We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate friendly hotel”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #23 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“intimate friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is the opposite of the typical impersonal chain hotel. I stayed here for four nights in a charming if smallish room which had every convenience. I particularly enjoyed the wine and nibbled at 5pm each evening where I met and chatted to fellow guests. The hotel is very central and close to many nice restaurants and transport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret_bluman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    488
    129
    58
    23
See reviews for
155
860
114
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dee Why
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a great find, a convenient location, friendly staff, and clean comfortable rooms. We enjoyed the wine and snack afternoons, delicious food and a nice chance to catch up with other people.
Breakfast was delicious also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place is very nice. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff accommodating. The breakfasts are very good. Coffee and tea all day long. I would definitely come back to this place.
After a long day of site-seeing, you come back to fresh cookies on the entry table. At 5:00pm there is wine and snacks in the dining area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Gregor
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The staff was amazing! The facility was adorable! I left my purse at breakfast(which was delicious ) and the staff picked it up for me. When I got my purse it still had all our cash in it!!! We had wine with someone from Finland, a couple from London and a couple from Canada. Delightful!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grady W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund. Norway.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our first trip to SF and we were very lucky with this charming hotel, gave us a feel home experience rarely connected with hotels. Relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff and a very nice place to get in contact with fellow travelers on the 5 o'clock wine + bite downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inge Johannes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico. Estado De Mexico
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel was very nice, the size of the room, the services.
The breakfast was very good.
The afternoon wine, was an interesting experience, as get to know the other guests, and you can even get good tips.
My only complaint, that I did not mention to any in the hotel and solutions might been available was the size of the pillows, the were big and not fluffy enough

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Santiago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was a return visit for me and I will definitely stay here again. Charming
rooms with a fireplace option that are clean and quaint. You are close to
Union Square but away from the crowds. Great breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,703 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,670 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing