We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms-Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Large Rooms-Great Service!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Finally was able to take advantage of a deal offered at a Nob Hill Hotel! The Huntington was a former residential apartment hotel when originally opened, When it changed to a regular hotel they did not subdivide the rooms. Because of this, the rooms are much larger than typical SF hotel rooms. Our 8th floor room had a sitting area complete with sofa, coffee table and large writing desk. Some of the furniture was a little worn but it still allowed you to imagine what it might have been like living in a 1st class residential hotel in the 1920's atop of Nob Hill. The room faced Taylor St. and had a partial view of Grace Cathedral. (As we were leaving, the maid had a door open to a room that faced California St. As I peeked in, I realized the room was smaller but the view was fantastic). One problem that I had with our larger room was the TV was on the far wall. It made it perfect if you were sitting in the living room area but was a little too far to enjoy from the bed.

Our package included breakfast. The 1st morning we did venture down to the Big 4 Restaurant. The service was fantastic. Our waiter, gave us many tourist tips. The regular coffee was great. (The restaurant opens at 0700 but the lobby has the same great coffee available before that time. The last morning I decided to get up early. It was nice to be able to get a coffee to go while I took an early morning walk thru the lovely area. I do this every time I go to SF usually stopping at a Starbucks-there are no SBs on the hill, so this is a nice touch to have good coffee available. The rest of the mornings we used our breakfast voucher and splurged on room service-relaxing relaxing relaxing-to start our day that way, All of the entrees we ordered were delicious. Again service impeccable.

Also loved that there is a doorman and only one way into lobby. Not several entrances where people are coming and going. Concierge available and helpful.

Initially was told free Wifi only available in lobby. I brought my tablet down there as I wanted to look something up but couldn't get on. Concierge came over and helped me figure it out. Apparently the Wifi was available and free in the room as I was not charged when I later when I used it in my room.

I had a massage in the spa- a little pricey at $130 for 50 minutes but the spa area is very nice. I loved it because no children under 16 years old are not allowed the in pool or jacuzzi. (for those with children: Handerly, Palace, Sheraton at the wharf, Marriott on Market all allow children at their pools), This made the Spa experience very relaxing. Use of pool, jacuzzi and sun deck free with hotel stay.

The California Cable Car stops right in front of hotel. You can buy an all day pass for the Cable Cars and buses for $14 directly from the Cable Car attendant. You cannot buy these from the busdrivers. Each Cable Car ride is $6 and bus is $2. So if you plan to travel throughout the city, this may be a good option to invest in. No bus lines to my knowledge run in front of the hotel so you have to use the Cable Car (which is fun anyway) or walked to another street to access the busline. (The hotel also says they have a limo that goes to Union Square) The other thing about the California Cable car is that it is not as crowded as the other 2 lines and so I find it more enjoyable to ride. We rode the other line in the evening down to the Wharf area. It was so crowded that you really couldn't see anything if you were inside.

While I love the hustle and bustle of Union Square, it is nice to be in an area that is peaceful. Across the street is Grace Cathedral-looking somewhat like Notre Dame. It has a replica of the Ghilberti Doors. Across the street is Huntington Park. It has a replica of the Tortoise Fountain from Rome.

So to wrap it up, Great Service, great hotel and spa, and great area.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one facing California St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    409
    104
    43
    25
See reviews for
191
728
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just love the Huntington and look forward to staying there whenever in SF. It is a small but elegant old hotel with a great spa/pool area that is so inviting we use it often to just destress. It overlooks the City from the top of Nob hill with a geat view from the pool and out door terrace. Unfortunately it needs some restoration since the pool overflows when one does laps so they have banned laps which is a MAJOR pity. Hopefully under their new management they can rmedy the situation. Also, it is so annoying to have to pay extra for the wi-fi. But the restaurant, the piano cocktail area and the ambiance more than make up for the inconveniences. Unfortrunately the rooms the sound carries very easily between rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - the front rooms all have a great view of the Huntington Park which is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room had a fabulous view of the city, which we could enjoy from our "sitting room" section or the comfortable bed. (great linens & pillows) Older hotel with European charm; renovated room with modern amenities. The location can not be beat; across from Huntington Park and Grace Cathedral. We walked in every direction to sight seeing and restaurants.

The bellman and cleaning staff were among some of the most considerate and professional I've encountered. Front desk staff was 50/50; some fantastic but others a little haughy at times; one early morning my husband went to the lobby and asked for a business document to be faxed and the front desk man asked him "if he was even staying here"....needless to say that frosted my husband a bit.

The spa is the added bliss moment of our stay. Guests have free access to the spa facilities which are fantastic. Great steam rooms, saunas, small but refreshing pool, jacuzzi and deck with loung chairs. I hear the spa services are great as well....maybe next time!

Room Tip: 4th floor or above (we stayed on top/12th floor) Rooms next to elevator may bother you if light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

During this trip we spent time at the Holiday Inn Express (Fisherman's Wharf) and here. This was cheaper the HIE but much better! Massive room, fantastic city views and excellent sevice.
Great in room toiletry minitures too - L'Occitane

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We loved our 3-night stay at the Huntington. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we were upgraded to a suite which was enormous and very comfortable, although the room looked a little 'tired'. Very clean and nice furnishings but the carpet and bathroom could do with an upgrade. The great things about this hotel are the spa, which guests can use for free, and The Big Four bar and restaurant, complete with nightly piano player and wood panelling. We loved the old-fashioned style of the place and the bar and spa are definitely 5-star, the rooms more like 4-star. The area is great and very central, you can walk to Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf if you're prepared for the epic hill climbs!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nikandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

It was like staying with our favorite great aunt for vacation. Comfortable, good food and musty. It once was the toast of the town I'm sure but has seen its better days. The location is the best but needs a facelift (and a tummy tuck and chemical peel and a new wardrobe). It is a lovely place but was disappointed as it is a member of Preferred Hotels and we have has over the top experiences at other sister hotels. I suspect the Ritz or the Fairmont would have better suited us. As a prior reviewer wrote they squeezed every last dime out of us for parking and corkage at the spa (eventhough we spent almost $500). The spa service was amazing. The best massage I have ever had but again the spa is outdated by twenty years. Definitely have drinks or dinner at Big 4 bar which was great and I imagine it is a wonderful place to spend rainy afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Huntington Hotel from the reviews and were not disappointed. Jason, at the door was very helpful with local information and tips on getting around. The rooms were nice and the spa - simply great, could have been open later! Courtesy car was also very useful! Great location... Breakfast very good value.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank notgoneforlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,201 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,075 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing