We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solid choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Marc Hopkins has some of the best views of any building in San Francisco... We had a breathtaking view of Nob Hill, the cathedral, and even a part of Golden Gate bridge. Our room was very nice, but quite small even though I was upgraded because of my Ambassador status. The receptionists were very courteous and ready to help. Overall I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski22345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    840
    346
    142
    72
See reviews for
408
913
127
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

So...everything was great. We were there in August and I know that there is no such thing as a cheap hotel rate in any major city in August. I have kind of an odd story because it was my Fantasy Football draft while I was there, so I went to the restaurant on the top thinking that was the best place to get Internet access provided by the hotel (at a cost). It was early AM so I had a coffee and OJ to get me going. When I realized that there was virtually no access (can't do that with a FF draft), I decided to go to the lobby, which ended up having a very good connection. The moral of the story, though, is that my couple of morning drinks cost $16. C'mon. Are you serious? I was there about 5 minutes. I honestly thought the waiter was going to just tell me "Don't worry about it." To add to it - the coffee in the downstairs lobby was free!

Parking was pretty expensive too ($50/day). There was plenty of off street parking right near by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathsteve2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wife and I stayed over the New Year, 2012-2013 for 3 nights. Experienced Friendly service, but the hotel is somewhat dated. Wireless internet service is spotty. The bathrooms have not been modernized to our satisfaction. Of course, it does have spectacular views, but if you face California Street, the windows are not very soundproof and you hear all of the traffic, including the noisy cable cars. Moreover, they leak a lot of cold air, not good when it gets chilly in the nighttime in January. We have stayed at other historical old hotels in the same area, such as The Fairmont and The Huntington, and think that we will next time explore one of the newer, smaller and more modern, boutique hotels for a change of pace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful with a clear historical significance. The position of the hotel was by far our favourite thing about the hotel. It was at the top of nob hill with easy access to the cable car which takes you to union square, china town and all the way down to fishermans wharf. The view from the room was amazing! The rooms were quite small but the bathroom was ridiculously small just fitting one person. The pipes in the shower are very old which caused some annoyance. There was no real restaurant at the hotel but the room service was delicious. Overall it was a lovely hotel but maybe intended for business men rather than families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siacambac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear siacambac,

Thank you for your candid review. It is lovely to hear you liked our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of our product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We decided to stay at the Mark Hopkins because of its location and its historical significance. The hotel is located at the top of Nob Hill and has awesome views, nicely updated rooms with comfortable beds, pretty bathroom with incredible water pressure in the shower (unusual these days), the staff is great, and a very nice fitness center. The negatives - could use some new furniture in the lobby, no gift shop, and no real restaurant. The signature Top of the Mark bar has some of the best views in all of San Francisco, but Intercontinental has stripped it of its former historic significance and ambiance by removing the original bar. In its place they've installed a dance floor (probably better for money generating events like weddings), but it's not the same! The only place to get food (breakfast & appetizers) is at the Top of the Mark. The lack of a real restaurant sucks. They should bring in a signature chef and do something exciting.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear mlk18,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bathroom.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the lobby furniture and the the lack of good restaurant. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andreas, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A great upscale property on Nob Hill. While the walk to Union Square is easy (downhill), consider using the trolley to get back to your room. The staff is efficient and cordial rather than aloof and/or haughty. The latter traits can regularly be found in supposed "high end hotels". Not cheap, to be sure, but worth the up-charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Attended a wedding here & got a good rate of $135 a night and was upgraded as a frequent guest. I originally booked for 3 days but cancelled on-line a couple of days in advance. The front desk tried to charge me for it everytime I went there & had to show them my printout each time. Tried to charge me for parking & Internet also.

The good:
The hotel had a beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby.
Rooms & bath were well appointed, and pleasant for their age.
The wedding banquet was excellent quality-wise and staff were wonderful & attentive (front desk could learn something from them).

The bad:
Service was lacking and not up to intercontinental standards. Not many smiling faces. Front desk was slow. Took an hour to get bags in the room.
Not great public areas.
Price for parking & Internet is Outrageous.
Public can access the entire hotel making it not safe.
Wait and cost of entry to the Top of the Mark is not worth it. Go across the street.
Breakfast buffet is very expensive for what you receive with mediocre quality.
Shower had no water pressure---how cheap can they be?

I'm not not sure why the experience is not better. I just got the feeling they were in it for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear jonrsw,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Francisco and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,801 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing