We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic location in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Scenic location in San Francisco”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. On top of thw hill, could see a long ways from the window. Walked most places, but you may want to use the cable cars to get up and down the hills, they are very steep.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pminear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    409
    104
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
729
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was simply a great overall experience. We called to reconfirm our reservation and kindly requested a renovated room, as per some previous visitors' suggestions. The room was lovely: comfortable bed, roomy and upgraded shower, dual sinks. All this and the space still managed to retain its original character. The balance was nice and created a cozy feel. If you have time, remember to check out the hotel bar around 5pm for live piano music and a cocktail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First time staying in downtown San Francisco and stumbled upon a very good deal of the Huntington Hotel, I am extremely glad that I have made the decision to stay there.

The hotel is located in the very upscale neighborhood of Nob Hill, which felt very safe even in late evenings. (Can't say the same about some of other surrounding districts though) With cable car access right at its door and various buses running on nearby streets. Bart station is about 10-15 min walk away, but as Bart station is at bottom of the hill, the walk uphill is quite a challenge.

Both the exterior and interior of the hotel have a very classic vintage feel, all staff are very friendly and professional, The lobby is small but feels very classy, the check-in and check-out process are quick and trouble free. Housekeeping staff does an outstanding job, folding all clothing left in the room, turndown service daily.

I was not sure if I got the renovated room or the so called old room, but the room was very much of a 5 star quality in my opinion: spacious, clean, and the decoration and furnishings reflects the heritage of the hotel. All the toiletries are from L'occitane, which should tell you immediately that you are at the right place! The provided robe was very comfortable, and there is a lockable fridge for guest to use. Although it is advertised that wifi is charged at 10 dollars a day but there was a wifi service named "AT&T" and I have checked with front desk and was advised that it is free to use, I have accessed it during my stay and was not charged at all.

I haven't checked out the spa and big 4 restaurant but the restaurant/bar appeared to be having a very classic atmosphere with piano playing in the evenings. There are many dining options available near the hotel in adjacent blocks or in nearby Chinatown, union square shopping district is a short stroll away.

There is no negative aspects that affected my experience, I can only think of 2 things that could even improve the experience further:

1. The corridor appears to be a bit "too vintagey", maybe better lighting could help?
2. No accessible power outlet by the bedside for charging phones/tablets.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting San Francisco, and I really look forward to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here seven nights in February. Normally, such hotels are outside of our budget, but we got a great deal on booking.com site. The hotel is very nice, very old-fashioned with services such as consierge and evening bed turn-down. Our room was one of the smallest, but it was still spacious, and had great views of SF. Rooms are very clean and quite new. Spa looks great too, and there is also a gym. Overall, its a great hotel with good location, and friendly staff. The only down point is that there is no breakfast included in the price, and the breakfast offered in the restaurant downstairs and by the room service is super expensive!

Room Tip: The ones higher up have excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaigado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'd always walk curiously by The Huntington Hotel on previous stays in Nob Hill. The building is a charming low rise with ivy on its walls and a uniformed doorman always ready with a smile and a warm welcome. After reading consistently good reviews about this hotel, I decided to treat myself to a birthday visit to San Francisco and a stay at The Huntington.

It should be noted that if you're the traveller who prefers serious, staid and trendy, The Huntington won't be for you. If your preferences fall into boutique and antique, you'll feel right at home.

Having stayed in Nob Hill at The Fairmont (in the sumptuous North Tower building and in the tired, neglected Main building), The Westin (south of Market), Le Meridien (Embarcadero) and The Grand Hyatt (Business District), I'd always stayed in more modern establishments.

The interior seemed in sharp contrast to what I'd expected of a historic hotel. There was a lot of dark wood, a small elevator and antique-y carpeting / wallpaper. However, in contrast to The Fairmont's Main building, The Hungtinton's furnishings are in good shape considering their age.

The doorman greeted me warmly. After an early flight, it was very welcome. At check-in, I mentioned it was my birthday and that I was an SLH member, then asked if a complementary room upgrade was possible. Not only was it possible, I was given a choice: (1) a newly renovated room with a partial view of Nob Hill Park; or, (2) a very large unrenovated room with a full view of the Park and partial view of The Bay. After looking at both rooms (escorted by a very patient bellman), I happily choose the larger unrenovated room.

The room has windows that open in the room and in the bathroom, a nice surprise. There were some reviews about the street car noise on California Street, but it didn't bother me; especially in the evening when the hum of the heater acted like white noise, drowning out the hustle of the street.

The room had a small sitting area with an odd furniture arrangement. The arm chairs faced the door and you had to turn sideways to watch tv while seated. There was a generously sized bed with thick bed linens and a turndown service, complete with chocolates on the pillow. The bathroom could have benefitted from at least a partial refresh, as the floor and wall tiles were chipped and worn in places. There was a shallow cupboard in the bathroom with plenty of shelving for your toiletries, as the sink surround didn't have much space. There was a writing desk and an empty mini fridge at your disposal. There were plenty of outlets for charging electronics. Lastly, there was a roomy wardrobe with small room safe.

Noticeably missing were an in-room coffee/tea maker and free WiFi. Even with the SLH loyalty membership, WiFi came at a fee. There are 2 computers in the business centre (with printer) but expect to pay $10 if you want in-room connectivity.

I found the room's furnishings in need of some touching up, as they had scratches and bumps that looked like neglect more than character.

The most memorable part of my stay was the friendly above-and-beyond service that every single staff member showed to me whenever I came or went. I've become wearily accustomed to the aloofness that typically comes with luxury establishments, so The Huntington stands out head and shoulders above their peers and the trendier hotels.

With an older hotel, you'd expect to hear a lot of noise outside of your room, but I didn't hear much. I don't know if it was because the hotel was not full during my stay.

The icing on the cake was a small bottle of sparkling wine, a single rose and a personalized note from the Front Desk Manager wishing me a happy birthday.

I didn't have a chance to visit the pool, but have read that it's both a rarity in downtown SF and a treat.

In terms of proximity to tourist sites, it's a bit of a hike from Union Square to Nob Hill, but do-able if you take your time and you're able to take steep hills. It's easier to get from the hotel down the hill to Union Square as opposed to the other way around. Otherwise, you can take the cablecar from Union Square to California Street and walk a very short block to the hotel. Of course, there are plenty of cabs in that area.

Walk towards Embarcadero on California Street and you'll come across any number of cafes, including the little European café attached to The Fairmont (Powell & California) and Starbucks further down the hill near the entrance to Chinatown.

There aren't many conveniences right outside the hotel's doors, such as a Walgreens or somewhere to get fresh fruit. But, if you ask the front desk or locals to point you to where you need to go, someone will usually help.

Something to note is that retail outlets are required to charge for bags, so expect to pay about 10 cents per bag everywhere you go.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Nob Hill Park are bright. The full Park view gives you a peek at Grace Cathedral and Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagittarianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for the first time. The location near other posh hotels in the area. It is one of most desirable areas in San Francisco Nob Hill. They have their own parking garage. The lobby is not very fancy but that is OK. The rooms where up to date but the building is a very old building maybe near 100yrs. but still looks nice from the out side. Elevators where small but the room I was given was #300 on the third floor. It was a corner room and very spacious. The neighbor was quite at night. I didn't get to see the pool since it was closed when I arrive. But, the price they where charging was very reasonable. The front staff was very helpful but short handed for the task they where providing. I was not able to sample the restaurant but it look very cozy and inviting.The parking attendant was most helpful. All and all if you are looking for a clean well taken care of hotel for not a lot of money with a great location you have found it. About a block away was a parking garage that was charging about $10/day less in parking fees run by a Religious organization.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street and also get a room with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This Hotel had old world charm and service. The Spa is terrific and the and the Big Four Restaurant is elegant food good,the service is friendly and professional as is the rest of the staff.The Big Four Bar is busy at night and has a piano playing in the evenings.the only bad thing about this hotel is leaving.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff.This is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in anywhere. You may want to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irontree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,213 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,083 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing