We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and worth every cent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a stunning hotel. It's not cheap, but we felt it well worth the price.

The hotel is a beautiful old building, gracefully fitted out and very well maintained. The rooms are delightful, large and very comfortable. The walk-in wardrobe space is huge and the bed and pillows are quite possibly the best we have ever experienced. The location is superb, the staff members helpful and friendly, and the hotel's on-site Nob Hill Spa as good as you will get anywhere.

It's a shame that the hotel persists with paid internet - even worse, per device! - and the intense shower head is not to everyone's taste, but those are minor quibbles in an otherwise excellent experience.

The loss of the Huntington mansion in the 1906 earthquake is to the gain of every San Francisco visitor looking for something a bit different and very special.

Room Tip: The hotel's restaurant is very good, but if you're looking for something different, check ou...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Huntington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

A hotel with a history.Everything in the hotel oldfashioned and reflects to the twenties and thirties.
Pleasant atmosphere with friendly staff .The spa ,the rooms,the restaurant and everything else are of high quality.The location of the hotel is in a quiet area,but the tramstop is close to the hotel and the main shopping area is in walking distance.For us the hotel was a discovery.Strongly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fabulous hotel at the top of Nob Hill, right across Huntington Park. The room was spacious and elegantly furnished. Room was quite and I got excellent sleep. The hotel is right on the California St. Cable Car line which was convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. I don't think I have ever been treated so well by a hotel staff. I enjoyed staying there so much, I felt sad that I was leaving. The Doorman, Albert, is so friendly and helpful. It was nice getting welcomed back after a long day in the city. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

All the staff at the Huntington Hotel are incredibly accommodating and friendly! The hotel is rich in historical elegance and nostalgia. The rooms are large and spacious. Beds comfortable. The bathroom in my room was very large and a bit dated, however it was spotless. The best part is how quiet the rooms are - no city noises makes for a pleasant night's sleep. They still have turn down service, leaving a chocolate on the pillow and a bottle of water every night of my stay. My room was on the 9th floor and the City view was beautiful. Compared to other hotels in the city, it's great value and very pleasant experience!

As a business traveller, I did notice that electric outlets we not conveniently located at your fingertips, but easily accessible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsbydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our room was very spacious with elegant touches and tasteful decor. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The meals we had at the hotel were excellent. Our room was very quiet and the blackout curtains and comfortable beds ensured a great sleep. We appreciated the piano music while dining and the lack of annoying cell phones ringing. After our days of exploring and walking, the pool and hot tub were just the ticket. They were uncrowded and quiet. We'd stay here again....San Francisco was an impulse destination but we'll visit again for sure....and the Nob Hill Cafe is close by for great Italian food (especially their lasagne and gelato).

Room Tip: We were on the eleventh floor and it was very quiet....never had to wait long for an elevator...but...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the room was very clean and roomy, by luck we got what was called a junior suite. The price was more than we wanted to spend ($214/night), but the SF International Film Festival was also going on when we were there, so might be less expensive when there is not a huge event close by. We don't usually eat in the hotels b/c of price and quality inconsistency, but we were very tired when we arrived. There is nothing worse than getting waxed on price and then the food is mediocre or worse, but the food was excellent!! Staff very helpful and courteous. I would park in a deck near the hotel and save $$$.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After having made our reservations three months ago...was first concerned to see our two requests - two beds and feather free room were not met. After making the manager aware, still no accommodation, apology or service recovery provided. Very disappointing...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hello Vicky D.,

I'd like to sincerely thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I'm incredibly sorry that you were so disappointed in your experience here at the Huntington. It certainly is not the norm for our guests to leave the hotel feeling very disappointed, and I'm in the process of researching your stay to see what communication issues on our end might have resulted in your needs not being met.

Again, I'm very sorry that you weren't happy with your Huntington Hotel experience. We definitely pride ourselves on our service, and we appreciate guests such as yourself telling us when you're not happy, so we can identify areas for improvement. We do hope that you'll give us a chance to change your impression of us in the future upon your next visit to San Francisco.

Thank you again, Vicky.

Wishing you safe and happy travels,

Kellie
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,292 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,142 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $320 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing