We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant you have to visit when in/near Nob Hill / Union Square”
Review of Olea

Olea
Reserve with OpenTable
Olea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #665 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Larkin
Transit: Olea is on the California St. Cable Car line. Get off at the Larkin St. stop. Take the #1 California MUNI bus and get off at Sacramento and Larkin, walk one block down Larkin to California Street.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant you have to visit when in/near Nob Hill / Union Square”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Eventhough we were visiting SF with 2 young kids (took the early shift for dinner), very very surprised ( we are from NYC and we've seen quite a few high end restaurants too...). Easy menu but amazingly tasteful, all local ingredients put together in a way I haven't seen or tasted very often in the last 5 yrs. Highly recommended if you want something slightly different fo a very good price. Cosy, small place but this is the real deal. You have to go here if you are within a 20 block radius.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisVerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We ate at Olea last night on the recommendation of a local. This kitchen knows how to cook. The menu isn't long, but the dishes we chose were excellent and very reasonably priced given the quality and the location. Olea also has a nice selection of wines by the glass. The service was friendly and professional. I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The wife and I went to meet a friend of ours who lives in Nob Hill. He had seen the lines outside the restaurant and wanted to try it based on word of mouth reviews.

When you go, you write your name down inside the front door, but then you have to wait outside. There were three other couples ahead of us, and we probably waited about 30 min. The restaurant is very simple/quaint, and most of the food items are local/organic. Our server was very helpful and honest in his recommendations. The menu is fairly small, mostly breakfast-y foods. Fresh squeezed OJ was great, coffee served in a press. We had an order of the french toast and a couple orders of an interesting egg dish that was in what I could best describe as a mole sauce. They also serve dinner, but I believe they have a separate menu for that.

Highly recommended, get there early and be prepared to wait!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

In need of a restaurant destination, quickly, I flipped open the hotel info book and their small advert caught my eye. I was not disappointed. Small but imaginative and varied menu, fresh food, appropriate sized portions. Good wine choices. Priced far less than I would have expected. Will go again if in the area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DirigibleDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I went here with some friends on a sunday morning for brunch. This place was great overall. The breakfast items were top notch and they were serving blue bottle coffee! The only negative I would have is that the orange juice was had a lot of "bits" in it, I know some people like it that way though.


Things to keep in mind:
1. This place is small, prepare to wait if you have a large group
One nice thing is you can hang out at the Contraband Coffee Bar across the street!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoleDeMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olea also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing