We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #14 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For San Francisco, this hotel has some really large, luminous, and beautifully decorated rooms. We had a gorgeous view of the cathedral and the entire square. I suspect that we got a much better room than what we had reserved because the hotel was overbooked that night. The service wasn't great - all the receptionists I spoke with were unfriendly and some of them outright condescending.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Ski22345,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your large room and the view of Grace Cathedral and Huntington Park across from the hotel. I'm very sorry however to hear that you had sub-par interactions with our staff. What you described is certainly uncharacteristic of what we typically hear about the service level at the Huntington. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate staff and be taken swiftly into account. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to improve your overall impression of the Huntington upon your next visit to San Francisco. Again, thank you for the review.

All the best,
Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    395
    100
    43
    24
See reviews for
181
700
67
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Huntington this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity I was able to get for my money in a city such as San Francisco!

The hotel had a nice old fashioned charm with modern upgrades. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I loved how the staff dressed in the same upscale/old elegance way that they would have back in the 1920s just a great ambiance to the whole overall hotel. On arrival I was told they had an upgraded room for me without requesting it and free of charge which was such a win because the room was HUGE.

The only reason I'm giving the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because although the room was great there were some obvious signs of wear and tear such as a VERY old mini fridge, and slight rust in the large tub as well as some stains on the carpet, nothing that was a major turn off but just obvious little signs that maybe its time to change out just a few minor things. Also, there wasn't free wifi, for a fee per DAY we could access internet or go down the street for free wifi.

The hotel is in a great location and pretty centrally located where everything is a trolley ride or bus ride away which is great. The spa is absolutely beautiful with an indoor pool and sauna. Overall this is a great hotel and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at The Huntington Hotel during my stay in San Francisco last week. The staff was very welcoming, helpful and attentive. The staff makes this hotel a wonderful place to stay. This hotel was very clean and quiet. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to be pampered. The pool area was beautiful and very clean. This hotel is also located in a nice area, with beautiful views of the city. The hotel is also very close to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23O_H_I_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Huntington on our way home to Australia after a ski holiday. I was very happy with our stay here. The staff was incredibly friendly/helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. The spa area is great and the bar is fantastic. The pianist even started playing 'Waltzing Matilda' having overhead our Australian accents! The hotel is quiet but centrally located spot (about 15 mins walk from union sq). Our rooms were very spacious and tastefully appointed. We loved the charm of this hotel. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My adult daughter had stayed here several months ago and raved about the hotel. When we reserved two rooms way in advance you would think that they would give us very nice rooms. Her first room was quit dated and unattractive....she was disappointed and asked for a room change. Her new room was spectacular. Our room was half the size but nice with a view. The staff was very nice . The dinningroom left a lot to be desired. Food was just average.

Room Tip: Be specific....want a remodeled room....view rooms are not always the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinAveryArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Huntington revealed as the gem of Nob Hill. Our room was very big, very classy, with excellent bath and great toiletries, L'Occitane!!! The service is always attentive and helpful.
And the Spa is incredible! Please reserve time to spend in it, because is the only thing I regret from my trip to SF!The restaurant is like a British Club, dark oak, green leather, and the service excellent, Didier is a gentleman!!! The location is good, close to Union Sq but in a nicer and quieter neighborhood. A wonderful week in SF!!! We definitely will come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our Honeymoon and we we're treated like royalty (and I don't really look like Kate Middleton!).
My Husband had phoned ahead to say that it was our honeymoon and we we're upgraded on arrival. The first room we were shown was lovely but it was a little noisy as it looked out on the road (we are very sensitive to noise so probably wouldn't be a problem for most people) so we were immediately moved to a an even nicer room higher up which was perfect. On the first night we were sent complimentary fizz from nearby Napa and a handwritten note from the hotel manager congratulating us on our honeymoon. Everyday the staff on the front desk and even the doorman stopped to ask us how our day was - we're enjoying the honeymoon and congratulations again - we felt very special indeed! On the last night again we received another note congratulating us again and some delicious handmade truffles yum!
The room we stayed in was beautiful - it had retained the old world charm but felt also felt modern and fresh. I loved the dressing area with a huge wardrobe and mirrors and considering we were in a city centre the room was large, light and lovely.
We were also impressed with the spa facilities - we spent many hours in the spa area recovering from jet lag and avoiding the fog. I also liked that it was adults only and that laps of the pool were banned - I don't have anything against children but it was nice that the atmosphere of the spa and pool area was so calm. It was a bonus that you can also have a nice glass of wine in the jacuzzi area.
The location of the hotel is also great - central but not crazily busy. Immediately around the hotel is mainly housing and other hotels but within a 15 minute walk there are many restaurants and you can get to Union square in about 15-20 minutes (less if you take the cable car).
Overall we had a wonderful stay at the Huntington Hotel and would highly recommend to anyone celebrating a special occasion or looking to spoil themselves in San Fran.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlinthebigcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing