We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every second of it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved every second of it”
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel is a gem! Right on top of Nob Hill you will find this small and individually run place. The best of it is its staff. Everybody was extremely friendly and helpful. Even though I only stayed 2 nights, everybody in the front hall new my name - which makes such a difference, because you feel instantly at home. I had the best pancakes (raspberry) in ages for breakfast. The bar has live piano music, which gives the small hotel a real "grand" feeling. Rooms are good in size with a traditional decor. Now the best however is the Spa, where hotel guests have free access to. It has an outside terrace overlooking San Francisco's skyline. You can use the pool and/or jacuzzi, steam room, sauna or just relax. Again, staff is incredibly helpful there and you can order some good comfort food or salads, and they even offer an extensive drinks menu. Heaven!
I cannot wait to go back...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melachocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    402
    101
    43
    24
See reviews for
185
706
69
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I had the choice between this hotel and the Hilton. Some reviews on the internet warn against hotels downtown, so I decided for the Huntington.
Still, if you are not a millionaire, you'll have to go downtown anyway. The Huntington hotel has the inconvenient of being high up the hill.
I really regretted my choice... If I could choose again, I would have chosen an hotel downtown.
About the hotel: the rooms are good but not as luxurious as in most 4 star hotels. The lobby is rather small and the swimming pool tiny. The staff is nice, but the tip-searching behavior is kind of tiring.
Watch-out: the tax is 14%!!!!

  • Liked — The view from de room
  • Disliked — Far from the center, expensive, hidden costs (tax for the stay)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crism_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSF, General Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
The Huntington Hotel is indeed located atop Nob Hill in a beautiful neighborhood (as mentioned on our website), and offers an ideal location for visitors to call home while they enjoy San Francisco. As an independently-owned boutique hotel, our intimate lobby offers a welcoming feel and adds to the residential atmosphere of the hotel. Our staff – a number of whom have been with us for many years – is known for their outstanding, unobtrusive service. As for hotel taxes, the 14% rate is mandated by state and local laws, and is not determined by hotel management. Any visitor to San Francisco would incur the same hotel tax rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We were in SF for a meeting and stayed at the Huntington for 4 nights. The hotel is definitely "faded glory" and not worth the $315 price tag. The room (deluxe) itself was more spacious than what one would get at the Marriott and the bathroom was nice. However the furnishings were old and worn. The carpets in the common areas and the room were worn and stained. There was not always a doorman to get the door. The building itself is old SF so it has some charm. Since we were at our meeting from 7 AM to after 10 PM, there was not an opportunity to use the spa which was probably what the mark up was for. I would prefer that there is a base price with the use of the spa as an add on. Even for SF the room did not justify the price.

  • Liked — nob hill location
  • Disliked — need a facelift
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ALee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Happy to return to the Huntington after several years for an overnight stay. Located right on Nob Hill, centrally located to shopping, sites and restaurants. Catch the cable car right out in front. Rooms are clean and well furnished, with large bathroom. Fiends and I both enjoyed spa services, though a bit pricey. Recheck website or travel websites before travelling, prices change from time to time.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I was booked into this 1920s vintage hotel on Nob Hill for a business meeting. And frankly I had a terrific experience. The location is outstanding with cable car service literally just outside the front entrance. You can get just about anywhere in less than 10 minutes.

The lobby is rather small in keeping with the original time period of construction. And the rooms generally are as well. I had what they referred to as a luxury suite on the 11th floor and it was rather large for a vintage hotel (see video of Room 1103).

The bed had a firm mattress and not the soft type you find at most Hyatts, Hiltons & Marriotts. But frankly it added to the charm of the stay. There is actually a still operational mail chute by the elevators.

I propped open the window in my shower and enjoyed a splendid view to start the morning. I can't recall the last time I could make a statement like that regarding a shower and shave.

The meeting rooms were rather tight but served their purposes for a meeting of 15.

The bell staff were attentive and friendly. I could live without the $45 a day valet parking charge. But on Nob Hill it is to be expected.

I would certainly enjoy a return visit with my wife at a future date.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlyFox_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Really liked the hotel, good service, great room and helpful staff!
The Spa was great! Had a yoga class at 8 a.m that was great!! So Californian!! Lovely bar.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tullamoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

My husband and I recently spent four nights at The Huntington Hotel and found it to be among the best small hotels that we have ever stayed at. Our trip was for pleasure and the Nob Hill location provides central access to many areas in the city. The ambiance of the Hotel, public areas and hotel rooms, are understated and elegant. The staff couldn't have been more gracious and accomodating. We enjoyed using the facilities at The Nob Hill Spa, which is attached to the hotel, during our stay. Next stay I plan to book a massage. We dined in the hotel restaurant, The Big 4. Very good. We especially enjoyed the pianist in the adjacent lounge.

This hotel reminds me very much The Stanhope Hotel in Manhattan that we stayed in six or eight years ago. I think that hotel has since been converted to private apartments.

  • Liked — the staff, the size of the hotel, the amenities and general atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing