We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for $300 not for $800” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for $300 not for $800”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The location is awesome. The rooms nice and clean, though not too big. And the Top of the Mark has the best view in town. But this is not a five star hotel experience. Room service was spotty (at best) and certain amenities that I expect to be complimentary at a five star hotel were not (e.g. wifi). There were some nice perks, however, such as free shoe shine, car service to and from union square and the financial district (although the driver tried to collect a fair from me until I told him I knew the ride was a courtesy offered by the hotel - then he said he only wanted a tip, which I would have obviously given him anyway - so watch out there). Front desk and concierge service were helpful. If this hotel were not rated so high, my expectations may have been different, so while I would stay here again, I definitely wouldn't stay for a five star price tag.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411NYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear 411NYC212,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our front desk and concierge and it is very motivating that you acknowledged their efforts. On the other hand, it appears that some of our amenities, particularly the WiFi connectivity prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    856
    351
    149
    73
See reviews for
414
926
130
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My one night stay here recently was very expensive yet the experience proved worthy. Beautiful, unique urban location with stunning views, very good check-in/check-out, nice sized room with a nice set of welcome food & beverage for me on my desk complements of the hotel, large washroom with great shower, large flat panel TV, comfy bed, etc. Honestly, rarely is hotel experience this flawless. Maybe I got lucky but I cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: My view was only so-so, be sure to ask for a higher floor with the best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Don't get me wrong from the moment we entered the Mark Hopkins we were greeted like old guests, although we had not stayed at this hotel before. We had flown in from Hawaii and this was our last leg of a round trip to celebrate my Big 60th maybe its the English accent but we got upgraded and because we are priority club members we got the use of the members lounge. The hotel is a landmark in San Francisco and oozes charm and sophistication and is a welcome change to the charmless international hotel groups. All the hotel staff from the doormen to the managers made eye contact and greeted you when we came in contact with them. In fact it is the only hotel I have ever stayed at and when I checked out our extras bill was zero !, this was because we had breakfast ,afternoon tea and late nights drinks in the lounge. The views from our room and the top floor bar were amazing and even if you are not staying at the "Mark" a visit to the top floor bar is a must on a visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night, no complaints. The desk staff was very helpful, the room was OK, and the bed very comfortable. The main reason we picked this Hotel was to have dinner at the landmark Top of the Mark. The view from the top is spectacular, check out the history of the bar before you go. You can just imagine the young officers having their farewell drinks before shipping out to war. Do go for a drink at the bar and skip the restaurant. The food is way overpriced and just not that great. We were going to stay a second night but the climb up and down that hill coupled with the price of the room convinced us to look for something better located and better priced. The cable car runs very close to this hotel but it was always full with long lines at the Market Street end.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Traveled here for a conference. Found check in/out excellent.

There are only 3 elevators that fit 8 people each. Every time there was a group function you had to wait.

The king suite was more like a king cramped. Pick a double queen if you're claustrophobic.

Food was good, although a bit up priced.

I'd go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EEFus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here for work in April. It was nice and in good shape but not worth the money. To me it was an average room similar to any Marriott. The views from the top bar were fantastic but the drinks were over-priced and not good. Would not stay there on my own dime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaMDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear BellaMDGirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco, CA. I am sorry to hear that you felt our hotel was not priced correctly for the value you received.

I would like the chance to make this up to you and personally assist you on another visit. Please contact me at ICMarkHopkins@ihg.com for any future travel needs.

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Gorgeous historic hotel -but in need of a renovation.

Pros: The location is great, we were able to walk downhill in any directing and get to where we wanted to be. The staff was friendly and recognized my IHG elite status appropriately. The view from our room was outstanding! The beds were clean and comfortable.

Cons: It is on top of Nob Hill, so if you are not in good shape this is probably not the hotel for you. You can ride the California trolley to the top of the hill but I would definitely advise getting a care service to bring your suitcases up and down the hill.

There was only one convenience outlet in the entire room. We had to charge one of our phones in the restroom outlet. The water pressure was terrible in the shower and our sink knobs were broken.

Once this hotel is renovated it will be awesome!

Top of the Mark is a must- but get there early to secure a good table with a view.

Room Tip: Room #733 had an awesome view of the TransAmerica Pyramid and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaJessica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing