We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
InterContinental
$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Traveluro
$176
View deal
Expedia.com$194
Priceline$194
Trip.com$195
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,018)
Filter reviews
3,018 results
Traveler rating
1,240
1,039
455
192
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,240
1,039
455
192
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nob hill mark restaurant cable car grace cathedral union square top floor california street beautiful hotel an older hotel bit dated valet parking the financial district city concierge elevator cars bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 3,018 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2019

Stayed here with the family, the front desk was so helpful. The valet/doormen were very friendly and always remembered you. We had a cocktail up on Top of the Mark, lots of nostalgia. It had a decent gym, small but most of what you need. Would stay again - and the kids loved it!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank davidcF5924TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpace, General Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time share your feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy our historic charm and the service that we pride ourselves on. Please come back to see us again soon!

Best,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

We just spent as a family touring California and from all hotels this was not only the most historical and best situated but also the friendliest with a staff that could help for any whishes.
We actually felt like home and enjoyed the unique and spectacular views the top floor bar and impeccable service from the doorman greeting us to an efficient check out
we travelled with our kids and it also was their favourite place.Quality of food especially choice for breakfast very unique

Room tip: higher floors all great views corner suite unique feeling
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lemaitefreiburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpace, General Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our views and all the amenities our hotel has to offer! We do hope you will come back to see us again soon!

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

A key element of a great and memorable holiday is where you sleep and wake. We were on a family trip of the West Coast and the last stop in the US was San Francisco at the IC Mark Hopkins. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely special and well looked after, reminiscent of the early days of grandeur and style when this hotel was built. All the staff, were ready to greet you with a smile, friendly and attentive to our needs. A special mention to George, the Chef Concierge, who patiently helped us sort out and plan trips, book restaurants and navigate the rail system. The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet area of the city, easily accessible by Tram or a brisk walk up from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
The hotel itself is architecturally beautiful and charming inside, retaining many features from the early days - some might say needs to be updated and modernized but I would say that would lose the elegance and experience that the Mark Hopkins offers. This is especially so when you go up to the Top of the Mark - stepping into that wonderful room with the most breath-taking views takes you back in time and visions of what this room would have witnessed in its colourful past. Our stay at the Mark Hopkins made our San Francisco visit especially memorable.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpace, General Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words. We pride ourselves in the historic charm and service that we provide our guests. We are glad that we were able to share that with you. Please come back to see us again soon!

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

25 years ago I had the pleasure of spending my wedding night at the Mark Hopkins in San Francisco. It was a gift to ourselves to spend the night in an iconic world class hotel. Since it's been awhile, I most vividly remembered the great room we had and the Top of the Mark. As sometimes happens when you live close to an icon, you don't make the time to truly go back and enjoy it.
Well, 25 years later (last month) we spent our 25th Anniversary at the Mark Hopkins once again. And our stay this time was amazing. The entire staff, from the valet to the porters, from the front desk to the room service, and especially the team at the Top of The Mark and Management went out of their way to make us feel special and welcome. All of the little things you'd want a hotel to do for you because you were enjoying a special night, happened. My respect and thanks to Mr. Pace for running such a quality hotel.
The IC Mark Hopkins sits in an amazing location, the rooms are appointed with the charms of days past, and the views from any room and especially the Top of The Mark are incredible. If you haven't had a drink there, you haven't seen the best view of San Francisco.
The hotel is about class and elegance as it tips it's hat to the past an it's history. They over delivered on first class service, and made my 25th another historic night to remember.
If you want to stay in a room, got to a hotel, if you want to enjoy and create your own history, stay here!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damaadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpace, General Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words! I am honored that we were able to share in the celebrations on your 25th anniversary and 25 years ago on your wedding day. Please don't wait until your 50th anniversary to come see us again!

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

In SanFrancisco the Mark Hopkins is a reminder of what travel used to be like in the past, for those that could travel with style.
It’s beautiful and grand. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.
The views of the city are breathtaking.
Legend says “Having a drink at the Top of the Mark, guarantees you will return to this city on the bay”.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ronj476
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelpace, General Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Best,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews