We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Huntington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Huntington Hotel during July 4 -7 2013. Amazing hotel for family or just for a couple. The service is stellar and it is a five minute walk to Union square. A 15 minute walk to China town and Little Italy. A 25 minute walk to Fisherman Warf. All the walking didn't bother us because you are constantly seeing amazing buildings. Walking is highly recommended to absorb and sight see everything. Back to the hotel, at 5 pm the have complementary snacks and piano playing is divine. The spa which being a guest you have access to the pool, Jacuzzi, the sauna and the steam room. The beds are beyond comfortable! We will be back and this hotel will be our hotel to come back to !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    391
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
176
688
66
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Things I love about this place:

The bar (and bartenders) at night. A great place to gather
The Location. Walking distance to everything
The Park View Rooms. Beautiful View of the park. Loved people watching from my window in the morning

Things I did not love about this place:

You can hear EVERYTHING that happens in the room next door. I tried to stuff a towel under the door so that I could block out the sound of the neighbor's hairdryer. You can hear entirely too much from the bathroom....

There was not a desk in my room. I was there on business and needed to get a lot of work done. There was no where to put my computer... and no plug in's either.

There is no coffee in the room. This is a big problem for me as I drink coffee first thing every morning. They did have room service where you could purchase coffee... for $10.

Basically a love/hate relationship.

Room Tip: If you want to work while there make sure you ask for a room with a desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Candy R.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the scene in the Big 4 bar in the evening. It's definitely a local favorite! Our Park View Rooms are certainly very popular for the same reasons you mentioned -- a great view of Huntington Park and Grace Cathedral, and perfect people watching.

Regarding the things you didn't love about your visit to the Huntington, thank you for bringing the noise from the room next door to our attention. We'll address this issue with our Engineering staff to see how we can remedy it for future guests. I'm sorry that ordering coffee was an inconvenience rather than having it in the room, and that it was uncomfortable for you to get work done in your room. We'll certainly take your comments to heart and look at how we can fix those issues as well.

I do hope that you enjoyed your stay at the Huntington Hotel overall, and I sincerely hope that you'll join us again for a relaxing stay upon your next visit to San Francisco.

All the best,
Kellie
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

When I arrived at this hotel I had been camping for 3 weeks so it was a real luxury stay. I was completely shattered and needed somewhere to completely chill out. My room was large with everything I could possibly want. Very comfy bed and a lovely bathroom with great toiletries. There was also a large wardrobe and a fridge which came in handy for drinks. It was a complete contrast to camp sites and very welcome indeed!
The spa was to my mind completely overpriced so I didnt go in there which was a shame as I would've loved to enjoyed some time there before exploring the city. I dont mind paying for hotel spas but this was too over the top price wise.

My partner few out the same day I arrived in San Francisco to join me for my last leg of touring California and it was a great hotel for a couple to enjoy some luxury and escape the busy city. We even enjoyed a turn down service each night which was a lovely unexpected gesture.

The hotel itself is very well maintained and luxuriously fitted. A more genteel feel than many modern hotels although I did find that we were looked down on by the staff at times. None more so than in the breakfast room by a waiter who clearly thought he was above serving us! It wasn't even that great for what we paid. I guess we weren't the usual rich clientele they were used to!

Location wise it was well away from the sea front at the top of some very steep hills.This was not really a problem though as we used the cable cars and taxis. We did walk back from Fishermans Wharf the second night and we certainly felt it in our thighs the next day!

I did enjoy our stay at this hotel and we got a very good price considering we'd chosen to stay 3 nights over the busiest weekend that year (Americas Cup and an Armed Forces Celebration Weekend!). We have some great memories of San Francisco though and this hotel was overall a great base for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Vanessa S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Huntington Hotel. We're happy that you chose us for a relaxing respite after 3 weeks of camping. That's quite a feat! I'm pleased that you were happy with the size of your room, the comfortable bed, the turn down service, and the bathroom amenities. Regarding the Nob Hill Spa, were you aware that as hotel guests you had complimentary access to the spa's facilities, including the indoor relaxation pool, outdoor patio, workout room, steam and sauna rooms, and serene Zen Room? It sounds like it would have been just what the doctor ordered after a long camping trip!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us overall, but I'm sorry to hear that you felt looked down upon by some staff, particularly at breakfast in the restaurant. That is certainly not what we want our guests to feel when they stay with us -- we strive to be our guests' home away from home in San Francisco. Thank you for bringing this service issue to our attention. We'll be sure to address it with our staff so we can improve our service level and make sure that all of our guests feel welcome at all times.

We do hope to be your home base again for your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you for staying with us, and we wish you safe and happy travels!

Cheers,
Kellie
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is olde world charm but with excellent standard large rooms with good facilities. Just a 10 minute walk (downhill) to Union Sq and a few minutes from the tram stop the location is excellent for tourists & business whilst being quiet at night. The restaurant is very expensive and wuite dark for dining especially at breakfast.
Spa and pool area are really great but the staff don't like if you splash in the pool as they have to come out and mop up (design fault in there somewhere?). Small outdoor sun area with only space for about 6 people at any time.
Overall excellent value for money and really high standards in an hotel that has a really nice individual style

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel made a very good trip an over the top experience for us. Joan at the front desk was extremely accommodating and made sure that our stay was excellent. There was a bottle of champagne awaiting us in our hotel room welcoming us to San Francisco & The Huntington.

All the staff was great in making sure we knew the ins and outs of San Francisco so we didn't find ourselves without a way to get around this very hilly city. We definitely plan on coming back to San Francisco and would only be too happy to stay at the Huntington again. Also, the area is at the top of a very big hill (Nob Hill) but a Cable Car / Trolly stop is right in front of the hotel so it's not as inconvenient as one may originally think. Enjoy your stay. We did!

Room Tip: Every side has a great view but ours had a view of the Bay Bridge and Downtown facing the South of N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTradr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay. The Huntington was an apartment converted many years ago. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings. Our room was on the 6 floor and had a wonderful view of the park and San Francisco Bay. The Nob Hill location is prestigious and about as good as it gets. The wooden bar has an old San Francisco feel. Cozy, dimly lite, and friendly. The Piano Player has been there for more than 20 years.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel located in the Nob Hill area (above Union Square) is quite a treat. This is what a real hotel and spa should look and feel like. I love the details and effort from this hotel. Nothing pretentious, fine quality hotel that is worth spending money for. Huntington - I'll see you again.

Customer Service
- Friendly and consistent
- Doorman knowledgable of whereabouts and can guide you to nearby to dos.

Room
- Our room (408) had an amazing view overseeing Union Square
- Large and clean room
- Comfortable beds
- Bathroom was perfect - great amenities and that water flow from the shower head - my my!
- The sunlight hitting the bathroom offered a warmth and great natural lighting.
- Large closet space
- Beautiful chaise
- Simple and elegant interior design
- Great variety of magazines offered
- We just stayed for the night but the house keeping team did polish up our room (without request) and came back to a clean room with water bottles near the bed side (now that's commendable service)
- Local newspaper available on request

Spa
- Beautiful and clean
- Steam Room and Dry Sauna - perfect
- Great pool for non swimmers and divers that is...
- Meditation room! (relaxing and what else? Delicious trail mix offered!)
- Outdoor balcony with an amazing view and good amount of sun.
- Fruits/Iced Tea/ Hot Tea available for you to enjoy
- Attentive staff who is always around in case you need anything.

Location
- Nob Hill area (above Union Square) totally walkable to Union Square, but quite hilly - so if you have fancy footwear - plan accordingly.
- Quiet
- The view! The view! The view! Depending on what room you are in, of course.

Other amenities offered by the hotel (without reviews since we opted out)
- Massage, Facial, etc...
- Gym
- Restaurant

Areas for Growth
- Lobby is a bit dark
- Full length mirror in room

Thank you Geraldine and Huntington hotel for your service and hospitality. I enjoyed my time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_TriNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing