We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Ranked #139 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for a Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Chose the hotel after much review and stayed here for 4 nights. 5 mins walk to Union Square and 15 walk to Chinatown. A rather good location. The Twin Beds Room was relatively small and the shower was really cramped even for petite Asian build. Upgraded to a Double Beds Room with much more roomy bathroom. While the hotel was situated along Geary Street, the noise did not affect the sleep at night but in which case they provided ear plucks if you really needed them. The staff were helpful, place was overall clean with modern furnishing contrary to some hotels with old looking bed settings. Like the free wifi and no hidden cost. For the price paid less than $100 a night, its more value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the Double bed Double Room if you are sharing room with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaslynKGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    150
    118
    28
    18
See reviews for
35
139
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

a 2 star hotel, so do not expect a Hilton, BUT rooms are clean and nice, receptionist is always kind, and for the price you pay, you can't go wrong.
I've had a single room (been here for business), and I usually stay in upper classes hotel, so I was afraid of what I was going to get, but what I got was more than fine. I would definitely stay here with my family sometime in the future, when we travel to SF.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dorono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel was as basic as you'll get, but when you're only paying $100 a night, it's totally worth it.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They were well informed and even let us use their personal phone to organise our tour to Yosemite.
Even though the hotel is a bit dated and basic, they have a few nice little touches like providing free biscuits/cookies from the adjoining diner at reception. The location is great and within walking distance of Union Square. If you're not planning on staying in your room, this is the perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room off the main road, slightly less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

On arrival we found the receptionist very helpful, and upgraded us to a lovely room. I just wish there would have been tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Everything else there was excellent. It is in a great location close to Union Square and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise I suggest you mention this when booking. We had a street room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights (jan end to feb). Was looking for a good location, clean and silent hotel. Glad to say it delivered on all counts! The only negative is a funny odour from the carpets and lack of view (at least from my room on 6th floor). But on the whole a good experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anuj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great location, small clean hotel with breakfast option. Very nice and helpful staff. Shehbyz went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant. I will stay there again and would recommend my friends to stay there too. This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for. I don't understand people that can't afford to pay more, but complain about everything. Luxury is never cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Mountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Touchstone is a no-frills, small hotel located close to Union Square and Market Street, which are hubs to virutally anywhere in SF. The room is tiny and the walls need a repainting, but that wont be a big problem if you don´t spend a lot of time inside the room.. It can be a bit noisy during the night, but I guess that´s the price for staying in a central area. There is no safe and no fridge in the room. Wi-fi works just great, and if you need there are also computers available.
There are complimentary bottles of water in the room every day, which was very handy. The staff is very kind and was very helpful arranging the airport transportation (specially the asian lady)
The guests get 25% discount to every meal they have at the delicatessen (David´s), which is a plus!
All in all if you´re looking for a budget hotel in a good location in San Francisco, I would recommend the Touchstone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre3pyTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#179 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Property: Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Address: 480 Geary St, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing