We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it - this time...”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #29 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

By now you have probably read some of the gushing and glowing reviews of Petite Auberge in San Francisco. We will join those accolades - with a caveat. Petite Auberge has to be one of the cutest place we have stayed in the area. Check-in is next door at her sister Windsor Inn meaning you must schlep your bags back down the street a bit. But the old-fashioned elevator ride up to the 5th floor front (Room 51) makes it worh it. And when you enter that space (even if you get keys that WORK like ours did not - another minor annoyance), you enter into a truly magical space. Five floors up, a bay window and fireplace, a bed to die for, plenty of space, complimentary evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and a modest breakfast. All this - for just a little bit too much fare. That's our sticking point - the price was, in our opinion, just too much for this space. Factor in the valet parking (or any alternative transport, if you will) and things got out of hand pretty fast. Wish I could lend an unqualified recommendation (the staff was superb!!!) but CHECK AROUND JUST A BIT before you book.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaCheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in town for the Bay to Breakers. There is a lot to love about the location and the hotel. We originally booked a "cozy" queen room, which is more than adequate space if you spend most of your time out of the room. Some of the rooms do look directly into the apartments next door, so look at the room first if this is a concern for you. We found we needed more space, and the staff were able to find us a fabulous suite right next door at the White Swan (which appears to be co-managed).

Because we experienced both hotels, I can tell you that both have the same impeccable service, spotless rooms, fabulous breakfasts and afternoon tea/wine reception. The hotels take you back to the time when flawless service was the expectation combined with 21st century friendliness. Thank you to Rebecca, and the staff.

BTW, the location is perfect - a short walk to good restaurants, cable car, bus or China Town gate, and a little farther to the Embarcadero. Just enough local foot traffic to feel safe, not too noisy, and not deserted on a weekend like the Financial District.

Room Tip: Some rooms look directly into the apartments next door. If this a concern, look at the room first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel reminded us of some of our best experiences staying in the French countryside. The room was spacious (for San Francisco) and very comfortable. The happy hour light drinks and snacks were included in the price. We left early so we weren't able to try the breakfast but we're looking forward to visiting again. Wifi was also included which was a wonderful touch.

The steep stairwells may not be appropriate for less mobile travellers and the busy wallpaper may not be to everyone's taste but we thought it was all charming. Our room did not have a fridge but water and asserted pop was provided in the lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slade_and_Norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

When it came to booking the accommodation for San Fransisco, my husband and I were sure, we didn't just want to stay anywhere, we wanted something nice, something unique and something very central. Petite Auberge was high on our list and we were so happy when we got a room booked. We drove into San Fransisco from the North, it was easy to find and navigate by car, and once we checked in the staff was so friendly and helped us getting the car organised. We didn't need it for the time in The City, the hotel is walking distance to everything you could ask for, and there are cable cars and busses all close. Just a great location.
Loved the rooms, with fireplace, and the breakfast was great, all you can wish for with a lot of personality and atmosphere. I will be back! Thanks so much for a wonderful experience in this amazing city!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AMckenzie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for choosing us for your visit to San Francisco! We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the quirkiest hotel I have stayed at and I highly recommend it. I was meeting in San Francisco with a group of friends from all over the world and we all stayed there. This turned out to be an excellent choice. Breakfast, wifi and happy hour in the Parlour were all included in the price and meant we met up at least twice a day to discuss how we were doing. The rooms are delightful. Although some are smallish, others are roomy and all have coffee makers. It's just up the hill (1 block) from the main union square shopping district and only a block and a half from the Powell street cable car line. China town is in close walking distance as is the top of nob hill. And if you can't get in here, the White Swan next door is owned by the same company and we were assured the only difference is that they play French music in one and English music in the other!! The staff were superb! Andy was a particular delight!!

Room Tip: I agree with other reviewers that the fifth floor away from the lift is best. Quietest and lightest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Petite Auberge which is the sister property located next door to the White Swan Inn. Our experience was nothing short of perfect! From the friendly and helpful staff, the delicious breakfasts with a of variety of pastries, homemade bread, fresh fruits, and an egg dish every morning, the wine and hors-d'oeuvres social time each evening, and the beautiful and cozy room with antique furnishings and a lovely fireplace - we could not have asked for anything more. This was our first time in San Francisco, and the young man at the front desk offered a multitude of recommendations of places to eat and sights to see, as well as a map with directions. The location was wonderful and within walking distance of China Town and Union Square. We especially loved the "homey" feel. It is a boutique hotel and an older building, but that just added to its charm. While I don't believe it is a place for a young family, it is perfect for couples- both young and old, and for anyone looking for a quaint, comfortable, and memorable place to stay while visiting the incredible city of San Francisco. I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait for a return visit !

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed the inn, and are honored to have shared your first trip to San Francisco with you. We hope to be your 'home-away-from-home' on your next visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is very far from the standardized international hotel that perhaps is better for a business trip. But if you can accept that the lobby is in another hotel and the hotel is a bit run down you will have lovely stay. The breakfast is okay if not the standard the big hotels charge you 20-30 dollars for. But it is much better than what you normally get when breakfast is included in the price. The 5 a clock wine is a great idea. We met nice people and had interesting discussions with them. The location is very good and within walking distance from shopping and public transport. The room was quiet until 06.30 when the trash was collected so you don't need an alarm bell. The view from the room was a brick wall.

Room Tip: We had a room with a fireplace. I think, from what i saw, these rooms are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#10 of 231 in San Francisco
1,776 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
1,829 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
629 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 231 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $208 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing