We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and complacent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Putney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Arrogant and complacent”
Reviewed November 16, 2005

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Arrived with several bags in a taxi from the airport. Not a bell-hop in sight. Struggled into the lobby with the bags, the reception staff just watched us no effort made to assist.

The receptionist was rudeness personified. Sure, we had a pre-paid rate, but that doesn't constitute any requirement for contempt in my opinion.

We had to wait over 30 minutes for luggage to be brought up. I tried to telephone, no response. Went down in person, bell-hop rude.

The room was very, very small. Bathroom was OK.

Top of the Mark bar has a lofty view, and prices to match.

We most certainly will not be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    882
    364
    152
    74
See reviews for
432
946
134
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2005

Date of stay: Oct 2, 3, 2005. Nothing at all snobby about this Nob Hill Hotel. San Francisco is one of my favorite places. This hotel has not received the best reviews on Trip Advisor in the past. Perhaps the management has heard the complaints and is trying to turn this around. Booked directly through the Hotel to secure the "San Francisco Package" for a 2 nite stay. Three adults traveling down the coast in a minivan. The package deal was the best since parking is so expensive at SF hotels. Other reviews said rooms were small, so we went for the extra money and booked a "superior" room. Well worth it. Plenty of room and oh so plush. I needed to keep my medication cold and the refrig was packed with "honor bar" items, so the hotel sent up another refrig. It fit all our stuff. The buffet breakfast served at the Top of the Mark came with the package and was wonderful. Dim sum, fresh raspberries, blackberries, egg dishes, meats, pancakes, etc, etc. Couldn't even get to all the breakfast set-ups. I can't understand why someone would think this is average. Best of all was the view while dining at the Top of the Mark. The service was impeccable. Need we say more. Most of the staff was pleasant and very accomodating. They did not "look down" on vacationers as some have previously suggested. Remember this is SF, business travelers are primo here. One thing I've noticed, if you engage the staff in conversation, they are most pleasant and interested in pleasing you. Only one thing happened when we went for a drink at the Top of the Mark. The server, a young women, was a little flippant. I mentioned this to her later and she just didn't get it. All is not perfect, but the Mark Hopkins was pretty darn close.

Helpful?
6 Thank CATRNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We just returned from celebrating our anniversary in San Francisco...stayed at the Mark Hopkins. We had debated our choice prior to arriving, but we were very pleased. Our room was really very upscale and nice, and most important to me...immaculate! The view was spectacular, as was breakfast every morning upstairs at The Top of the Mark.
We had very warm and polite service from the front desk. It's quite a climb, but the California line is only one block away. The only negative was our one night to order room service - sandwiches weren't very good.
Otherwise, we would never hesitate about staying again.

Helpful?
5 Thank JanisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2005

Positives:
1. nice ambience & spectacular views from the higher floors.
2. spacious, well-decorated rooms with clean, modern bathrooms.
3. excellent food - though you are near plenty of food places outside the hotel.
4. a good location - Union Sq is 10 mins walk away (downhill) and the tram to Fishermans walk is 1 min away (you could also walk there in about 30 mins).
5. the gym - though a pool would have been nice!

Negatives:
1. calling international numbers from the phone in the room - yes, I am an idiot for not checking the price before calling, but to get charged 220 dollars for 20 mins worth of calls is disgusting. Please buy a phonecard!
2. the lifts - 3 of them - outdated and completely inadequate - be prepared to wait 5 mins to get one.
3. extras in the room - if you come back from a night out and are gasping for water, do not under any circumstances drink the bottled water in the room. Instead, go down to the gym and drink free water from the cooler to your hearts content.
4. breakfast at The Top of the Mark - nice food & great view, but not worth 30 dollars

Overall, I did enjoy my stay at the Mark Hopkins. I do feel it's a little over-priced though. Check out the Crowne Plaza off Union Sq which is the same hotel chain but works out a lot cheaper.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank iandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2005

A life long resident of California, we enjoy visiting San Franciso from time to time staying at one of the better hotels. The Mark Hopkins advertised several "specials" on their web site in the $200.00 price range.

Upon calling to book a reservation, we were told they would no longer honor the advertised specials although they were still posted on the web site. We were offered another room and parking at almost DOUBLE the special rate cost.

Mark Hopkins clearly uses deceptive & misleading advertising in an attempt to book you in higher priced rooms at 2X the special price....

Sounds more like a used car dealership than a 4 star hotel. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2005

The Mark Hopkins has some of the best views in town. Breakfast was served in the Top of the Mark which had commanding views of San Francisco and the bay. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Check-in and baggage were handled very professionally. However, for such an expensive hotel, you would expect perfect service. Some bad points were the paper promised to be delivered to our door in the morning never arrived. Next to the elevators was a candy wrapper which was never removed during out 15 hour stay. You have to request turn down service which I was never informed about during check in. If you can handle the above out-points, which aren't much, you will love staying at the Mark Hopkins. I will definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
7 Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2005

My wife and I spent a 3 day weekend at the Mark Hopkins in October 2005. We were very pleased with the room, particularly its size. There is a nice closet and nice-size bathroom in addition to a king-bedded sleeping area with windows that open to the San Francisco air. The location is terrific with easy access to two cable car lines. Close to Union Square and Chinatown, but it's a pretty steep uphill return walk from both places. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but had cocktails at the Top of the Mark on the Saturday night of fleet week where we could see the evening fireworks. We really enjoyed the Top of the Mark with its panoramic view of the city. We were especially pleased with the $120.00 rate we got.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,879 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,406 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,092 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing