We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service and Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service and Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins in SF. We absolutely loved the hotel! Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the bed was awesome! Our room was on the 12th floor and had wonderful views of the city. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly staff and had a speedy check-in. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and the front desk staff wished us well and noted it. Later that evening we received a card from the hotel and some delicious strawberries wishing us a "Happy Anniversary" from the Mark Hopkins. It was a perfect weekend and we are so pleased that we chose to stay here for this memorable occasion. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    830
    338
    138
    70
See reviews for
399
898
124
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks for business in late November/ early December. The hotel is truly beautiful during Christmas. The Mark is exactly what one should expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The service was great the rooms were clean with very comfy bedding and the bathroom was big enough for for two girls to be staying for two weeks. I have not one bad thing to say about this place after spending the longest stretch I have ever spent in one hotel - this fact alone I think speaks volumes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyHonestandFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the Mark Hopkins for our anniversary trip. The Hotel is Excellent, the service is impeccable. From the valet, to the maids to the concierge. The doorman are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is elegant, refined and has a nostalgic feeling of greatness. The room was very spacious, the bed is so comfortable, I can say is the best I have ever slept in. Of course the Top of The Mark adds a big value, an evening with the view and cocktails are a must. The area, Nob Hill, is very close to the main attractions, it has a line of street car that pass in front of the hotel. Over all, is an excellent hotel, will stay again, would definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 13 floor, the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had the best experience. Every associate we encountered was upbeat, positive and ready to assist. It's our first time to stay at this hotel, although not our first visit to SF. We will definitely be back. Really enjoyed our room on the 11th floor with incredible views and the Club Lounge which was great to come back to after our treks through the city.

Can't say enough good things about the hotel, management and staff from accommodations to food to drinks.

Room Tip: upgrade to the Club Lounge; well worth the added amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slappy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This review has been hard to write. First the location on Nob Hill may have been prestigeous in history, but today it is out of the way for those wanting the true walk about San Francisco experience. The trolleys do have a stop behind the hotel and down the hill which allows for a great ride, but you still must wait in long lines to get on. Forget about the Top of the Mark being something other than a wonderful view. The once famous hot spot is now just the basic hotel restaurant. You know the one they have to have to earn a certain star. Think running children and cheap placemats. A diner with a view. The hotel rooms were nice and I would give them an above average for decor and comfort. We had a lovely front facing bay view. However do not expect any internet! Remember we are in the heartland of the U.S. computer industry. For some reason this property was left in the 19...(when did we not have internet)! The hotel entrance was a traffic disaster with cars almost to the front door, juggling valets, bellhops, conventioneers and tourists. The lobby was tiny and as there was a convention in full swing in this relatively small hotel the convention overflowed into the lobby so there was no other guest seating, or corner to hide. The desk staff had attitudes and were most unhelpful and surely. When I asked for a manager an arrogant desk clerk claimed the title and was no help. I travel a lot so I demanded to see the true full manager of the hotel. I am a paying Intercontinental Loyalty member so I made a few calls and wham, the "Twist". An incredible, helpful, friendly capable manager! She came to our room to listen to our complaints and then acknowledged our concerns, apologized for the true and lousy internet (complete new system on the board for Jamuary, 2013), the lack of any gracious dining, rude desk help etc... She knew our complaints were not frivolous and made arrangements for a car and driver to take us to the sister Intercontinental in the Financial district which has quality internet and a gourmet restaurant, full facilities and a pool. This was a true Intercontinental. I realize all chain hotels and locations are different, however at the level of the chain there should be some consistant standards, and the Mark Hopkins has been left to live off of its history and former glory.. Intercontinental I hope you give your dedicated manager something concrete to work with and allow investment in this historic property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Room large, well equipped, well decorated and very comfortable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble at reception at this hotel, we booked in early and were given our room immediately. One evening we had a meal in our room and this was excellent, breakfast was also of a very high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I loved the location, the service, the room, view, etc. Cable cars are very close and Chinatown is at walking distance.
The view from the bar at the top is amazing. The bathrooms are beautiful.
The only complaint was the costly parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmera-csl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#50 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,608 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#29 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,566 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing