spa area! One of the best 5-star hotel bets in San Francisco.
Location: On top of Nob Hill, across Huntington Park. Short walking distance (or cable car) to Union Square and restaurants. Neighborhood and location can't be better.
Building/public areas: Classic grandeur, with antiques and oil paintings in the lobby. San Francisco's best bar (very popular with locals).
Rooms: We had a freshly renovated, mint-colored room which was spacious, with a two-room marble bathroom and all modern amenities.
Pool and Spa: Just beautiful. The indoor pool could be a little larger, but it is just a wonderful area with great views, an outside terrace, a gas fireplace, complimentary beverages and fruit throughout the day, sauna, steam room.. everything you want.
Service: We loved the Huntington's service. Everybody was most welcoming. We always had chats with the bell boys and they gave us good tips. Extra-wishes were easily satisfied.
Dining: We had no chance to dine at the Big 4 restaurant, but breakfast was always excellent. And the bar. The bar! The bar!! Outstanding.
Value: We got the room at an unbelievably good rate. Valet parking is convenient but expensive. If you want to save $7 per night, you can park your car by yourself in one of the two adjacent public garages. WiFi cost $9.95 per 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    406
    103
    43
    24
See reviews for
186
718
70
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

The hotel is beautiful and much more charming than most. But I also love it because they think of the little things, like an iPod dock, selling the NYTimes at the front desk, having a fanstastic staff (especially Jason the doorman who gives great advice on places to visit in and around the city), yoga or Pilates at 8am in the gym on the first floor, and a beautiful pool and balcony overlooking the city. Don't forget your bathing suit.

We were upgraded to a room on a high floor overlooking the city - it was incredible.

There's a piano player in the Big 4 restaurant every evening; it's a great spot to get a drink though it's not cheap.

There aren't a lot of restaurants or shops immediately around the hotel, but it's very central and across from a beautiful park, the Union Pacific club and Grace Church Cathedral (which has a Peet's Coffee in the basement across the street from the Huntington).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank drabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I will never stay anywhere else while visiting "The City". Everything was perfect from the bellman to the spa.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickiinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I love the Nob Hill location....this hotel is one of my San Francisco favorites....it has an understated charm and elegance that maintains the atmosphere of earlier eras but is up to the high tech amenities of today. We were automatically upgraded to a larger room without even asking. Staff were friendly. The Big 4 bar is a great way to end an evening out with a nightcap.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our 15th wedding anniversary trip. I had booked a superior room, but when we arrived for check in they were all taken. So they upgraded us to a park-view suite! That totally made our whole week-end. The room was fantastic. The hotel is beautiful. The lobby is very intimate and inviting. All the staff were really warm and friendly. The location is the best in the city, right across the street from the park and Grace Cathedral on the very top of Nob Hill. I would absolutely stay here again. Even if I hadn't gotten such a fantastic room, the staff, the location, the warm decor make this a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, but found the walls between rooms to be surprisingly thin and we heard a lot of noise from the neighboring room. We even got an upgrade to a suite (because of the noise) and found that we could hear our neighbor's phone conversations and TV usage.

Hotel was nice and relaxing otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank listrajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We booked this at the last minute and moved here from the Westin Market (a generic upscale hotel). We got our room for only $150 a night with breakfast, so it was an incredible deal. The Huntington is on Nob Hill which is really set apart from other neighborhoods and very quiet. I love that since around Market the hotels are rather rough and busy and you have to contend with all the homeless. Yes, the carpets are faded and our closet door had issues. Our main complaint was the bed. It really needs replacing. Should be on the list as they do have new-looking, huge flat screen TVs. If you overlook these flaws, you see the charm of the restaurant and lobby, the unique rooms, the views, and the outstanding staff. The staff were all "mature", but they really know how to do service. I was also impressed with the housekeepers who kept the rooms very clean. They even vacuumed! That isn't something that hotels do on a daily basis anymore. If you go to the Huntington with an open mind and appreciation for character and not the present-day generic luxe that has taken over the hotel world, you will enjoy the quirky and charming Huntington. Oh, the person who complained about it being remote "up on a hill" is right; however, they have a free car service which we took twice! It is also directly on a cable car line!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
952 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing