We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #14 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I could live here”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

For our anniversary, my husband and I decided to spend a few days in the city. We reserved a junior suite at The Huntington Hotel. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a spacious suite that was probably bigger than many city apartments. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome and appreciated. Our suite had a full size sitting room, a small kitchen, and our favorite feature, a window in the shower. Everyone from the front desk, to the bellhop was very helpful, friendly, and pleasant. We visited the adjoining Nob Hill Spa twice, and the staff there was equally as nice.. I received two massages and my husband used the indoor pool and sauna. We had a fantastic dinner at The Big Four restaurant, and enjoyed continental breakfast there as well. Conveniently located within walking distance from Union Square and Chinatown, we got in some exercise and sightseeing on foot. It was the perfect mini vacation and we will most definitely be returning in the future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avalon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    402
    102
    43
    24
See reviews for
185
707
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have the distinct privilege of staying in this hotel for just one night on a stop- over to visit my daughter.

As soon as I stepped into the door, I was literally in another world of quiet elegance and understated charm. The receptionist at check-in, concierge, doorman were most attentive. I love the rooms with attention to details with all the necessary amenities in the bathrooms. The decor must be new; beautifully furnished inside a old, historic building. There were many magazines laid out for reading; it was simply a luxury just being inside the room without having to leave the room.

The breakfast service at the restaurant was a must for the experience of being in a rich surrounding with crisp white table cloth. I enjoyed particularly the emerald-colour leather couch or chair. It was formal and proper.

Walking around the spa area, swimming pool, outdoor terrace, rest areas allowed another view of this hotel. It was like a little oasis, so well hidden and was something one would look forward returning to another time.

Room Tip: I love room 1110, it's a big room, like a suite but without a separate living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaiian Islands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had not been back since the Hotel was sold and we were happy all has remained the same. Stayed a week and was sad to leave. Had Dinner at The Big Four, the best food on The Hill we went twice. We hope to go back before New Years for more shopping. The Hotel car to downtown is helpful Monday-Friday. Chinatown is just down a bit after too much dim sum got a cab back to the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Old-Lahaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Old-Lahaina,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your positive experience with us. We love hearing from guests that are intimately familiar with our hotel. You mentioned you were interested in coming back to get your holiday shopping done; a fantastic idea. We've recently partnered with Neiman Marcus and created an exclusive package available to our guests that will make your holiday shopping a breeze. Details are available on our website. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a Nice older hotel which also needs some infrastructure work- e.g. elevators. Staff was great. We had nice meals in the restaurant- which is very old school in design and look. American Express platinum card holders receive significant benefits which are valuable and recognized by the hotel staff.


Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Stone 54,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and our Big 4 restaurant. As for the elevators, we will be replacing them first thing next year during our grand renovation. You'll be pleased to know we intend to preserve the classic elegance of the Big 4, and our staff will continue to provide the first class service you've come to expect. Please come and see us again and after the update!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here using Platinum American Express and really got a lot
extra. We did receive an upgrade to a jr Suite, huge and really gorgeous!
We had a wonderful breakfast which was part of the Platinum reservations
as well as a ride to the airport with a car and driver. The rate was very good
compared to other Nob Hill hotels. Small luxury hotels property, just perfect
in every way. Staff very well trained and friendly. Will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFamilyOf4FromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We checked in for 3 nights here. When we got to our room, there was no drinking water—I don't mind if there's no complimentary water but at least couple bottles for us to drink and charge to the room? Then, I went down to ask the front desk where I can get some water. They told me to go buy some at the spa reception desk. I ended up bought four small artesian water—$2 each. Little that I know we could have walked to into the pool/spa facility and get ice water or tea there. We stayed for 3 nights and only got two bottles of water on our first night after the turndown service.

Our room were on 11th floor and facing the city, all the windows in our room allow for a nice sunlight and the wind to come into the room—who doesn't love the light and fresh air! The fact that our room is in the corner, isolate us from all the noises from other rooms. The room is very clean from the floor to ceiling and even all the windows. The AC is a bit loud but it helps block out the outside city noises at night.

I love the spa/pool facility. They have both sauna and steam room which are both great, especially the steam room that has a nice scented oil smell. I got the scalp & skin and a foot scrub treatment which was amazing, the therapist was very professional and well skilled—knows just the right pressure to apply.

All the staff are helpful and friendly. Except one guy at the front desk who charged us $30 when we wanted to get another key card because we lost one. Lame!

The hotel is located in a great area away from the city craziness, but also walking distance to many good places to eat and very convenient when it comes to public transportation.

Overall, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are bright and airy. Higher floors has great views or the city (request a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayaQueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear SayaQueenBee,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is so helpful for us to view our hotel from the guests' perspective. I am very sorry to hear about the issues regarding the drinking water and lost key. It is our policy that we provide our guests with complimentary water at Turndown service. If however you had a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on your door, then you would not have received water. Moving forward, our front desk will be instructed to send more water up to your room if you didn't receive it for any reason.

In regards to the lost key issue, we do not charge our guests for lost or additional keys. We do charge a $30 fee if a 3rd person is staying in the room. It sounds like a misunderstanding; I have addressed the issue with the folks at the front desk, and it won't happen again.

I'm glad to hear that overall your stay with us was 5 stars, that you enjoyed the spa and your fabulous suite. Our location atop Nob Hill does allow our rooms an exceptional amount of sunshine and fresh air that other hotels in the city just don't get. I have ensured that the problems you experienced will not happen again. Please come back and see us soon.


'm glad to hear that overall your stay with us was 5 stars, that you enjoyed the spa and your fabulous suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Huntington is a classy stylish hotel which manages to combine the right amount of old world charm without being in any way pretentious. We had fantastic service from the first moment we went there. We were upgraded to a lovely top floor suite with amazing views. The breakfast was of excellent quality but what makes the hotel exceptional are the people we met.
Angie was incredibly sweet and helpful at breakfast and our little girl loved her..Also the concierge service was brilliant.
Particularly knowledgable was Rick Porcella who practically helped us every single day with advice on various restaurants, walks and interesting things to see.
So was Chris.
All the staff were very helpful and that's what made our stay amazing
We would love to go back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing