We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #23 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel is nicely located for anything you want to do in San Francisco. The staff are helpful and the room was perfect. After a day of sighseeing we would come back and freshen up go downstairs sip some wine and chat with people from all over the world. The room was clean and quiet. If you are unsure just ask they are very helpful and can make arrangements or reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    486
    125
    58
    23
See reviews for
152
850
112
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Petite Auberge at the start and end of our Tour of the West Coast. The hotel is well located in San Francisco and not too far for either the cable car to Downtown or Fishermans Wharf. Our first room was an upgrade to one with a fireplace. The room is slightly larger than our second room which was bijou but both were very comfortable and the ensuites did the job. The afternoon wine and eats was a great way to meet fellow travellers.I'd be happy to stay here again,which is recommendation enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Petite Auberge was a delightful surprise, from the hospitality to the food and location we will be staying here again when visiting San Francisco! The breakfast was a wonderful array of homemade food which varried everyday. Something for everyone, fresh fruit, eggs, potates, pasteries, ect. The afternoon wine time was my favorite! Everyone gets together to talk about their day and enjoy good wine and cheese, homemade cakes, pizza, lasagna,and spreads before heading out to dinner. The staff and fellow guests made it a memorable experience. Rooms are small but cozy and clean. Stay on the top floor if your a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandlaura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this hotel while in town for the Nike Women's Marathon. The hotel did not feel like a hotel as the atmosphere was more of a comfortable bed and breakfast with guests joining together at the complimentary breakfast in the morning and for wine and snacks in the early evening. The breakfast was filling with plenty to eat from sourdough toast with jam to quiche and fresh cut up fruit and yogurt. There was an open fridge with complimentary water and sodas as well as a cookie jar in the entryway. The charm of this hotel was its small size and friendly staff and guests. Our room came with a fireplace ( some don't) which was my favorite part of the room. It certainly helped dry our wet clothes after spending the day watching/running the marathon in the rain. The hotel was a great starting point for our daily adventures as it was just a couple of blocks from the Powell Bart station, the Powell cable cars and Union Square. I also want to mention that although breakfast began at 8:00 am on weekends they were very accommodating by putting out a special breakfast of bagels in the morning for those guests leaving at 6:00 am for the marathon. Thanks Petite Auberge!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willy0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Two different friends had recommended Petite Auberge and we were not disappointed. I think that we had what was called a King suite with a pull out couch since my husband and I traveled with our teen-aged daughter to check out colleges in the S.F. area. Our room was fairly spacious and besides the plushly appointed bed it had a padded bay window seat, a cozy settee and wing back chair beside the cozy gas fireplace. The bathroom was small but clean and charming. Breakfast was delicious and substantial with great variety every morning. Coffee/tea service, home baked cookies and water bottles are at hand for the guests all day long. A wine happy hour with yummy nibbles was a fun way to meet other guests as well. Cute decor and a fun location near Nob hill (if you don't mind the uphill walk!) We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here because we were running in the marathon. The breakfast was delicious, the wine reception wonderful--not just cold foods served---and the room was clean and comfortable. Service was terrific--from the front desk to the people helping at the breakfast and wine reception. We were also able to keep our bags at the hotel after checking out to pick up later, and that was very helpful. Highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning with my husband for a romantic visit!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanguard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

It was our first time in San Francisco and had picked Petite Auberge from some on line reviews. What a find!! Great location, wonderful breakfasts, evening receptions, you just met the nicest people and the friendliest staff. We would not hesitate to come back to Petite Auberge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing