We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$353
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,659 results
Traveler rating
1,063
947
406
164
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,063
947
406
164
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillmark restaurantcable cargrace cathedralunion squarehistoric hotelthe club loungetop floorcalifornia streetper dayan older hotelan upgradewater pressurecorner roomthe golden gate bridgevalet parkingfisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
1,062 - 1,067 of 2,659 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Gorgeous historic hotel -but in need of a renovation.

Pros: The location is great, we were able to walk downhill in any directing and get to where we wanted to be. The staff was friendly and recognized my IHG elite status appropriately. The view from our room was outstanding! The beds were clean and comfortable.

Cons: It is on top of Nob Hill, so if you are not in good shape this is probably not the hotel for you. You can ride the California trolley to the top of the hill but I would definitely advise getting a care service to bring your suitcases up and down the hill.

There was only one convenience outlet in the entire room. We had to charge one of our phones in the restroom outlet. The water pressure was terrible in the shower and our sink knobs were broken.

Once this hotel is renovated it will be awesome!

Top of the Mark is a must- but get there early to secure a good table with a view.

Room Tip: Room #733 had an awesome view of the TransAmerica Pyramid and sunrise!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaJessica11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Mark Hopkins on a beautiful Memorial Day weekend in the City. Tight driveway but very welcoming valets. We checked in late and were upgraded to a nice king suite on the 14th Floor. Very spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Late check in pushed us into an upgraded suite. Higher floors have better (and beautiful) views of the City. West facing rooms look at Grace Cathedral.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

High quality hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Rooms spacious and well furnished with plenty of storage.

Drawback is that the restaurant only serves "Snack" type meals which can be expensive, but you have to take the location into account.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Standard rooms with a high San Francisco price but location great the employees super, parking sucks . And of course the city has east coast favor on the west coast. The bums on the street are supported by the city. Entitlement or left wing guilt payoffs .... Do not get scammed into giving money to those parasites

Room Tip: Any room works well. .. Spend the time in the city not the room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiddosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is situated at the top of Nob Hill which means everytime you leave it is downhill and everytime you return it is a very steep uphill climb.

The hotel is obviously older so everything in it is small scale. It seems to present itself as classy and upscale, but there is really nothing special about it.

The service is very good and the entire staff is extremely pleasant and helpful.

The restaurant has a very limited menu and is expensive. It would be nice if the could offer some type of to-go food, especially at breakfast so we could grab a muffin or bagel before setting out.

Don't get me wrong, it is nice here but I was far from overwhelmed and the cost was far from reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiegen B, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Travel_HHI,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco, CA. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and our staff, but am sorry to hear you just felt our hotel was average.

I would like the chance to invite you back and personally assist you. Please contact me directly at ICMarkHopkins@ihg.com for any future travel needs.

Kind Regards,
Tiegen Boberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews