We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Past it useful lifetime...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #69 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Past it useful lifetime...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Alas "The Mark" has really outlived it's time and should be razed. This was my first time staying at this famous landmark. The lobby while attractive, is remarkably tiny. My room was #1433 and while comfortable and fully functional with great views, the bathroom was really too small and cramped. In fact I can't imagine how the city plumbing inspector allowed such cramping of the sink overlapping both the toilet and tub. I kept bumping into it every time I got in and out of the shower. More importantly - there wasn't even room on the tiny glass shelf for my toiletries which I had to set up on the room desk! On the plus side, the mattress was great and bed well provisioned with fluffy pillows. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide array of fare. Overall though I have to rate as poor given the lack of amenities offered at the property such as would be expected at a famous landmark. Special note: Wi-Fi is a ripoff at $11.95 p/d.

Room Tip: Request a bay view when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Swissdiner,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us both the positives and the negatives you experienced during your visit. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your accommodations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    783
    326
    133
    69
See reviews for
369
850
122
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Position could not be better for a visit to San Francisco. Very central, directly in front of the cable car. Easy access on foot to Embarcadero, Union Square. No traffic problems when arriving by car. Parking is very pricey, though.
Reception is professional and friendly. Nonchalently tried to switch our "bay view" room to "city view". However, on our comment we were given a splendid room with view on both.
Room was nice, big and well furnished. Spectacular views from 14th floor. Bathroom prone to being flooded by shower but spacy, clean and new.
Breakfast in Top of the Mark was superb with great panorama of city and bay below.
Will be back any time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Correspondent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Mark Hopkins was a great location on top of Nob Hill and really had some good views from both the Top of the Mark and the room we had on the 9th floor.
The Good:
- Rooms seem to have been remodeled recently and we very comfortable
- The bathrooms were spa worthy and elegant
- The location one block from the intersection of all three cable cars was intriguing, but proved useless because we could never find a cable car that wasn't full.
The Bad:
- The hotel is pricey and that includes nothing!
- The place is aging. Dated hallways. 3 small elevators to the rooms.
- The Top of the Mark holds about 6 people. Views are pretty good, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Trip R,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel location and room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Make no mistake - the Mark Hopkins is an older hotel. But it's been largely redone - nice sized rooms with lots of updates. What separates this hotel from others I've stayed in while in San Francisco is the service - from doormen, to the front desk, to housekeeping - they're all great - friendly and efficient. The only downside to staying here is that there isn't any sort of "shop" where you can buy toiletries, soft drinks, or even souvenirs. The staff will direct you to the Fairmont across the street if you need, say, bottled water. How much sense does THAT make? And there also isn't a restaurant on site - the Top of the Mark, while having a nice view - doesn't really have a full lunch or dinner menu - they serve over-the-top heavy appetizers and the like. If you can get past those two shortfalls, you'll enjoy your stay - close to everything, wonderful service, and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FW1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and enjoyed their wonderful service. I was upgraded to a larger room with a nice view. Club benefits were included in price and although I was upset I did not get convention rate as I booked late they did try to give me a slightly lower rate since very busy that time.
Staff was very friendly and accomodating for any request.

While hotel is a landmark I found the bed uncomfortable and in need of repair / replacement.
Other small details like a lamp switch also needed repair but overall well maintained and nice to appreciate the historic charm.

Room Tip: For location I would prefer closer to the center of the city where the action is but easily accessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A beautiful, majestic lady standing at the top of Nob Hill. Superb location!
Elegance personified. Friendly staff.
The room was very nice, although a bit cramped. The view was magnifique.
The Top of the Mark was as I remember from so many years back. The martinis have a good kick to them!

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of an 18 night trip as we had a free night to use (we then moved to the Hyatt Regency where we had 2 free nights- see separate review). We had an upgraded room which had nice touches like a Bose radio and a personal Keureg. The bathroom was gorgeous, as was the view. The service was impeccable, as you would expect. Everyone was friendly. I like staying in these old hotels when I can, it is so different than a chain hotel. Yes, it was very expensive, as were drinks at the Top of the Mark, but it was not overpriced compared to other luxury hotels in San Francisco. It is conveniently located right on the California Cable car line, which we used frequently (be sure to get a daily or multi-day transportation pass!). It is not the most central location if you want to be in the middle of all of the touristy things, but it is easy get to those sites and then return to the Quiet of Nob hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#37 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,099 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#21 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing