We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SF trip in July”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SF trip in July”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at this Intercontinental as the other one located in the financial district was soldout. I've stayed in few other Intercontinentals and this particular one on Nob hill is a bit older and smaller. But, service and cleanliness is as expected for a d star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmeg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    886
    372
    154
    74
See reviews for
439
952
135
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. However, food service is very limited, so be prepared to venture out for dining. Also, guests in lower rooms had street noise to contend with at night. Check out is not automated and can be a slow process if your are part of a group tour or cruise.

Room Tip: Stay high for a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

not the best service for an interconti.. we were probably used to a nice welcome in the intercont (ambassador status).. Here nothing of that kind.

The rooms are quite loud , we have been waken up by German shouting twice, slamming doors twice, 4 nights out of 7 were not quite relaxing. Besides security is kind of weak (no special elevator for the restaurant top of the mark, so you may have crowdwd elevators + remarks )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart_and_select
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear smart_and_select,

Thank you for being an IHG Ambassador member and for leaving us a valuable feedback. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the noise by some guests. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Try to be high up if not for the views then to minimise the traffic noise. The hotel doesn't have great double glazing. Rooms not a large as other hotels we stayed in during our month tour of California but very comfy. No pool which is a shame. Breakfast lovely and staff very attentive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Wendy0207,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is very nice to know that you liked our breakfast and found the staff to be attentive. On the other hand, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We will surely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Mark Hopkins is one of my favorite hotels! The rooms are cozy and the views of the city are priceless. The bed is plush and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are well maintained and sleek. You also can't miss the brunch at the "Top of the Mark" for a 360 degree view of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this htel for 5 nights at the beginning of july 2103 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and you get an amazing view of San Francisco from the restauarant. The rooms were very comfortable and our room had a lovely view of the bay. We were there on the 4th July and were able to watch the fireworks from the hotel which meant we could avoid the very busy and cramped pier area which was ideal as we have two young children.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly.
the hotel is in an ideal location in Nob hill. It is central to all the sights in San Francisco.
Over all we had a fantastic time and would definitely return to this hotel again. A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location: Great location on Nob Hill with only several minutes to Union Square or the Ferry building on Market Street; great view over the city (if it is not misty).
Check in and welcome: Staff did not ask us if he could help with the luggage - should not happen in a five star hotel. Check in went smooth and fast, reception staff was not friendly, but offhand with us.
Room: Old fashioned room, very noisy (you could hear everything from the street as well as from the corridor) - so it was hard to have a good sleep. Extremely small bathroom, it was really hard to move, no space to place your cosmetics. Mattress, sheets and linens were nice, no complimentary water.
Bar / Top of the Mark: Really great view, nice and attentive staff (especially the guy from France), good drinks.
Business Center: They charge 20 US $ for 20 minutes of Internet use as well as 2 US $ for every print out. After printing our boarding passes, we noticed that the print out of boarding passes was for free. When checking out, we explained it to the reception staff and the Internet and print out fee was not charged.
Check out: As written above, we were not charged with the print outs, which was really nice. Check out went smooth and fast.
Résumé: The bar is definitely worth going there, but we will not book this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear mitzideluxe,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered and for the dissatisfaction you had with the room condition. We regret that we have failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,507 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,366 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing