We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
$230
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$353
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,659 results
Traveler rating
1,063
947
406
164
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,063
947
406
164
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillmark restaurantcable cargrace cathedralunion squarehistoric hotelthe club loungetop floorcalifornia streetper dayan older hotelan upgradewater pressurecorner roomthe golden gate bridgevalet parkingfisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 2,659 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the Mark Hopkins for our anniversary trip. The Hotel is Excellent, the service is impeccable. From the valet, to the maids to the concierge. The doorman are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is elegant, refined and has a nostalgic feeling of greatness. The room was very spacious, the bed is so comfortable, I can say is the best I have ever slept in. Of course the Top of The Mark adds a big value, an evening with the view and cocktails are a must. The area, Nob Hill, is very close to the main attractions, it has a line of street car that pass in front of the hotel. Over all, is an excellent hotel, will stay again, would definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 13 floor, the view was spectacular.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had the best experience. Every associate we encountered was upbeat, positive and ready to assist. It's our first time to stay at this hotel, although not our first visit to SF. We will definitely be back. Really enjoyed our room on the 11th floor with incredible views and the Club Lounge which was great to come back to after our treks through the city.

Can't say enough good things about the hotel, management and staff from accommodations to food to drinks.

Room Tip: upgrade to the Club Lounge; well worth the added amenities.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slappy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This review has been hard to write. First the location on Nob Hill may have been prestigeous in history, but today it is out of the way for those wanting the true walk about San Francisco experience. The trolleys do have a stop behind the hotel and down the hill which allows for a great ride, but you still must wait in long lines to get on. Forget about the Top of the Mark being something other than a wonderful view. The once famous hot spot is now just the basic hotel restaurant. You know the one they have to have to earn a certain star. Think running children and cheap placemats. A diner with a view. The hotel rooms were nice and I would give them an above average for decor and comfort. We had a lovely front facing bay view. However do not expect any internet! Remember we are in the heartland of the U.S. computer industry. For some reason this property was left in the 19...(when did we not have internet)! The hotel entrance was a traffic disaster with cars almost to the front door, juggling valets, bellhops, conventioneers and tourists. The lobby was tiny and as there was a convention in full swing in this relatively small hotel the convention overflowed into the lobby so there was no other guest seating, or corner to hide. The desk staff had attitudes and were most unhelpful and surely. When I asked for a manager an arrogant desk clerk claimed the title and was no help. I travel a lot so I demanded to see the true full manager of the hotel. I am a paying Intercontinental Loyalty member so I made a few calls and wham, the "Twist". An incredible, helpful, friendly capable manager! She came to our room to listen to our complaints and then acknowledged our concerns, apologized for the true and lousy internet (complete new system on the board for Jamuary, 2013), the lack of any gracious dining, rude desk help etc... She knew our complaints were not frivolous and made arrangements for a car and driver to take us to the sister Intercontinental in the Financial district which has quality internet and a gourmet restaurant, full facilities and a pool. This was a true Intercontinental. I realize all chain hotels and locations are different, however at the level of the chain there should be some consistant standards, and the Mark Hopkins has been left to live off of its history and former glory.. Intercontinental I hope you give your dedicated manager something concrete to work with and allow investment in this historic property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Room large, well equipped, well decorated and very comfortable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble at reception at this hotel, we booked in early and were given our room immediately. One evening we had a meal in our room and this was excellent, breakfast was also of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I loved the location, the service, the room, view, etc. Cable cars are very close and Chinatown is at walking distance.
The view from the bar at the top is amazing. The bathrooms are beautiful.
The only complaint was the costly parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmera-csl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews