We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Location, Classy Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

When you think of a classical San Francisco hotel, the Huntington probably comes to mind. The structure, located at the top of Nob Hill, is historic and attractive. The staff is quite professional, yet also friendly and warm.

We were greeted at the front desk with warm hand towels and quickly shown to our room. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom suite. The room was well decorated and the view was very nice. The hotel, like just about everything else in the city, is showing some signs of wear. However, that's probably to be expected from a building of this age; especially given the location and climate. The hotels windows, which opened quite a bit, appeared to be new and were a nice feature.

The bedding was exceptional. The comfort was on par with any other hotels bed. The bed was turned down nightly and the maid remembered how I liked my curtains each night.

I could hear some noise from the adjoining room, but I'm beginning to think my hearing might be overly sensitive, so take that with a grain of salt.

The bathroom was very nice. The towels were great and there were plenty of them. They also had robes, cotton swabs, cotton balls, etc. The soap and shampoo were some of the best I've ever had at a hotel. They smelled great and worked really well.

The one major complaint about the hotel was the hot water. I just didn't ever get much hot water in the shower. This may well have been a temporary problem or just one with my room. I can't really fault the hotel staff for it, because I never mentioned it to them. I'm not one to complain in person (though I'll do it online sometimes.)

Each morning we had a local paper delivered to our room. In addition, after the room was cleaned the maid checked in to see if we needed anything else.

The hotel has a small, but very nice spa inside. I'm not a spa person, so I'm not a great judge, but from what I could tell it looked very nice.

The bar in the lobby is quite nice and has great service and a great selection. The entire bar is covered in rich woods and warm furniture. It's the perfect place to visit with a client, a business associate, or an old friend.

The hotel has a professional chauffeur who is available for short trips in the area. We caught a ride down to a restaurant and were quite impressed with our driver. She was knowledgeable, extremely courteous, and pointed out a number of interesting sites along the way.

Finally, I don't typically notice bellmen at a hotel. However, the bellmen at the Huntington were very friendly and helpful.

All in all, this was a very nice stay.

  • Liked — The bar in the lobby.
  • Disliked — The hot water.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UTAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    409
    104
    43
    26
See reviews for
194
729
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

A large group of us stayed at the Huntington as part of my wife's office holiday celebration. On the plus side, the bell staff was friendly and willing to help with whatever we needed. Those people are serious about their jobs and deliver first-rate service. The location is very good, although a walk down to Union Square involves a very steep climb back up.

There were several negative aspects, though. The most difficult for us was a certain unfriendliness towards children reflected in hotel policies. The most glaring of these was that the pool is limited to those 16 and older. While we understand the decision to make the pool a place for adults to relax, the hotel needs to be upfront about this. We had no idea that this was the case until our daughter (who was swimming quietly and under our supervision) was booted out. We were all quite disappointed by this. We were told that the hotel had an arrangement with a health club across the street that would let her use the pool, but it was a cold, windy evening in San Francisco and we weren't about to do that.

Another problem involved the room we were given. We were supposed to have been placed in an upgraded or deluxe room (with the attendant higher price) but instead were put in a small room with a terrible view. The reservation was for three of us but the room had only one bed and we were treated with a certain annoyance when we asked for a roll-away for our daughter. (The front desk employees did not appear to be as service-oriented as the bell staff.) Once we realized we had not been placed in one of the nicer rooms, we mentioned this and the hotel offered to move us. We just asked that they only charge my wife's company for the room they gave us, which they of course agreed to do.

Another significant problem involved the garage in which cars are kept. Apparently, the Huntington contracts with a garage next door that parks your car when you check in. This garage is horribly disorganized and when there were a large number of people checking out (as there were at 11:00 AM on the Sunday morning we left), the wait for a car was far too long. Some of my wife's co-workers spent up to an hour sitting on the curb, waiting for someone to bring their car to them. We decided to leave our bags with the bell staff and come back a couple of hours later. At that point, the wait was down to ten minutes or so as we were the only people needing a car at that point.

So pluses were the bell staff,. the location, and the overall ambience. Negatives were unadvertised unfriendliness to children, what appeared to be minor incompetence by the front desk, and a terrible system for handling parking. Given the cost of the Huntington and the many alternatives in San Francisco, it's doubtful that we'll be back.

  • Liked — Location, bell staff
  • Disliked — Kid-unfriendliness, front desk staff, parking service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikefil58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We booked the Huntingdon for the last night of a 12 day trip having stayed in a number of other of hotels (all of which were good to excellent).It was a disappointment.

Pros - Bellmen were charmign helpful and friendly (esp James) - couldn't be more helpful.
Location right in middle of Nob Hill

Cons - The service of desk/concierge - we arrived early and were told we could check in at 3 - this in itself isnt so surprising. However what was surprising was when our room wasn't available when we returned at 3.30. After being told they were checking to see if our alloted room was clean (you'd think this would have been done before 3pm) we were kept waiting for half an hour (despite being told it would be 5 minutes). At which point my husband enquired what was the delay only to be told that the hotel was full so we should be grateful to have a room (I must remember this for my clients as an excuse should I ever want to lose my job) and that we were only paying $300 dollar a room etc so should just wait. When my husband persisted in asking about a delay we were offered an alternative higher rate room (which my husband was then told and then telephoned in our room by concierge to emphasis how grateful we should be for this upgrade. WE NEVER ASKED FOR THIS UPGRADE merely the room we actually booked at the allotted check in time of 3pm!). It certainly gave a lovely start to our stay that we were basically being told as paying guests we were lucky to be there.


Bathrooms are tiny..shower bath and small sink/toilet unit. Given the size of room and wasted space this is baffling. Decor is slightly tired.. Hygiene also suspect - both my husband and I had bites on our bodies after staying here and suspect it may have been bed bugs from this hotel .

The spa -distinctly unfriendly and unhelpful attitude (the drunken women comparing breast size in the pool was also somewhat offputting). If you're paying top dollar for a spa treat, you want to be treated nicely in a nice ambience, not greeted in a surly way and then experience the kind of ambience I last saw 10 years ago in a Cyprus 18 -30 hotel.

The rooms walls are paper thin so not a good plan if you're a light sleeper as the goings on of all your neighbours are all too clear.

Price for what you get its overrated -we also stayed in W which was comparable price and about 1000 times better in terms of quality of room. facilities and services.

I'd not go back and I'd certainly not recommend it.

  • Liked — Location but there isnt much to like about this place
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank jhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

A very nice property. This is old world San Francisco.We had a great room/apartment with a very neat view. If you expect the Corporate layouts of Marriott/Hilton/Westin forget this place. Lots of nooks and crannies with neat old construction.

Stayed there 3 nights and ate at the "BIG FOUR" restaurant twice.
Super food, neat menu and very nice service. Our hats off to the head chef.

  • Liked — Big Four Restaurant
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Great boutique hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel was great, staff friendly & helpful.

Note: You have use of the spa pool, hot tub etc .. but only for 16 years and older. We had friends staying with us that had a 8 year old son who was sad that he couldn't go in the pool. My recommendation would be this a great hotel if you have older kids.

Enjoy your stay there... we did!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Have stayed here many times and previously wrote a laudatory review in 2004. This recent stay, however, was lacking.

First off, the price was high - $300 for a Deluxe room. More than I have ever paid for a hotel room outside of NYC.

When we arrived, we noticed that our room was right next to the OLD elevators. Having stayed next to the elevators before, we weren't worried. However, the bed was against the shared elevator shaft wall and that was new...and noisy. Also, the headboard was such that every time we shifted in bed, it slammed against the wall.

Add the loud people in the adjoing room--from whom we were separated only by a thin door--and unlike previous stays, it definitely did not seem like we were the only people in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NoGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We loved the Huntington! We booked a last minute stay based on a recommendation from our friend and it was perfect. We got a deluxe room w/ 2 double beds for about $330, and valet parking was $30. Pricey but worth it!

The spa is fabulous. Great infinity edge pool, clean jacuzzi, fruit, water, and snacks, attentive service, eucalyptus steam room, and sauna. The spa facilities are complimentary for hotel guests so take advantage!

The continental breakfast is also complimentary. Great service again and fresh berries and juice, croissants, mighty leaf tea, good coffee, and ham and cheese.

We had room 1108 and it had amazing views, a very classy decor, and a modern, updated bathroom. Also robes were provided.

The location is great for walking - you can walk to Chinatown and explore, just a few blocks away.

This is quintissential san francisco, and I would definitely come back! My husband has traveled all over and he says this is one of the best hotels he's ever been in.

  • Liked — Great service and elegant ambience
  • Disliked — nothing! maybe the reservation process over the phone was a little slow.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,214 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,084 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing