We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,873)
Filter reviews
2,873 results
Traveler rating
1,169
1,008
434
179
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,169
1,008
434
179
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nob hill mark restaurant cable car grace cathedral historic hotel union square the club lounge top floor california street an upgrade an older hotel per day bit dated the golden gate bridge corner room water pressure valet parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,428 - 2,433 of 2,873 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2007

This hotel is nothing special. It's reviews and reputation are based more on tradition than reality. On arrival, we noticed the professionalism and courtesy of the doormen and concierge. Unfortunately, the lobby and the guest rooms are not impressive. The sheets and bedding were of very poor quality, and the housekeeping staff tucks in the top sheet tightly with the bottom sheet. This results in a ball of lumped up sheets as soon as you crawl into bed. The bathroom was clean, but unimpressive. Note this hotel is on the top of Nob Hill, so be prepared to either climb or descend a 45 degree hill every time you want to go anywhere (or fork over the money for the cable car pass.) Do not fall for the Top of the Mark gimmick. The views are nice, but the drinks are not worth half the $12 tariff. The legends of broken hearted ladies weeping in the corner for their deployed soldier boyfriends cannot overcome the inherent cheesiness of the joint. Their is no grand wooden bar as you would expect. Instead, the Top of the Mark is a generic open-space forced into a lounge lifestyle with 270 degree views of a great city (not a 360 degree view as advertised.) Unless you can get a great deal at this hotel, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2007
6  Thank kittymama76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

This hotel is very average and does not deserve its reputation. There is hardly a lobby to speak of and there is a non-existent atmosphere. The rooms are DRAB, the sheets are of poor quality and the bedspread was a polyester blend. The whole place reads TIRED. Also, the walls are paper thin. The "nominal" fee (the word they use) to use the first floor club room is $60 per day. I regret staying here and wish I had stayed at the W, Omni or somewhere else. Spend your money more wisely someplace else.

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank glenbeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

The Mark Hopkins, at the top of Nob Hill in San Francisco, is a good hotel with spectacular views. They're even better at the Top of the Mark bar, though we didn't go there. We might have gone, but the champagne brunch was $59--that's right five nine--dollars per person. That price reflects an unseemly emphasis on cash extraction at the Mark Hopkins--$60 to use the club room, $51 to park (not that you need a car there--we didn't have one). Unlike many historic hotels, there's almost no free public space. They even have set out bottles of water in our room, marked $5.95, pretty tacky for a hotel where a "cheap" room costs over $200. It all leaves a bad taste and detracts from the experience.

Our room was pleasant enough (though nether historic nor artistically designed, though there were some nice photos on the wall), with a great view out to the Golden Gate Bridge. Most central San Francisco locations have another building adjacent, but the Mark Hopkins doesn't, maximizing the view.

The king bed was big and acceptably firm, darkness (and lighting) was adequate. W eclearly heard the cable car outside 15 floors below, but it wasn't too bothersome. The bathroom was modest size but well-equipped, though the tub didn't look too great for taking a bath.

Somebody raised an issue about the hotel's having only 3 elevators and causing waits, but that wasn't a problem for us.

The location is good for getting to North Beach, Chinatown, Russian Hill restaurants, and Union Square. Many of these locations are only a few blocks away, but people should be aware that they're down steep hills from the hotel. The flatter Union Square, with hotels like the Nikko, might be more convenient and plesant.

Date of stay: January 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We went for our 7th wedding anniversary. I booked hotel and flight and that was the end of planning this time around. Who knew the hotel would be highlight of the trip. Its posh with 5 star services including free limo ride from hotel to center of SF during normal business hours. We decided not to rent car and relied on cabs and limos only. So the limo (usually wait time 10 min) was very handy with knowledgeable driver. The concierge service was also top of the notch and give us great tips on most interesting attractions (not just traditional Fisherman Warf) and were helpful with tickets. Hotel offers a ‘president club’ (I think it’s the name) where for $30 per person per day you can use their club with laptops w/internet, tv, games, fireplaces. They serve delicious self-serve breakfast (lox, delicatessen cold cuts, fresh pastry, cereal) , afternoon tea and evening cockatiels. There are also light snacks and variety of non-alcoholic drinks (bottled and not) thought the day. It also features special concierge (no waiting line and better service) and variety of newspapers. Everything is included in the price. If you like a nice breakfast in the morning and then run out the door we found club to be great feature.

Rooms are very nice but what deserves special note is best mattresses we seen in hotels and soft and luxury bedding. Hotel is located on top of the hill and view is magnificent from any high-floor room. There is a famous ‘top of the mark’ restaurant on the top floor. Location wise I think it’s the best all neighborhood you want to see is in a walking distance (ladies no hills as SH hills are too steep).

Date of stay: September 2005
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Agnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2006

This is a gem of a hotel in a gem of a city. Atop Nob Hill, with excellent views of all that makes San Francisco so wonderful. A short walk to China Town, the Financial District and Union Square. The rooms have an old world charm that's hard to match. The Top of the Mark is a truly unique restaurant. The breakfast buffet is way overpriced, until you consider the view!

My only complaint is that the bathrooms are small.

I chuckled at the review that praised the views but was critical of the hotel's hilltop location!

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews