We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #60 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Position could not be better for a visit to San Francisco. Very central, directly in front of the cable car. Easy access on foot to Embarcadero, Union Square. No traffic problems when arriving by car. Parking is very pricey, though.
Reception is professional and friendly. Nonchalently tried to switch our "bay view" room to "city view". However, on our comment we were given a splendid room with view on both.
Room was nice, big and well furnished. Spectacular views from 14th floor. Bathroom prone to being flooded by shower but spacy, clean and new.
Breakfast in Top of the Mark was superb with great panorama of city and bay below.
Will be back any time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Correspondent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Mark Hopkins was a great location on top of Nob Hill and really had some good views from both the Top of the Mark and the room we had on the 9th floor.
The Good:
- Rooms seem to have been remodeled recently and we very comfortable
- The bathrooms were spa worthy and elegant
- The location one block from the intersection of all three cable cars was intriguing, but proved useless because we could never find a cable car that wasn't full.
The Bad:
- The hotel is pricey and that includes nothing!
- The place is aging. Dated hallways. 3 small elevators to the rooms.
- The Top of the Mark holds about 6 people. Views are pretty good, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Trip R,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel location and room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Make no mistake - the Mark Hopkins is an older hotel. But it's been largely redone - nice sized rooms with lots of updates. What separates this hotel from others I've stayed in while in San Francisco is the service - from doormen, to the front desk, to housekeeping - they're all great - friendly and efficient. The only downside to staying here is that there isn't any sort of "shop" where you can buy toiletries, soft drinks, or even souvenirs. The staff will direct you to the Fairmont across the street if you need, say, bottled water. How much sense does THAT make? And there also isn't a restaurant on site - the Top of the Mark, while having a nice view - doesn't really have a full lunch or dinner menu - they serve over-the-top heavy appetizers and the like. If you can get past those two shortfalls, you'll enjoy your stay - close to everything, wonderful service, and friendly people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FW1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and enjoyed their wonderful service. I was upgraded to a larger room with a nice view. Club benefits were included in price and although I was upset I did not get convention rate as I booked late they did try to give me a slightly lower rate since very busy that time.
Staff was very friendly and accomodating for any request.

While hotel is a landmark I found the bed uncomfortable and in need of repair / replacement.
Other small details like a lamp switch also needed repair but overall well maintained and nice to appreciate the historic charm.

Room Tip: For location I would prefer closer to the center of the city where the action is but easily accessed...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A beautiful, majestic lady standing at the top of Nob Hill. Superb location!
Elegance personified. Friendly staff.
The room was very nice, although a bit cramped. The view was magnifique.
The Top of the Mark was as I remember from so many years back. The martinis have a good kick to them!

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel staff.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of an 18 night trip as we had a free night to use (we then moved to the Hyatt Regency where we had 2 free nights- see separate review). We had an upgraded room which had nice touches like a Bose radio and a personal Keureg. The bathroom was gorgeous, as was the view. The service was impeccable, as you would expect. Everyone was friendly. I like staying in these old hotels when I can, it is so different than a chain hotel. Yes, it was very expensive, as were drinks at the Top of the Mark, but it was not overpriced compared to other luxury hotels in San Francisco. It is conveniently located right on the California Cable car line, which we used frequently (be sure to get a daily or multi-day transportation pass!). It is not the most central location if you want to be in the middle of all of the touristy things, but it is easy get to those sites and then return to the Quiet of Nob hill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Checking in experience was a little cold/detached, but professional. Pleased we had booked Club Lounge access - we were able to enjoy its facilities, as our room was not ready.

'Upgraded' room was small, and excuse offered of, "you have to remember this is an old hotel", not really a sufficient excuse - have stayed in large suites in a number of 'old' hotels, some dating back to the pre-1900s.

However, the above excuse/attitude probably sums up the general approach to customers of the staff, notably the General Manager, "You're privileged to be staying here, so any issues you may have are your issues. We'll listen to you in our own aloof and patronising manner, and then ignore your concerns."

'Top of the Mark' was OK, and appeared to possess more genial staff.

I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricOttershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear EricOttershaw,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

I was disappointed to see that we had failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I sincerely apologize for the service that you received from our staff was less than satisfactory. We deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you have encountered.

We appreciate your feedback as this allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write your concerns.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,973 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,290 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
4,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
3,273 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $196 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing