We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #24 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed here in the middle of a 3 week varied trip across California. Staying in 2, 3, 4 and 5 star hotels across our trip, we visited San Fran, LA, Las Vegas, Santa Barbara, San Diego and La Jolla.

This hotel was an absolute gem and a charming hotel located right in the heart of San Fran. It's pretty much in the Union Square district which was perfect for us. We also had booked tickets to go on the Golden Gate Cruise and the Alcatraz Tour. We decided to walk down to the piers and it took us about 40 minutes, with a child in a stroller.

Check in was quick and easy, and the attendant was very friendly. There were cookies in the lobby, and free sodas in the kitchen. We didn't go for hors d'oevers so I can't comment on them, but we did go for the inclusive breakfast which was tasty - we had quiche (or tortillas), sausages, toast, muffins, tea and coffee. It was really nice.

The room was quaint, and not too small. We had asked for a cot to be provided and this was there when we arrived. The room and building is what I would call "rustic". We live in a house that was built in the 1600s so this hotel was fine for us - we weren't looking for modern perfection. That said, the free WiFi worked well and there were no problems connecting.

We would definitely recommend this hotel as a lovely getaway in the heart of San Fran.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillsMan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    476
    121
    57
    23
See reviews for
150
826
106
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at the Petite having previously stayed at the White Swan Inn a week earlier . We were welcomed by the enthusiastic Andy and were able to check into our room early. Both hotels are excellent.
We had been on a trip to the Monterey area and it was a bit like coming home.
Our room was slightly more noisy at the weekend than our room at the White Swan as it faced the street - however this was cured by my trusty ear-plugs.
Our room was very comfortable with a French style decor and an open gas fire which was very welcome in the evenings even though it was July.
There was free wine and snacks in the downstairs lounge between 5pm and 6.30pm. Coffee and tea were available 24hrs. There were also free soft drinks, water and ice. We had a coffee maker in our room.
The breakfast was good and varied.
Overall a lovely comfortable traditional-style hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We're from So Cal and go to San Francisco for business. We took the Bart from SFO to Market Street, then up the hill on the trolley. So much fun. Arrived at the hotel to find a very helpful staff . We arrived early checked our bag and enjoyed the comfortable homey sitting rooms to relax in. The room had a fire place. We've found our home away from home in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed in the PA during 2 week California break with my wife.

This is a great little hotel which is near to the key areas of Chinatown and Union Square although it is halfway up one of SanFran's numerous hills. No parking but just along the road from and Alamo Car Hire location where we picked up our car on leaving SanFran.
Shares reception with White Horse next door. Rooms are very quaint, traditional decor with open fireplaces - clean and well kept. real selling points are:
1. location - 5 mins from Union Square and it's shops, bars & restaurants. same from chinatowm and near trams & BART(Bay Area Transport) Station.
2. Breakfast - great complimentary brekky including hot stuff & fruit.
3. Afternoon tiffin - free wine and nibbles - great idea.

So great for city-break travellers and those who want something a little different, with some character.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We came back to stay at La Petite after staying at the Hyatt during our last visit. Nothing against the Hyatt, but La Petite is a unique experience. It's small size and friendly, helpful staff (we do, however, miss Steve at the front desk) made us feel like we were guests and not just a number. The breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and well-sized & the location is awesome. When we return to the city, we will be returning to La Petite Auberge also

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlmcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Our stay at the Petite Auberge was exceptional. It had the atmosphere of a small inn or bed and breakfast. We especially enjoyed the "happy hour". We found it was a good way to meet fellow travelers and relax before going out for the evening. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The location was convenient to Union Square. A great choice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Helpful staff, very nice breakfast & afternoon snacks-we will return to Petite Auberge when we return to San Francisco

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamalumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing