We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel closing for several month renovation in Jan 04”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed over the weekend, for three nights just before Christmas. We stay here a lot, and love it, and because the hotel's been purchased by a Chinese hotelier, we wanted to stay again before they close and remodel it. Recent reviews are probably reflective of the pre-closing changes in service and furnishings left in the rooms at this point; the internet charge is new. Staff are anxious about being out of work for months, I'm sure.

We went up to the 8th floor to view the remodeled hallway, and were astonished to find carpet in shades of black and grey with red (!) accents, and small crystal chandeliers with red (!) accents, room number signs in black and red. It reminded us both of a brothel. It is clear they are changing the hotel utterly from its former British influence.

We've enjoyed the Huntington for many years for its fine service, elegance, local and long ownership, peaceful air, large rooms overlooking Grace Cathedral and Nob Hill Park, and complimentary tea service upon arrival. Red and black won't do it for us, but it might for whomever the new owners are courting as guests.

We had breakfast downstairs and enjoyed it very much; found it priced about average for the area. We also enjoyed the pianist in the bar in the evenings, and the understated holiday decorations were beautiful and elegant.

I visited the spa for a wonderful cinnamon-nutmeg scrub and a cup of tea; the spa is always lovely and the small indoor pool an oasis in the city, with a great view. I'm sure we'll continue to visit the spa, but sadly, perhaps not the hotel when it reopens in late Spring.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Nob Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Quite disappointed. The hotel has an extraordinary location on Nob Hill, but it is tired and the service is average. I was in a Star Suite: the room is huge and comfortable, but empty (look at the pictures): seems to be in the desert. Wi-Fi at a charge (10 USD) per item, so if you travel with smart phone, ipad and laptop, you have to pay triple.
The breakfast is really bad. They don't have a buffet, only "a la carte": for a full breakfast you have to be ready to pay 50 USD for average quality and below than average service.
If you arrive by car, be aware that the parking costs 46 USD per day; however the valet parking team is professional and efficient. The concierge is always doing something else on his computer, so you have to wait. And wait. Didn't experience the SPA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Van_Den_Budenmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mr. Van Dem Budenmayer,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We value all feedback from our guests, as we use it constructively to maintain and improve our hotel. I'm glad to hear you appreciated our excellent location on Nob Hill. Our address affords us spectacular views of the city while still being within walking distance to downtown and union square. That being said, parking does come at a premium here. In regards to your other concerns: we are currently undergoing a major renovation; all of the rooms will receive a make over, and the wifi system is being amended. The Big 4 restaurant is under new management, and changes are being made to the breakfast menu. On behalf of the hotel, I do apologize that your experience with us fell below your expectations. I'm quite sure we can provide you with a better experience; please come and see us after we re-open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I like staying on Nob Hill and wanted to stay at the Huntington for a change. Truly, the hotel is excellent. I arrived after an overnight train trip from Seattle and the train arrived at around 9am. Arrival was slightly marred by the fact that the room was not available - a common issue one finds when traveling in America. However the very friendly and helpful door men and bell staff more than made up for any inconvenience by storing my luggage until I could access my room. The room was beautiful, with a good view, and comfortable, spotlessly clean. The management sent a lovely welcome gift which was appreciated.
I have one gripe, though. When trying to access the wifi in the room, I found that it came with a $4.50 price tag (probably plus the usual state tax!). Why a hotel that charges around $500 a night has to charge its guests for wifi beats me. It seems so nickel and dime. The wifi is free if one wants to access it in the lobby, not a very convenient option.
All that said, the hotel is beautiful and in a beautiful location with service that is well above standard.

Room Tip: Internet is free only in the lobby. I complained. You should, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamarindwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Huntington Hotel is a nice hotel in upper San Francisco in Nob Hill. Is has a very famous spa, that i didn't use, nice rooms but poor room service. The room service does not work 24 hours. The staff varies between very nice and not very nice.

Room Tip: Prefer a high room with nice views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JozeCandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Candido,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the city views. In regards to the room service, I'm terribly sorry that it was not up to your expectations. Room service currently operates from 6am through 10pm, however we're considering expanding those hours in the near future. Regarding the staff, I hear your concern, and will address it immediately. We often receive kudos for our staff and the service we provide; I will ensure that such service is entirely consistent moving forward. Please come back and see us again after the renovation, I am quite confident we can bump your experience up from four to five stars.

Thank you,
Will Miller
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We returned almost 2 years to the day since our last visit, this time for a 5 night stay, and were delighted to see nothing had really changed. We were given a corner room on a high floor overlooking the Mark, Fairmont, PUC, Huntington Park and Grace Cathedral. The room, though not a suite, was massive by any standard. This place has an ambience which I hope the renovation will not alter. It's timeless, elegant and though the public areas are not what you'd call spacious the attention to detail and levels of service are beyond compare. We breakfasted every day at the hotel and had dinner there once. The food and the service are excellent at either end of the day. A special mention should go to Angie, who oversaw the restaurant in the mornings; she remembered us from 2 years ago and is the most polite, friendly and accommodating host you could imagine. This hotel has all the amenities you could want, is wonderfully situated away from the hustle and bustle of Union Square but is small enough to treat each guest as if he/she really matters. That's why we came back, and why we'll go back again just as soon as the opportunity avails itself. And what a thrill to be there this year during the America's Cup!!!

Room Tip: Being on a hill, you'll get a view of some sort but we prefer views to the front. Book direct an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Huntington is perfectly located on Nob Hill. The hotel has provides a nice personal atmosphere as opposed to the larger hotels in the neighborhood. The Big Four Restaurant and bar is a San Francisco classic, complete with a fireplace and definitely worth stopping for a meal or a drink. The hotel has plans to renovate in 2014. Our room was nicely appointed and roomy, but the renovation will improve the freshness. We had a nice view of the city. There was easy access to the Spa and the sauna and exercise room was complimentary to hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Meister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location on Nob Hill. You can park nearby at the Episcopalian church for 25 overnight. Bar is great but food is not cheap. Service at the hotel is well done and the rooms are large for SF. Also, a nice small workout area that has never been crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ek1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,460 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $222 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing