We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a better location for first time visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
WDM Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try a better location for first time visitors”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We found this hotel through booking.com and got a fairly good rate BUT not knowing San Francisco better before booking this hotel hurt us ...literally...during our stay. The historic hotel is located on the top of one of the highest hills in SF, making every walk back to the hotel miserable after walking all day touring the city. You will have to spend $6 per ride to take the cable car up the hills (every street around hotel is straight down) or take cabs every day and night unless you are in incredible shape physically. The only place to get food in the hotel is at the Top of the Mark, way up in elevators that take forever. We went up at night to have a cocktail and appetizer and it took forever with a very expensive and limited menu.There are many other fabulous hotels in the city for tourists with a much better location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear hlgrace,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We are truly sorry your stay was negatively impacted by our location. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    892
    377
    155
    74
See reviews for
446
960
136
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I love staying in Nob Hill and usually stay at the Stanford Court, but this time, we chose Mark Hopkins for a quick weekend getaway. The location is perfect at the top of California St., close enough to walk to Union Square and Chinatown. It is a hike to go back to the hotel though, but we do enjoy that. The hotel is, well, it's old, but grand and well-maintained. The elevators are tiny. Each can only fit maybe 4 if all have bags/luggage with them. The room is really nice -- nice bed, quiet. The bathroom is tiny and there is no fan. So if you have to share a room with someone, make sure you bring a room spray. Prepare to spend about $60 for overnight parking (including tax and tips). Visit the Top of Mark for a drink or two before 9 pm to avoid paying $15/person cover charge. The martinis and the view is worth the visit. All in all, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great service, views, food, and location. The hotel is extremely well maintained and service levels will exceed all expectations. There is a discrete sense of intimacy and privacy throughout the hotel. You immediately sense that you will be taken care of during your stay in your large well-appointed space. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydewhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a great hotel. The staff was friendly and willing to do anything to help make us feel comfortable. Hospitality is the hotel's strength. Despite being a very old hotel, the amenities are wonderful, the rooms modern and the restaurants outstanding. Very quiet, relaxing hotel, with a firm mattress, quiet rooms and panoramic views. Room service orders often took less than 15 minutes. World-class hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment you enter the lobby, you know you are in a top notch, elegant hotel. Overlooking San Francisco, this beautiful hotel awakens all your senses. From the exquisite lobby to the beautiful Top of the Mark restaurant, every expectation is exceeded. Impeccable service, gorgeous rooms and top of the line linens and amenities surround you. Not a nicer experience exists in all of Frisco. Be sure to visit the restaurant on the top floor for a fabulous panoramic view of the city.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of beautiful Nob Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before joining a cruise to Hawaii. Firstly, the bed was one of the best I have slept in. So comfy. We had a room on the 6th floor and it was very quiet despite being in the centre of a major city. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. The only reason I couldn't give this hotel 10 out of 10 is the fact it has no restaurant. The Top of the Mark cocktail lounge is just that and serves only highly priced snacks and cocktails. It's also a long walk to any nearby restaurants. So don't rely on getting a meal at the hotel - although there a limited room service menu. Location is fine. It's v near two cable car stops but its a long hike to the wharf area and the return is not recommended on got due to the steep hills. On the whole great accommodation but limited facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a 4 day weekend in SF. I love the Nob Hill area so stayed at the Mark while a friend stayed at the Fairmont. Probably my last stay here. The hotel is ok but a little tired. Had a drink at the Top of the Mark, again ok but nothing great. All in all a pleasant stay but just not quite up to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear knscott,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. Thank you for your feedback as it informs us of ways in which we may better serve our guests to further guest satisfaction.

We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,932 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,201 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 229 in San Francisco
1,377 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing