We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their Restaurant is Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #12 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Their Restaurant is Fantastic”
Reviewed October 25, 2007

A very nice property. This is old world San Francisco.We had a great room/apartment with a very neat view. If you expect the Corporate layouts of Marriott/Hilton/Westin forget this place. Lots of nooks and crannies with neat old construction.

Stayed there 3 nights and ate at the "BIG FOUR" restaurant twice.
Super food, neat menu and very nice service. Our hats off to the head chef.

  • Liked — Big Four Restaurant
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    406
    103
    43
    24
See reviews for
186
718
70
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Great boutique hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel was great, staff friendly & helpful.

Note: You have use of the spa pool, hot tub etc .. but only for 16 years and older. We had friends staying with us that had a 8 year old son who was sad that he couldn't go in the pool. My recommendation would be this a great hotel if you have older kids.

Enjoy your stay there... we did!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Have stayed here many times and previously wrote a laudatory review in 2004. This recent stay, however, was lacking.

First off, the price was high - $300 for a Deluxe room. More than I have ever paid for a hotel room outside of NYC.

When we arrived, we noticed that our room was right next to the OLD elevators. Having stayed next to the elevators before, we weren't worried. However, the bed was against the shared elevator shaft wall and that was new...and noisy. Also, the headboard was such that every time we shifted in bed, it slammed against the wall.

Add the loud people in the adjoing room--from whom we were separated only by a thin door--and unlike previous stays, it definitely did not seem like we were the only people in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NoGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We loved the Huntington! We booked a last minute stay based on a recommendation from our friend and it was perfect. We got a deluxe room w/ 2 double beds for about $330, and valet parking was $30. Pricey but worth it!

The spa is fabulous. Great infinity edge pool, clean jacuzzi, fruit, water, and snacks, attentive service, eucalyptus steam room, and sauna. The spa facilities are complimentary for hotel guests so take advantage!

The continental breakfast is also complimentary. Great service again and fresh berries and juice, croissants, mighty leaf tea, good coffee, and ham and cheese.

We had room 1108 and it had amazing views, a very classy decor, and a modern, updated bathroom. Also robes were provided.

The location is great for walking - you can walk to Chinatown and explore, just a few blocks away.

This is quintissential san francisco, and I would definitely come back! My husband has traveled all over and he says this is one of the best hotels he's ever been in.

  • Liked — Great service and elegant ambience
  • Disliked — nothing! maybe the reservation process over the phone was a little slow.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We’ve come back to the Huntington after our initial stay three months ago, and it was indeed like a homecoming…Everyone knows your name! This is truly a four diamond hotel in the old world style with gracious rooms, the ultimate in location, and the integrity of a well-seasoned staff.

This hotel excells where most hotels falter: in the restaurant department. You can tell; many of the clients are the local inhabitants…they know a good place to eat. The restaurant fare is very flexible, from one of the best hamburgers you could ever want to order, to my favorite: the lamb stew. And if this all weren’t enough, there is a wonderful pianist most nights who has been there for--I believe--over 10 years, and has a loyal following. Of course, there is a more formal part of the dining room, and it too is a treat.

We highly recommend this hotel for any traveler wanting something a little special (and it’s more than just a little special).

  • Liked — The Spa and Restuarant come to mind as high points.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ProvidenceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

The Huntington is by far the nicest hotel atop Nob Hill in terms of ambiance, clientele, service and amenities. From check-in to check-out every employee was gracious and friendly and everything was perfect. Our room was a large 2 bedroom suite with living room, dining room, kitchenette and 2 bathrooms. It was spotless and beautifully decorated. I loved that I could open the windows to let in the fresh ocean breeze. The Big Four was great for breakfast and an after dinner drink with live music. It's also considered a excellent place to eat dinner although we had dinner out every night. The spa was exceptional with a lovely indoor pool/hot tub and balcony where a spa breakfast or lunch can be served. the concierge services were very professional and the doormen and bellmen kept things running very smoothly. I would certainly return on my next trip to SF.

  • Liked — Big, fluffy, comfy beds.
  • Disliked — It was all excellent!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seabreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, CA, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We (me, hubby and 8 year old daughter) decided to leave the snow of Lake Tahoe for a weekend of culture in San Francisco, seeing a play and the Nutcracker ballet. We booked the Huntington as we are members of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, and we knew anything closer to Uniion Square would be way too noisy. The location at the top of Nob Hill is great -- our room (1010) was HUGE and had views over the city -- could even see a portion of the big tree in Union Square. They put a roll away bed in for our daughter and the room was still very spacious. It was fairly recently renovated, with plush linens (bed and bath), a large double sink area outside the toilet/tub room, a couch, coffe table 2 club chairs and a desk, as well as a miibar w/ small sink. The TV in the armoir was dated (not a flat screen), but got good reception.

Walking up and down Nob Hill is great exercise, but if the hills are too much for you, the California St. cable car line is literally right out the door and the Powell St line (the one that goes from Union Square down to Fisherman's Wharf) is only a few blocks away. We parked in a nerby garage for $30/day and didn't move the car until we left 3 days later -- you can valet the car for the same price.

We did not use the conceirge to make any reservations -- since we were there over New Years I had previously booked via OpenTable.com -- but he was very helpful in looking up movie times (and trying to get us into a hot resaurant near the Metreon on about 10 minutes notice, unsucessfully, but we did appreciate the attempt). He also directed us to nearby breakfast spots.

I love staying in older, more architecturally unique hotels and the Huntington fits the bill. I love the fact that the windows open, yet when closed the city noises are almost completly obliterated. Having a window opened on New Year's eve allowed me (hubby and 8 year old fell asleep about 11!) to hear the festivities, and the location allowed a filtered view of the fireworks over the Bay, but when I was ready to go to sleep, all I had to do was pull the window shut and no more party sounds! We heard NO noises from outside our room, although I can't guarantee that the people in 910 didn't hear our daughter jumping around.

The ony reasons I didn't give the Huntington a full five stars were minor: no coffee or tea in the lobby in the morning, although they do have hot apple cider in the afternoon; the doormen and bellmen were not as attentive as one would expect in a 5* hotel

I'd definitely stay at theHuntignton again -- but next time I'm booking a spa treatment for the aching legs after walking all over San Francisco!

  • Liked — HUGE room w/ a view
  • Disliked — I liked just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — bring comfy walking shoes - the hotel is on the top of a steep hill
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tahoetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing